We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Tophotel in Rotterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mainport Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mainport Hotel
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
165 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Tophotel in Rotterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had a great stay in Mainport. Nice hotel, friendly staff, very nice rooms with a fantastic bed. Bathroom top and all very clean and very quiet. We had some drinks in the bar and the breakfast buffet is good, we even sat outside along the water. Checking out was quick and easy by filling out a few data, the pre-invoice was already delivered in the room. Location is very close to the centre and the parking garage under the Erasmusbridge is 1-2 min walking.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Piet005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    230
    57
    18
    16
See reviews for
74
472
27
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater
Level Contributor
77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I came for one night with my wife to the hotel.

The whole experience was great, with the exception of the service upon arrival. I had booked on hotels.com and prepaid the trip, but when I arrived, they tried to charge me again. I arrived late at night and had quite a wait for the person to finish servicing the couple that was there before us and then had some back and forth to explain and show the email proving that it was already prepaid. He said he'd handle it at night. The in the morning the same ordeal again (it seems the person at night did nothing to fix it).

Aside from that bad service, the hotel itself was wonderful. The rooms were very comfortable. They have a HUGE bathtub with jets (like a jaccuzi) which was large enough to fit in comfortably. Seperate shower, very nice amenities.

The spa was also very nice with a great pool, sauna and gym all in the same area. They have an optional no-clothes are or one where you keep on your bathing suit.

Aside from the service (which probably wasn't the norm), it was a perfect stay.

Room Tip: I had a corner room, but I think the regular rooms are better (more spacious)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMgr_InntelHotels, Rooms Division Manager at Mainport Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Adam,

Thank you very much for your feedback of your stay at Mainport.
I am very glad to read that you have enjoyed the facilities in the hotel and the room. The Waterfront Spa room is a great room to stay at with the Jacuzzi with view over the water!

I have passed on your comments about the invoice to our Front Office Manager. As you have mentioned already, this is absolutely not our standard and although we sometimes have differences between third party websites and what we have received from them, we still sort it out in a professional way. Please do accept my sincere apologies.

Thank you again for your stay and we look forward welcoming you back soon!
Kind regards,
Simone van der Veen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Don't always write reviews of where we stay, however this hotel is particularly good (we are still here). When randomly looking at hotels to book in rotterdam I came across this one and it has been a really good choice. It is modern, staff are incredibly friendly and accommodating, the location is superb (overlooking Erasmus Bridge), has a metro stop just out the front door that connects directly to Rotterdam Central (a bonus if you need to catch trains) and it is reasonably priced for a five star hotel. Our room has a large spa and a sauna however would not choose this combo again - the only downside to our room is the functional layout - could be improved with some drawers for clothes and a toilet light that is not automatic (disruptive to partner in the middle of the night) However would definitely look forward to a return stay.

Room Tip: Overlooking the canal - don't book a room with large spa and sauna - there are rooms with a bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhondda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Myself and my fiancé chose Mainport based on the strength of the feedback from Tripadvisor, and we were right to do so! I had noticed how the 'Rooms Division Manager' had been quick to respond to any issues previous visitors had, giving me the impression of customer satisfaction, and going from our experience, I was right.

As we were to visit Rotterdam by car and had I researched that free parking could be an issue, we contacted Mainport via e-mail who replied promptly with details of free parking locations and that travel to the hotel (and most other locations) could be taken by Metro as the hotel is situated near a Metro terminal (right across the road from the Leuvehaven stop).
Due to our ferry sailing being overnight, we arrived at the hotel very early in the morning aware that it was well before check-in time and that our room may not be ready. The reception staff were happy to look after our luggage by placing it in a secure room while we went off to check out what Rotterdam had to offer us.
When we returned in the afternoon, we checked in and headed off to our room. Our harbour view room was everything we had expected but for a misinterpretation of what we would class to be a 'double bed' as the room had a double bed that comprised of two individual mattresses. Although some people prefer this, myself and my fiancé prefer a complete double mattress, so when this was raised with staff on reception, we were promptly moved to another room that met our requests.

Our visit in Rotterdam from then on was amazing. Our stay in Mainport was everything we could have wanted with every encounter of staff being pleasant and helpful, from cleaning staff to bar staff. The room met out expectations (and then some), with the whirlpool bath making such an impression on us, that on returning home, we are now looking to fit a similar bath in our own bathroom!

I can easily recommend a pleasant stay at Mainport which we found to be both very welcoming and a great location for seeing the sights of Rotterdam. We look forward to staying at Mainport again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here for a weekend visit to Rotterdam and could not have made a better choice. Our harbour view room was beautiful with an outstanding view and excellent facilities, including a large Jacuzzi bath with stunning views. Lots of lovely touches like an espresso machine and a mirror TV. The bed was wonderful and the room was very quiet. We also greatly enjoyed having a Hamam and massage in the spa and and using their great Sauna and steam room. The staff were very polite and helpful and the hotel is exteremely well located for business, great restaurants, museums, shopping and general sightseeing. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our Harbour view room was beautiful and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed one night in Mainport. This hotel is pretty new and open for just a year.
Had a city room, so no view on bridge or canals. As the hotel is in a busy street, you can hear cars and trams going by. But as I am a pretty good sleeper, had no issue with the noise, but would recommend if you stay for a few nights to pay the additional money to get room at the backside of the hotel.
Staff was very friendly, WIFI is a bit slow but free and the breakfast had enough choice.
I also had dinner at the restaurant and food was acceptable. Do not expect Michelin star gourmet food but for hotel food it was more than acceptable with enough choices.
Three minor points: not a lot of parking in front of the hotel to offload your bags (space for 3 cars all taken upon my arrival) , the parking fee is hefty (37 EURO per night) and over breakfast I could hear the staff gossiping about guests which is very unprofessional and lack of respect of your guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMgr_InntelHotels, Rooms Division Manager at Mainport Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Bart,

Thank you very much for your stay and we really appreciate your feedback.
We take every suggestion seriously and will look into the possibility to improve our service and standard.

I have discussed your points about the dinner, and our Director of Food & Beverage Jan van Belzen would like to get in contact with you to receive more information. If you have time to advise us your contact details via info@mainporthotel.com that would be much appreciated.

I can also advise you that there is a renovation scheduled of the road and area in front of the hotel. We will create more places for short term parking.
Finding cheap parking spaces in the centre of Rotterdam can be challenging but aside from the valet parking there is also an option to park your car at one of the 2 public parkings which are at a 2 minute walking distance for a rate of € 27 per 24 hours parking.

Thank you again for your stay and we look forward welcoming you back soon!
Kindest regards,

Simone van der Veen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights whilst visiting friends. Mainport was a great choice and fantastic value.

Our room was overlooking the water, with an oversized bed, crisp linen and an african decor theme on a feature wall that wasn't really our thing, but wasn't so overbearing that it couldn't be ignored. TV at the foot of the bed could be swivelled - much to my amusement. Free espresso in room was a nice touch.

Bathroom was great, huge spa tub by the window, walk in shower and TV in the mirror - Which did have a couple of surprise porn channels not available on the main TV, so brace ourself for them.

Location is a short walk to the centre of rotterdam and would absolutely recommend a stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon_Newman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMgr_InntelHotels, Rooms Division Manager at Mainport Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Gordon,

Thank you very much for your stay at Mainport while visiting your friends!
I am very glad that you have enjoyed your Waterfront Spa room and all it's wellness facilities!
The bathroom mirror tv is a great extra value but ofcourse the adult channels should have been removed. We have had an update on these tv's and this issue is now solved.

The hotel concept is a gateway to all the world's continents and every floor represents a continent with different design and colors. I am very sure that we can find a floor that will complete your Mainport experience!

We look forward welcoming you back to Mainport in the near future

With kind regards,
Simone van der Veen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#4 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 53 in Rotterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Cool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
#6 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,222 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#8 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainport Hotel

Property: Mainport Hotel
Address: Leuvehaven 77, 3011 EA Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Stadsdriehoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mainport Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Mainport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing