We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Birthday getaway”
Review of Mainport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mainport Hotel
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I'd been looking for a hotel with spa features to celebrate my girlfriends birthday and ran across this place online. While the price was a bit more than I intended, it was perfect. I booked a room with a spa tub overlooking the harbor and sauna for 2 nights and wasn't disappointed at all. The rooms are new, everything works, and has some modern touches such as a TV in the bathroom mirror. Would recommend this hotel to anyone, especially for couples wanting a romantic getaway.

Now for the wonderful staff. First off, there was a miscommunication online as to whether dogs where allowed in the hotel. The online site I used to book the room stated that dogs were allowed and I even checked the hotel site direct to make sure and saw nothing that addresed pets. As it turns out, pets are not allowed. After a brief discussion with the manger, as you would expect with wonderful staff, they allowed us to keep our booking and never said another word about it. You would never have guessed dogs weren't allowed with the attention the hotel staff gave our dog as we made our way through the lobby during the stay.

On top of that, they were aware of why were there and the consierge must have spotted us when we left the hotel. When we returned, we had a wonderful plate of fruit and chocolate waiting for us, along with a small card...very nice touch.

Bottom line, class staff, class hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harpierian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,225)
There are newer reviews for Mainport Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

537 - 543 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

We went to Rotterdam with a group of friends to participate the program of the North Sea Jazz.
We were amazed by several good aspects of this hotel. First of all, the metro which is a few steps from the lobby was only 4 stops to the concert area, Ahoy.
We were upgraded to a room with sauna and a wonderful view of the canal and the Erasmus bridge. All the floors had different themes, ours was, North America. The rooms were comfortable and tastefully decorated with design furnitures. Even the glass elevators had a beautiful view.
The breakfast area downstairs was spacious, it even had an outside terrace where you could also have your breakfast. The breakfast hours were very convenient.
The bar downstairs was very lively till late hours.
The hotel was very attentive about the festival. A good place to stay especially during the festival.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mina976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMgr_InntelHotels, Rooms Division Manager at Mainport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Guest Mina976,

First of all thank you for choosing Mainport as your hotel to stay during the North Sea Jazz festival. Every year we look forward to this weekend because of the great `jazzy` atmosphere and many returning guests. As we know that our North Sea Jazz guests stay up dancing and listening to good music till late at night we arranged the opportunity to visit our Cocktail bar `on the Rocks` till 3 am and breakfast the next morning till 12nn. I am very glad to read that you have appreciated this offer.

I look forward to welcome you back next year July!

Kind regards,
Simone van der Veen
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

With Leuvehaven metro on the doorstep, it seems that every aspect of convenience has been considered when putting the Mainport/Inntel complex together.

Space and quality with such attention to detail would be the take away from my 2 night stay here at this brand new Rotterdam Design Hotel.

Check in- a breeze, up the glass elevators providing a fabulous water view of the city and into the corridor of my 7th floor room, and you can tell immediately that the designers have thought about this place for the long haul. Gorgeously detailed carpet and modern flock wallpaper are just a taster for the rooms, generous/huge in sense of space, enough for a personal sauna in my bathroom, without feeling ostentatious, and everything from the bed to the furniture of the highest quality.

The lower ground floor bar and restaurant is brilliantly designed to mask the vast area by subtle breaks in space to give an intimate feel around the bar, in a space that could host 500 people. We had a sushi and grill dinner which was good, even sourcing gluten free bread from the next door kitchen on request. Breakfast the following morning was worth the trip alone- stunning choice, amazing egg chef, and from the number of couples drinking champagne that morning, a definite sign that this place was worth toasting. Congratulations to all concerned.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthonyruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMgr_InntelHotels, Rooms Divison Manager at Mainport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Guest Anthonyruk,

Wow! Thank you for your positive and thorough feedback about your stay at Mainport.
Our designer and owners have been working together very closely in creating this beautiful hotel and we are all very pleased that even the smallest details have been noticed.
Thank you for sharing this with the rest of the world and I look forward to personally welcome you back in Mainport.

With kind regards
Simone van der Veen
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Brand new beautiful design hotel on a perfect location in the city center.
Great service with lovely bar food and the rooms are utmost relaxing!
Definitely would advice this hotel for the ultimate Rotterdam experience (hotel provides original suggestions to explore the city)!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bemmels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We payed a little extra for a corner view room at the backside, then this was not kept for us so that we had to settle for a 'normal' back view room, subsequently the room manager Simone kindly included breakfast instead, this made our stay which was super anyway, generally we felt that staff went out of their way to provide just a little extra every time, really friendly and helpful, rooms are large and very nice, good bathrooms with sauna (though we did not fancy this in summer this must be great in winter), superb breakfast buffet including a glass of champagne and very good croissants, great views, just next to metro station, would definitely return and warmly recommend

Room Tip: pay a little extra to be at the backside, front seems noisy and back has great views
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lumzq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMgr_InntelHotels, Rooms Division Manager at Mainport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your lovely review on Tripadvisor!
I definitely remember our conversation and I am very glad that our staff and myself made a very positive contribution to your stay. It was our pleasure having you stay at Mainport and we all look forward welcoming you back in the near future.
With kind regards
Simone van der Veen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My 8 year old son and I stayed here for 4 nights in late June 2013 for a conference. The conference was staged partly in the Mainport and partly in the Inntel Hotel next door. Our room booking originally was with Inntel, but we were upgraded to the Mainport at no extra charge.

Our room was on the 10th floor. My son described it as "heaven". After staying in much smaller rooms in London, Aarhus and Amsterdam, the Mainport room was very luxurious.

My son enjoyed the spa bath, TV embedded in the bathroom mirror (so he could watch TV in the bathtub), comfy King sized bed, free wi-fi and indoor pool (with an amazing view of the Rotterdam skyline).

I enjoyed the spacious room, spectacular views over the Harbour, quietness, and facilities (lots of storage, great bathroom).

The staff were unfailingly helpful, friendly and kind, especially to my son, despite the busyness of the conference. We ordered room service, ate the buffet breakfast, and ate in the bar. The food was always good and well priced.

We found the Mainport fabulous value for money (given we were charged our original Inntel room rate). It was easy to get to Rotterdam Central Station (just a few stops on the subway) and reasonably close to shops and museums.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room to take advantage of the amazing views.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ollieandbiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMgr_InntelHotels, Rooms Division Manager at Mainport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay at Mainport and your positive feedback on Tripadvisor.
It is great to read that you and your son have enjoyed the facilities in the room, especially the bathroom tv!
We look forward welcoming you back in Mainport
With kind regards
Simone van der Veen
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great weekend break in Rotterdam. Hotel all new and shiny. Great decor. Brilliant concept. However question the 5 star rating, although (to be fair) they dont charge 5 star rates, so you get what you pay for. One frustration, difficult to identify valet parking, as they are based on a busy street corner with no obvious entrance. Parked a block away in public parking, schlepped all our stuff over ourselves and arrived at the desk all hot and bothered. Better signage required...

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank grule23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,343 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
nhow Rotterdam
#6 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,580 reviews
Cool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,452 reviews
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 52 in Rotterdam
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainport Hotel

Address: Leuvehaven 77, 3011 EA Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Stadsdriehoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range: $140 - $699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mainport Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mainport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing