We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Rotterdam Zoo

Rotterdam Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$12.90*
and up
Rotterdam Welcome Card Including 1, 2 or 3 Days Public Transport
Ranked #3 of 191 things to do in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
1,347 reviews
1,158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 506 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

It's huge.You can easily spend here at least a half a day.Hundreds of animals,even a nice aquarium with an underwater tunnel(not as long as the one from Valencia's Oceanografic though).There's a few fast-foods and playgrounds.
No explanations in english...
It worth every cent from its price(if you book on-line you'll have a little discount).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank zuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,070 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,167
    729
    135
    30
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best zoo ever!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I am not one to rave about a place nor am I a lover of Zoos but this Zoo was particularly amazing. We spent over 3 hours there but even that wasn't enough time to see anything! All animals appeared well kept and had large enclosures. The polar bear was particularly active jumping in the water, loving life. The collection and amount of animals was endless. I also liked the butterfly enclosure where they fly freely around you and the aquarium was also extensive. Plenty of eating facilities too. Worth a trip to Rotterdam anytime, made our weekend!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“One of the best zoos in the Netherlands”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This ever expanding zoo is one of the best in the Netherlands. It never fails to amaze. I cannot describe the variety of animals. you can spend sveral days here. The aquarium is simply amazing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank avdij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoje, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Big zoo”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Big zoo with lots of animals from every continent. The animals have big residences and aren't kept in cages, which makes your visit a great experience. The animals seem to be healthy.
It will take about 5 hours to see every part of the zoo. Admission is €21, parking €8 and food and drinks are reasonably priced.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Not enough hours in a day”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Fantastic array of animals, most of the impressive ones you can think of are here: Sharks,Crocodiles, Penguins, Polar Bears, Lions, Tigers, Elephants, Giraffes, Hyenas, Wolfs, the list goes on. We got there at 10 & left at 6 having only seen about 3/4 of whats there. The restaurant was reasonable 15 euros for 2 meals inc drinks. There are several gift shops, there are different prices for the same things in different outlets. The ones in the African areas were the cheapest. Prices aren't too high for this type of place. Lots of interesting things to see apart from the animals they have even put thought into some of the bins. My only complaint is that everything is written in Dutch only, I know we are in Holland but it is the type of place to attract foreign tourists so a bit of effort here would not go amiss. Having said that we never would have got around if we read all the information & a second day would have been needed.
Families with pushchairs should leave them at home, there are excellent Giraffe buggies that you can hire.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisradioman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rotterdam Zoo also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Rotterdam Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing