We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow. Just wow.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Harmonie

De Harmonie
Ranked #26 of 862 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, French, International, Central European, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wow. Just wow.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Give this place a Michelin Star! Exquisite food - we had the surprise menu, and what a pleasant surprise it was! Each course was an amazing balance of flavor and pleasing to the eye as well. It was quite reasonably priced, especially getting the wines to match each course. Friendly and knowledgeable staff and peaceful decor. We will go again next time we are in R'dam!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ewados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    43
    4
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West
Level Contributor
131 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Harmonious lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I recently had lunch here with a good friend.

We were greeted by a lady, who wasn’t overly friendly. The same can be said about all waiting staff: correct but a bit of 'automatic pilot' friendliness. It was nice weather and we were escorted to our table in a beautiful garden, with loads of shady places provided by big old trees. The furniture however was not very comfortable and one would expect better and more comfortable chairs while spending some time here.

The menu was handed over and is very exciting. Choice from the menu is around 15 dishes, which are all presented with three words: really something different, which makes one very curious of what is about to come out of the kitchen.

The wine menu offers a nice range but wines here are not cheap. I opted for a Bourgogne Chardonnay but with a price tag of € 37,00, is quite steep for a, with all due respect, entry level wine from the Burgundy. Fortunately, it tasted good.

The highlight of this place is without any doubt the kitchen. We didn’t have much time so for a starter I chose the combination of Goose liver – Granny Smith – Seedcake (Dutch speciality called kruidkoek, which is difficult to translate). The presentation was stylish and the taste was stunning. My main course was the combination of Sea Bass – Turnip – Basil. Again an absolute winner with looks and great taste. My only criticism is that the portion size was a bit small for a main course, but a the same time this is a place to have more time to explore more of their fantastic menu combinations.

The lovely garden and the food are too good assets to give this restaurant a four star rating, but when taking the whole experience into account, a smile or two more and better chairs would make it a real five star experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurentPerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The restaurant is excellent. My wife and I had a good time there and certainly good food. The atmosphere is nice. The waiters are also nice. The dessert is superb. Everything is perfect! Better to reserve a table in advanced on Saturdays. The restaurant is located at good place which is easy to reach by public transportation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmuhdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
142 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Perfect harmony at Harmonie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Eating at Harmonie was a really positive experience. The food was excellent and the price is very reasonable for what you get. We had a tasting-menu consisting (at our request) of fish and vegetarian dishes, and especially the vegetarian dishes were wonderful. The food is a nice mix between modern and inventive dishes, and then a few more classic ones. The service was helpful, friendly, relaxed, knowledgable and even wore attractive uniforms (staff at high-end restaurants in Holland do have a tendency to be dressed like dowdy bank managers from the 1970s, never a plus for the overall ambience!). The interior is very nicely done in a clean and sober way that befits the old town house. There is plenty of space for the tables, so you are not rubbing your elbows against the other tables. My only complaint is that the lights were very bright, but probably they forgot to dim it on the evening we were there. All in all, a great experience. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Indiaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
146 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Haven't been to this resaturant in a couple of years and wow, what a surprise coming back. It used to be a bit oldfashioned but, they have been reborn as a modern/classic restaruant. It is located in an old townhouse with a modern/classic interiour in the centre of Rotterdam so the atmosphere is superb. They also have a great garden whihc i believe is very nice in the summertime. The food is a mix of different styles, good quality produce and this makes the food very interesting on a high level. Service is relaxed but, still formeel and knowledge is high. I will definetly come back more often, this is a great place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eirik2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Harmonie also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to De Harmonie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing