We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“It's a train station” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rotterdam Centraal Station

Rotterdam Centraal Station
Book In Advance
$46*
and up
Skip the Line: Rotterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #3 of 165 things to do in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“It's a train station”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Well it's a train station. I'm not sure why anyone would consider it an attraction or make a special trip there, but I visited a number of times and it's popped up on screen so I'll review it. Yes as train stations go it's architecturally fun but then so are so many buildings in the Netherlands. Supposedly it has the biggest LED screen in Europe but this wasn't working when we were there. Strangely you have to pass through the ticket barriers to get to the shops inside, I'm not sure if they expected you to pay for the privilege or not - they happened to be open this weekend. Even the baggage lockers are within the "ticketed" area, unlike every other station in Europe. Good toilets upstairs although a stupidly small corridor/gate to get into them so it takes ages (50c charge).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SimonLeMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,170
    849
    143
    17
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
693 reviews
532 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 540 helpful votes
“Futuristic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is fabulous architecture, the main front building like no other train station I’ve seen. There is still significant development happening in the area with this unique building opening in early 2013. It is a central transportation hub, with European train connections plus catering for the metro. The metro line E actually goes to The Hague, taking less than 30 minutes.

The (temporary) tourist office within is innovative, being in the form of a reclining human head. But it is effective dispensing plenty visitor information.

Directly in front of the station numerous attractive high-rise are at various stages of completion. All contributing to the well deserved reputation of Rotterdam as an architectural avant-garde.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank permia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“TOURIST ROTTERDAM BY TRAM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I, both Senior citizens, had a day out in Rotterdam. At the central station, we made enquiries at the Tourist Office and were sold Euro 4.50 tickets for Tram No.10 which conveniently stopped right in front of the station. Unfortunately, this route only runs from July until early September.

The tram criss-crosses Rotterdam passing all the major landmarks. It works on a hop-on hop-off full day ticket basis.

We stopped at Euromast (great place to go up to 185 metres by lifts) and Delfsthaven.

For more info - Facebook.com/tramlijn10.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank davi777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
626 reviews
283 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Upcoming modern building to start your Rotterdam adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The new Rotterdam Centraal Station is still being renovated, but is really beginning to take shape. This modern building fits with downtown Rotterdam. All trains come here, and outside the trams or taxis are ready to take you off on your Rotterdam adventure. Station staff are very good for information.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dbinhou7511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rotterdam Centraal Station also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Rotterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing