We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but slow ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nieuw Rotterdams Cafe

Nieuw Rotterdams Cafe
Reserve with
Nieuw Rotterdams Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #312 of 991 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Dutch, Bar, European, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice but slow ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

A nice venue in a convenient location. Beer good too.

But! Service slow, staff really rather dour and as I write this I've spent ten minutes trying to pay the bill.

And have not yet succeeded. Tempted to just walk as we have a table to get to.

Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    62
    41
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level Contributor
205 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Nice Café in a trendy street”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

A very pleasant experience in a warm august evening. Sitting outdoor vith a fresh beer and a juicy burger. All around nice people having fun. I definitely suggest this reastaurant café.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank br1xra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food in center of rotterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This restaurant has a modern style. The service was good and correct. I enjoyed my food (kalfsoester). With 6 people we get 3 little dishes with fries as side. Not most important item, but for the price a little bit disappointing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter1_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
171 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We went here with our little daughter for lunch on a Saturday and had a fine lunch consisting of the fish burger, the bread with eggplant and egg and the coconu curry soup. All three dishes were nice, especially the fishburger with wakame was very nice.

Prices are reasonable and the interior is slightly designy with nice attention to details without being over the top. It feels a little bit like a slightly trendier/smaller Dudok, which has a more retro feel (I think is owned by the same people).

It's located in the Witte de With straat, which is the foodstreet in Rotterdam and is one of the few streets which has a kind of old-timey feel to it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jie Yong K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great lunch, good cakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had lunch here and the next day we had coffee and cake. It is a nice place, friendly people and good food. Not to expensieve. On Sunday there was a live Jazz band, which was nice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rinkster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nieuw Rotterdams Cafe also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Nieuw Rotterdams Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing