We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Awesome Hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Ani & Haakien

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Ani & Haakien
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Me and my bud were stuck for a place and chanced on Ani & Haakien. The owner/staff Joyce is absolutely lovely. She helped us out with transport when we messed it up, and gave us a heads up on the best club I've ever been to. Amazing music wafting through the place. Comfy beds. Clean. Beautiful. Thanks! See you again!
Pete

Room Tip: All rooms are nice I think!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
13
40
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

stayed here for a week and it was a great place the staff are really friendly and helpful and there is a big kitchen to cook in order to save money on eating out. Its really friendly and the beds are comfy too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jess b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I really enjoyed to stay in Ani&Haakien for all my 13 days. It has a cozy atmosphere all-around. Daniele and Joyce are doing a great job managing the hostel and you can feel the heart and effort put in this place. Lots of it has been constructed from recycled materials and all I can say is well done! There is a back garden with a hammock to chill in. A room for yoga lessons is also coming in the near future. I am already looking forward to coming back soon and I would recommend it to any traveler.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandras88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

A really nice place to stay! It's near Rotterdam Central Station so easy to reach when you get off the airport bus. The owners have created a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. There's a large kitchen where you can make breakfast, a garden to catch up with other travellers and a living room with some very interesting pieces of furniture. The place is brandnew so everything is still nice and clean. If I ever come on a late flight again, I won't hesitate and walk to Ani&Haakien.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank Anne-Marie-Praag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 896 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#7 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Cool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
#6 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#3 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Bilderberg Parkhotel
#10 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Ani & Haakien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Ani & Haakien

Property: Hostel Ani & Haakien
Address: Coolsestraat 47 - 49, 3014 LC Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Oude Westen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Hostel Location in Rotterdam! Hostel Ani&Haakien is a backpackers paradise for adventurous travelers who want to discover Rotterdam in a truly unique way. We are a community hostel with nightly dinners and free tours daily! Located just 600m away from Rotterdam Central Station, Ani & Haakien is a short walk from Rotterdam's most popular attractions such as Markthall and the famous Cube Houses! You won't find us on a busy bar street - at Ani&Haakien you'll get a good night's sleep - But no worries, the young and bustling Central District area of Rotterdam with good coffee places, awesome design shops, rooftop bars, jazz and the electronic night life is just a dance away! So, forget about walking around with your heavy backpack... drop it at the hostel, and let us tell you all about the cool stuff to do in Rotterdam. Hostel Ani & Haakien is the perfect hub for day trips! Just 10min to Delft / 40min to Amsterdam / 40min to Utrecht and 20min to The Hague! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Ani & Haakien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing