We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Student Hotel Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Located real close to the university of rotterdam and easily accessible with public transport, this is a nice hotel. Hotel looks basic, but the atmosphere in the cafe, library and lounge is very nice. Good value for money.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Claudia_tripje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
There are newer reviews for The Student Hotel Rotterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 407 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Everything was really great, very nice, clean, modern... Next time I visit Rotterdam I'll most definitely stay in Student Hotel again! Only thing that wasn't perfect was the window - we couldn't open it...but there was air condition so it wasn't really big problem....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jelena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I dont want to be all negative, the concept is good, as well as the Website and the study rooms/wifi. The staff in 'The Kitchen' is great as well.
However,
- the rooms on the Website look bigger than the ones you are going to get + very vague description (ie 'enough' storage space -there is no bin (???)and not a lot of space)--the rooms are very basic!!
- the reception staff: the woman with the blonde, curly hair doesn't care at all + doesn't help
- the kitchens in our appartments are not like the kitchen online -small, dark, not as luxurious
- first Thing I had to do: dust my room
I was disappointed because it is quite expensive and i expected more in terms of my room, staff and space.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank abovetheroof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were really happy with our stay in the Student Hotel. It's about a 15 minute walk to the center of Rotterdam and is quite a nice walk, there are two routes, one is along the river and is a nice walk but a bit longer. Staff were great and the receptionist drew us a map on how to get to the city centre.

The rooms were spacious and ours had a kitchenette, no pots and pans, or any crockery but there were 2 rings and a microwave. The hotel rooms are simply furnished, but are clean and comfortable. The public areas are decorated in a really modern style. There is a gym and restaurant.

There is parking outside which is paid, but is free in e evenings until about 8 I the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairebear8182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Students Hotel has pro's and cons.
Pro's: Good location, nice lounge to study, good beds, good for meeting people.
Con's: service & staff, lock system, only 3 washing machines for the whole building, high prices (both for lodging and for the Kitchen next to it).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ygroenen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank U, Manager at The Student Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

I would love to understand better what you did not like about the locks and staff and services. And hear how you think we can improve that! Email me via info@thestudenthotel.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very friendly staff, very helpful.

Great value (fully furnished room, double bed, fridge, microwave, tv with international channels and private bathroom for 25 euro per person).

Nice atmosphere, great styling, inviting to hang out and meet people.

We went during the summer months and it was pretty quite there, but considering its also a student residence, the atmosphere might be completely different during the schoolyear.

There is a free parking at the Kralingse Zoom, which is a half an our walk away, or 2 stops by tram.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MasterSick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank U, Manager at The Student Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thanks for staying. You should come during the Academic Year as well! You meet the world here say our students, interns and young travellers. Especially the restaurant, lounges and study rooms are buzzing with international chatter, laptops beeps, and hard working brains.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stylish hotel minutes from city centre with the most helpful staff I've seen in a very long time! Very accommodating, polite and professional.

There is even a kitchenette in the room with a fridge, microwave and a cooker! How amazing is that?!?!?!

Proper water pressure in the spacious bathroom, very comfortable bed, more than adequate selection of channels on the television, and they even threw in a pair of stylish sunglasses!

Simply brilliant!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank U, Manager at The Student Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

thank you brilliant feedback. We are opening this September in Amsterdam so hopefully you can visit us there as well one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
786 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,387 reviews
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark
#11 of 52 in Rotterdam
970 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Student Hotel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Student Hotel Rotterdam

Address: Oostzeedijk 182 / Willem Ruyslaan 225, 3063 ER Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Rotterdam
Price Range: $76 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Student Hotel Rotterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the stunning contemporary architecture of Rotterdam, the modern and classical museums, the lively bars and beautiful streets of Kralingen, all at your doorstep. We're perfectly situated just 10 minutes from the World Trade Center. Catch public transport right in front of our hotel and enjoy a leisurely 12-minute ride to Rotterdam Centraal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Student Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing