We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Funky hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Student Hotel Rotterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Student Hotel Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Funky hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were really happy with our stay in the Student Hotel. It's about a 15 minute walk to the center of Rotterdam and is quite a nice walk, there are two routes, one is along the river and is a nice walk but a bit longer. Staff were great and the receptionist drew us a map on how to get to the city centre.

The rooms were spacious and ours had a kitchenette, no pots and pans, or any crockery but there were 2 rings and a microwave. The hotel rooms are simply furnished, but are clean and comfortable. The public areas are decorated in a really modern style. There is a gym and restaurant.

There is parking outside which is paid, but is free in e evenings until about 8 I the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clairebear8182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    63
    18
    9
    5
See reviews for
14
64
31
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Students Hotel has pro's and cons.
Pro's: Good location, nice lounge to study, good beds, good for meeting people.
Con's: service & staff, lock system, only 3 washing machines for the whole building, high prices (both for lodging and for the Kitchen next to it).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ygroenen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank U, Manager at The Student Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
I would love to understand better what you did not like about the locks and staff and services. And hear how you think we can improve that! Email me via info@thestudenthotel.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very friendly staff, very helpful.

Great value (fully furnished room, double bed, fridge, microwave, tv with international channels and private bathroom for 25 euro per person).

Nice atmosphere, great styling, inviting to hang out and meet people.

We went during the summer months and it was pretty quite there, but considering its also a student residence, the atmosphere might be completely different during the schoolyear.

There is a free parking at the Kralingse Zoom, which is a half an our walk away, or 2 stops by tram.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MasterSick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank U, Manager at The Student Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for staying. You should come during the Academic Year as well! You meet the world here say our students, interns and young travellers. Especially the restaurant, lounges and study rooms are buzzing with international chatter, laptops beeps, and hard working brains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stylish hotel minutes from city centre with the most helpful staff I've seen in a very long time! Very accommodating, polite and professional.

There is even a kitchenette in the room with a fridge, microwave and a cooker! How amazing is that?!?!?!

Proper water pressure in the spacious bathroom, very comfortable bed, more than adequate selection of channels on the television, and they even threw in a pair of stylish sunglasses!

Simply brilliant!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank U, Manager at The Student Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
thank you brilliant feedback. We are opening this September in Amsterdam so hopefully you can visit us there as well one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The staff was really nice and helpful, both at the reception and in the restaurant. The latter offers great breakfast and delicious dinner in a relaxed atmosphere. The room was also nice and quite big. I would have loved to stay longer and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fapjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Very nice location and design: nicely decorated and well-equipped rooms. Cool for a short stay but definitely not for a long stay. The customer service is null . Staff working at the reception do not show any interest in helping you out to solve problems regarding the facilities . I have been living at The Student Hotel Rotterdam for more than six months and I have spend half of my time complaining about problems with my room (such as a water leaks from the bathroom that were not repaired for more than three weeks...etc.) and trying to have the devices in our shared kitchen repaired: dishwasher, fridge, ...(even if they are all new they were at first rapidly installed and they break down every now and then, taking them a lifetime to repair them). When I arrived the kitchen was full of garbage, which I had to clean myself and my room had not been cleaned either. And the solution they gave to me: well, we are sorry, you can do it yourself....not acceptable at all!!!. I strongly do not recommend this place. I have had enough of it; fortunately my contract is over!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dcm49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pit B, General Manager at The Student Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We are sorry to hear you had a unhappy experience with us. Indeed we experienced some issues with equipment at the opening last year. We had hoped that all these issues had been resolved but apparently we missed some, for this we apologies. We are happy to say that we have thoroughly fixed the issues that were known to us since then.

The Student Hotel is a new model which combines the needs of students and hotel users. We have several more facilities than a standard student accommodation but not (for longer term guest) a full blown hotel service. As a long stay guest with a 5 or 10 months low cost stay your arrangement is that guests indeed clean their own room (though you can order cleaning sessions) and common kitchen. As a hotel guest these services are included within their packages.

We are sorry this was not clear for you. We have improved our website to help us communicate this clearly. We will also take your comments on board re the communication with our team and hope this will be improved.

Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts out.

Kind regards

Pit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed at TSH Rotterdam for three nights and was really blown away by the atmosphere of the place. It was really relaxed and had a gym and a library. It had a good space set-up to relax or work on the the ground floor and internet was super fast. The rooms were extremely comfortable and had everything I needed. I had planned to go out and eat while in Rotterdam, but ended up spending a tonne of time in the hotel's restaurant/cafe. It's a great space, fantastic food and nice staff. If you're thinking about staying here, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elle_980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank U, Manager at The Student Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
glad you enjoyed your stay. We love having meetings and working in the the cafe restaurant as well. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#7 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Stadsdriehoek
Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam
nhow Rotterdam
#8 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Student Hotel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Student Hotel Rotterdam

Property: The Student Hotel Rotterdam
Address: Oostzeedijk 182 / Willem Ruyslaan 225, 3063 ER Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Student Hotel Rotterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the stunning contemporary architecture of Rotterdam, the modern and classical museums, the lively bars and beautiful streets of Kralingen, all at your doorstep. We're perfectly situated just 10 minutes from the World Trade Center. Catch public transport right in front of our hotel and enjoy a leisurely 12-minute ride to Rotterdam Centraal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Budget Places and Travelocity so you can book your The Student Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing