We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak and great service”
Review of El Gaucho

El Gaucho
Reserve with
El Gaucho is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 1,029 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Argentinean, Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great steak and great service”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Was brought here by my relative to have a great steak. No doubt it was really good! You have several different cut of the meat for you to choose from. Also, you can also choose the weight of your meat, from 225 onwards! I had a 350 grams which was a good size as I have a heavy lunch, but someone in my group easily finish a 500! The steaks comes with salad and starch, so you definitely will have a satisfying meal. You can also try 3 cuts of meat or 5 cuts of meat from their menu.

The place has a open grill kitchen concept, so you definitely will get some food smell on your clothes =)

The boss and all the staff are polite and friendly, so you have got good service here. The price here are also very reasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CalvinZheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    68
    17
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Steaks !”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Close to the small Veerhaven marina, this is the place to go after sailing up the Nieuwe Maas into Roitterdam. Nothing tastes better than a 'sizzling' Argentine steak. Have known it for 30 years or more and it's still offering great value for money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wednesbury,England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“El Gaucho - not to be missed”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The friends we were with had stumbled upon this place when visiting Rotterdam before and recommended it, so in we went again. Fantastic rib eye, cooked to perfection. Others had pepper steak which again was great and my hubby had the chicken breast, it was huge and again cooked perfectly. Reasonably priced for what you get. As we were leaving we were asked to stop and have a drink on the house, which we did. I highly recommend this unpretentious steakhouse. As mentioned in other reviews, yes the decor is tired, but I actually think that adds to the charm. It was packed when we went in which I always think speaks volumes
WWW.EL-GAUCHO.NL

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TatsTats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Famagusta, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unpretentious steak house, great tasting steaks, excellent value”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Love eating here when I'm in Rotterdam on business. Reasonable prices and a great tasting steaks. Not a pretentious place, decor is very 70's but the place to go excellent value and good service. There is a bar at the back of the restaurant as well.
I only wish they serve their steaks on a steak plate rather than a hot plate but perhaps I'm being a bit too fussy. All in all recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pagey74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barendrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Finally a good steak!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Whenever I'm craving a good steak, we'll go to this place. They serve the best Beef de Lomo that I ever had! Juicy, tender, just how it should be. You can pick different weights and different steaks. We usually go for the 300 gramm de Lomo steak. Most expensive one on the menu (30 euros) but so worthwhile! It comes with baked potatoe or chips and a salad.
Inside the restaurant it can get a bit smokey because they serve the steaks on a sizzling hot plate. Dont touch it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lovely281268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gaucho also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to El Gaucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing