We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast”
Review of Lof der Zoetheid

Lof der Zoetheid
Ranked #9 of 19 Dessert in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, Healthy
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Given that the restaurant is open Thursday to Sunday, we had to visit today (Sunday) as the restaurant came highly recommended to us. The restaurant is open concept and tastefully decorated. Initially, we wanted to order the high tea, but the waitress informed us that we had to have made a reservation prior - she did offer to ask the chef if we could be accommodated. We thanked her for her willingness to help, but decided to go with some of the other selections on the menu instead. We ordered the mint tea, which was refreshing as it was made with fresh mint sprigs. For our meal, we selected the spinach and feta quiche, as well as the lunch special (green pea soup, assorted cheese and meat, a variety of cream cheese, pickles, tomatoes, mushrooms, mackerel, and fresh bread). The food presentation was simple, yet pleasant. All of the food was fresh and delicious. We loved eating here and recommend it to everyone, just as it was recommended to us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveLouisV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    5
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Both sweet and savory are great”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I came here once for lunch and had a lovely lentilsoup, my dad had a sandwich with goatcheese that was amazing too.
Second time I came for only one thing: pie. And i got pie... Amazing lemon meringue that i have been dreaming of ever since.
I advice you visit and try the entire menu!

It does get busy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lieke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great fresh, tasty food, made with love”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My favorite place for a good breakfast or lunch. Lovely room with open kitchen where mother and daughter cook the greatest food ever. Scones with selfmade jam, quiches, cakes, pies, chocolates, all with surprising flavors and definitely made with a huge amount of love (and food knowledge!). Good and fast service, even if the place is stuffed with people.
A couple of tables outside (when the weather allows it), enough parking space (parking meters).
Location at Noordplein, which is part of an upcoming neighborhood with nice shops (like a hige kitchen supply store).
Best secret in Rotterdam!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A creative and delicious breakfast, lunch and coffee place, in a upcoming area”
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Located in oude noorden next to the kookwinkel its not the most expected location. Interior is creatively basic but has something unique. The cakes and other sweets are delicious and homemade, the coffee good and all served friendly. Be sure to visit the shops that are next to the water too. Also all creative and inspiring

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wilmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“lunch treat”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Full of locals, fresh produce and good coffee. The meatballs are superb

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kubilay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lof der Zoetheid also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Lof der Zoetheid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing