We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but windows are sealed for some reason”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice but windows are sealed for some reason”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This place is only (max)10 minute walk from train station and we found it after a little help from locals.
It was a very nice stay as the room was clean and a not too small.Staff is very helpful and breakfast was good if you are not into heavy start of the day.
Hotel reception is on first floor and seem to have office building turned into holiday inn.
Lookout late diners....all shops close at 10pm sharp in Rotterdam.
Value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vishokeenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    407
    111
    15
    10
See reviews for
78
307
51
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Lovely modern hotel, with very helpful staff in a good central position. Breakfast was fairly basic, but all in all it was great value for what we paid. The receptionist was very helpful in giving advice on where to visit and to eat. The city centre is within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim_Nadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXRotterdamCS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely feedback. I will be sure to share this with my staff. We offer free continental breakfast to all our guests, glad to see you appreciated this.

Best regards,
Ms. Marijn Neelen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The front office team is quiet nice and helpfull. The have good tips regarding the city.

The rooms are the standards of the new HI Exp which are perfect for a good night sleep after walikng arround the whole day in the city.

The breakfast is totally aceptable for the price that you pay for the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thiagodecastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Comapred to stay at other Holiday Inn express this was very average experience.
There was no human connect !
For any thing you ask the answer is ""This is budget Hotel ""
The Break fast menu was same for a week when I stayed there ...even the breakfast place of the items were always the same ...Not imaginative at all
The request were not considered ....Its no no for vegitarian traveller

Room Tip: Avoid if you want to experience a ambiance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satishsrikantiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXRotterdamCS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your experience. At Holiday Inn Express we offer all our guests a free continental breakfast. This includes a variety of breadrolls, toast bread, croissants, chocolat rolls, a choice 8 kinds of cheeses and 4 types of cold cuts, more than 10 sweet spreads, a variety of yoghurts, plain & fruit, both light and regular, fresh fruit, eggs, 4 different kinds of cereals, milk, choice of coffees & teas, fruit juices. For the convenience of our guests, we place our breakfast items on the buffet in a logical order, which does entail you will find the same set up during your stay.

Best regards, Ms. Marijn Neelen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located in 5-min walking distance from Central station. It was created especially for people traveling on business and staying here during workdays. We were happy to find this place and to escape to Rotterdam from Amsterdam invaded by tourists for the weekend. This comfort and quite on weekends 'business' hotel was the best option for our plan. Location is very important factor for us, so Holiday Inn Express Central Station situated in front of Lijnbaankwartier and located in 10-12 walking distance from Witte area, Museumkwartier and Embankment and in a heart of Rotterdam business district was perfect!

Personnel is very well trained and professional and our check-in on reception took 5 min. The hotel is modern and fresh, interiors of common areas and rooms are made in Holiday Inn style but with the light touch of Dutch design Rotterdam edition (port and working waterways theme). Our room faced the Weena street, fountains of Hofplein and a tram station, but we slept well because windows were really soundproof. And from windows of our room located on 6th floor we saw amazing modern buildings, the essence of Rotterdam architecture.

Room was spacious and comfort for a short time visit. No mini-bar and wardrobe but this amenities were not very important for us. Bathroom was very clean and equipped with modern shower and sink.

The hotel doesn't have restaurant or bar, but a lot of restaurants are located around. Vapiano in Rotterdam plasa (building with the Casino) works till 24pm. The nearest 'Albert Hejin to go' is located on Central station and you can buy some small food there if you come too late when the restaurants are closed or if you are not happy with the assortment of salads and snaks provided in hotel's vending machines.

The breakfast served in big a-la cantina located on 1st floor. I think the choice of food was good and healthy. But please do not expect standard breakfast hot dishes - scrambled eggs or crepe - there is no F&B department in a hotel as I told before. But I can tell that the level of catering and the choice of food is good for standard diet. I think it will be better to add special bread or muffins for people on gluten-free diet or just to put special tag for diet food if you already have it. And I think it will be good to have ice machine on some floors and to inform guests about it.

Also I liked some "marketing of impressions" things they implemented in a hotel interiors. Elevators makes "huh" sound as docker or worker loading heavy objects in a port of Rotterdam and the blue light in a bathroom when you open the door into room is very original idea.

So it's comfort place and I think we will stay here again because the price/quality proportion is fair.
Thanks for good experience and perfect service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drimkamtru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your positive and extensive review and for your compliments regarding our staff, hotel decoraton and location. I am happy to learn your stay was an enjoyable one and that you appreciated what we have to offer in Rotterdam as a city as well.
We are more than happy to cater to guests with diet needs, if we are informed sufficient time ahead of check in, we can ensure the availability of these breakfast items.

Kind regards,
Marijn Neelen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel is modern and comfy with very good, central location for business travellers. Busy streets around. My room was quite spacious and has nice, elegant design, the bathroom was celan and fresh looking. It was quiet in the night. The staff excellent, friendly and helpful. The brakfast was quite good but the choice rather very limited, it should be a little bit improved. But overall really nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danuts2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments. Great to see that you experienced our staff as friendly and helpfull.
We offer all our guests a complimentary continental breakfast consisting of a variety of bread, rolls, yoghurts, cereals, choice of cold cuts & cheeses, spreads, boiled eggs, fruit, coffee/tea and juices.

We hope to welcome you back in our hotel!

With kind regards,
Ms. Marijn Neelen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, KY
Level Contributor
233 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Had a great one-night stay after a VERY long transatlantic flight. Took the train from Schipol to Rotterdam Centraal and made the easy walk to the new hotel in less than five minutes. Hotel just opened the middle of May. We had a great prepaid rate and compared to other places we stayed on this trip, this far exceeded those hotels in every aspect. Best thing was the hotel was right around the corner from where our daughter lives so the convenience factor was high! Very central to other sites in Rotterdam. We walked everywhere. Just a great city! Fast internet. Loved the decor in the lobby, breakfast area as well as our room. The shower was awesome. Even the sofa bed was very comfortable. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We were given a late checkout because of being members of the hotel's rewards program. Also, were given complimentary beverages. Have nothing but good things to say about the hotel. Would not hesitate to book again or recommend to others. I thought the breakfast offered was fine. It was very popular on Sunday morning and everyone seemed to be happy with the choices. Typical Dutch offerings. We did enjoy the chocolate croissants thoroughly. We requested and were given a room on a high floor on the back side of the hotel as we didn't want to hear any street noise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdvmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXRotterdamCS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to write this very positive review. I am pleased to read you had such a great time in our hotel, glad we exceeded your expectations while here. I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards, Ms. Marijn Neelen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
#6 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station

Property: Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station
Address: Weena 121, 3013 CK Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam – Central Station is perfectly located in the heart of Rotterdam. Whether you are visiting Rotterdam for business or leisure purposes, this hotel is your place to be!The hotel is located next to the central station of Rotterdam in close vicinity of the main shopping area of the city the Koopgoot and on the corner of the Hofplein and Coolsingel. Large companies such as Nationale Nederlanden, ING, Unilever, Houthoff Buruma and the Holland Casino Rotterdam are all on walking distance. The hotel has the perfect location for every purpose.The sound proof, well furbished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with 50 international channels, free wireless Internet, coffee/tea facilities and a spacious shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast. The hotel offers a modern decorated lobby and bar, where our guests feel at ease and can relax with friends and colleagues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing