We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year Hotel”
Review of Mainport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mainport Hotel
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had already decided it was Rotterdam for the after Christmas break and the New Year, so it was just a question of where to stay. After checking TripAdvisor, it was down to the New York, Mainport and the Manhattan Hotels and after checking the locations we ruled out the New York Hotel (sorry, hopefully next time) because it was not as near the centre or overlooking the Erasmus Bridge (for the New Year celebrations). We decided on both the other two (4 nights at the Manhattan and 3 nights at the Mainport) so please read both reviews as a comparison!
Our second accommodation in Rotterdam was the Mainport Hotel, which we chose because of its locality to the Erasmus Bridge and the New Years Celebrations. When we arrived we were given a 7th Floor Water Spa Room overlooking the Harbour with the Erasmus Bridge in full view. The only problem was, the room had not been cleaned, the bed was unmade and towels were scattered around the Bathroom. We phoned reception and they quickly arranged for someone to sort out the problem by offering us a Bedroom on the 10th Floor. Although the rooms were essentially the same, the 7th Floor room was a Corner Room with Windows that have dual aspect views, so we chose to wait for our original room to be cleaned.

The accommodation featured a very large Bathroom with a Whirlpool Bath, Shower, and a Sauna for two people. In the Bedroom there was a king size and extremely comfortable Bed, a small Kettle, Coffee Machine, Safe, Stocked Fridge and a large Plasma TV with lots of channels in many different languages. Free Wi-Fi was available in the room and all over the Hotel complex. Unlike the Manhattan Hotel, there was no free Mineral Water and Biscuit and apart from a couple of Coffee Pods, Tea and Sugar, everything else had a cost to it, although we were impressed with the range of products available for you to buy in the room including Condoms, Chocolate Bars, Key Rings, etc.

The Restaurant and Bar was situated on the Basement level and which served a range of Drinks and Cocktails at the Bar (where Bar Snacks were also available) and an extensive menu was available for the Restaurant.

On the 8th Floor, the Hotels ‘Spa Heaven’ is located with a Swimming Pool, Turkish Steam Room and Treatments, the only problem being, you have to be naked to make use of it. For us more ‘shy’ people, we can use the Swimming Pool and Gym facilities in the associated Hotel next door (with access direct from Spa Heaven).

Breakfast was again excellent with an even greater range of Fruits and Yogurts. Bread, Rolls, Cereals, Meats and Cheeses are also available and there were also hot foods such as Bacon, Sausages, Scrambles Eggs, Ratatouille and Mushrooms. If you wanted something different, Live Cooking was available to provide fried eggs, waffles, pancakes and even Eggy Bread.

The New Years Celebrations were fantastic and we had a great view of the biggest Firework Display in the Netherlands from our room. Brilliant Hotel and highly recommended.

Location: 4
Presentation: 5
Bed comfort: 5
Bathroom facilities: 5
Cleanliness: 5
Soundproofing: 4
Food: 5

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 1,291 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had a wonderful stay in the Mainport hotel. The room was very well designed and we enjoyed the complimentary espresso. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the view from our corner-room was very nice. It would be nice if the tv would have a sink-in function, so it wouldn't block the view from the bed. We did not book the breakfast, because we did not think any breakfast could be worth 28 euros per person. Fortunately there are many nice bakeries at walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanneke2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMgr_InntelHotels, Rooms Division Manager at Mainport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you have taken to leave such a positive review of your stay!
I am very glad to read you have enjoyed the beautiful corner room and I agree with you that the large windows offer a great and expanded view from your room!

I really appreciate your tip about the TV and I will discuss this in our Management team meeting if it is possible to make any changes.

For a future stay I would recommend to pre-book the breakfast with the room reservation as you will have a discounted breakfast rate. I can definitely recommend our extensive "Live cooking" breakfast buffet where, aside from a very large and luxurious selection of cold and warm items, a cook is available to prepare your eggs the way you like it, French toast or pancakes for no extra charge.

I look forward welcoming you back in the near future!
Kindest regards,
Simone van der Veen
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The Mainport Hotel in Rotterdam is a 5 star luxury hotel which lives up to its reputation of not being just any other hotel. The ambience inside the hotel was pleasant and the place was nice to stay. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends .The hotel building is very clean and modern .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bugazia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I should say that I was stunned by the services offered in this hotel. The bathrooms had Jacuzzi and wonderful toiletries. The ambience inside the hotel was pleasant and the place was nice to stay. I went with my family of four and we got extra beds arranged in the same room. The rooms also offer coffee machines, which is a delight to coffee lovers like me. I do not have enough words to describe their service. The freebies provided by this hotel stunned me. It is well connected to all major tourist attractions in the city of Rotterdam. The hotel building is very clean and modern to suit all guests. It was a great pleasure staying at Main port Hotel in Rotterdam.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimMerrtop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Just a few things to improve or to think about at least:

- waste bin in the room; especially when you have a baby of 8 weeks old its a long walk to the bathroom :)
- put a (glass) door for the shower, it might help keep the bathroom or room from flooding (this also depends how you shower of course :)) and we put a towel across to stop the water from pouring out
- we stayed on the 3rd flor and I could hear people walking (or running?) in the room or corridor of the floor above us

Minor details that did not spoil our stay in any case.

We had the Waterfront Spa Room on the third floor. Very spacious. We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights and really just want to stay in the room all day long. Especially with a baby its important the room feels like home and it did.

Also wonderful, friendly and helpful staff.
Nice restaurant.

I would recommend (and already did) this hotel to all my friends but not to families.

Tip: order breakfast in bed. Its better and nicer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rootberie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I've just spent 7 nights at Mainport. It's a well run 5* hotel with first rate staff (especially on reception) and facilities. The rooms have the little luxury extras including a bathtub/Jacuzzi and toiletries etc. My only gripe was the shower was too small with no door, however this is a minor complaint. There's a generous breakfast buffet to suit all tastes, and the hotel is perfectly located - next to the Erasmus Bridge and near to several museums. There's a metro stop right outside the hotel and you can buy a 7 Euro day pass at reception. The Spido harbour boat company is also a short walk away (before the bridge) as well as several decent restaurants a 5 - 10 minute walk - I'd recommend 'Rodin'. As a guest at Mainport you have access to Spa Heaven and I would highly recommend a treatment with either Sharmilla or Liliane. Both are excellent and dedicated to their work. They have a real energy and have an intuitive sense of what you need. I hope Mainport retain their services as they are both a real asset. All in all, well worth a long weekend break to get away from it all and pamper yourself.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank philhunter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMgr_InntelHotels, Rooms Division Manager at Mainport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Mr. Hunter, dear Phil,
Wow, thank you very much for your great review of your stay at Mainport.
We are very pleased that you have chosen Mainport to stay at for 7 nights and enjoying it so fully. We truly look forward welcoming you back soon!
I will pass on your compliments to Sharmila and Liliane. They are absolutely talented and very passionate about their work. They are part of a great team of masseuses and beauty specialists of our Spa Heaven which we are very proud of. Thank you for given us that beautiful feedback!
With kind regards,
Simone van der Veen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The mainport hotel is brandnew and an excellent hotel. It is very modern and very clean.
The room is large with a beautiful bathroom and comfortable spacious bed. The room also offers an expresso machine and enough candy bars. Unfortunately if you allergic to nuts, you have an issue. One tip, please also offer candy bars without nuts!
Excellent service at the frontdesk and the staff at the restaurant and bar is friendly and very well trained and professional. Breakfast simply good.
Summarized, a very pleasant stay and w'll be back.
One remark. Parking !! Is a nightmare

Room Tip: Great top class hotel for a fair price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart188632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMgr_InntelHotels, Rooms Division Manager at Mainport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Bart,

Thank you for your stay at Mainport and from this beautiful review I can make up that you fully enjoyed it.
I am very sorry that the parking was a nightmare for your. Being in the middle of busy Rotterdam this can be difficult. To assist our guests we arranged information on the 2 options for parking. The first is valet parking where you can place the car in front of the hotel and the porter will park it for you in one of the garages. The 2nd option is to park the car in one of the 2 Erasmusbridge parking garages which are on a 2 minutes walking distance. On our website there is a route map how to get there. Maybe this information helps you when you are coming back to stay at Mainport!
Thank you for the tip on the candy bars. I will look into the possibilities of adding or replacing a bar with one without nuts.
With kind regards,
Simone van der Veen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,411 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,514 reviews
Cool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
#6 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,558 reviews
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 52 in Rotterdam
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainport Hotel

Address: Leuvehaven 77, 3011 EA Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Stadsdriehoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range: $136 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mainport Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mainport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing