We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great apartment in a central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Residences Rotterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Urban Residences Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great apartment in a central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a lovely apartment block right in the centre of Rotterdam. You couldn't get more central. The studio apartment we had was beautifully appointed with great equipment levels. there was a lovely balcony and on the 13th floor we had a great view out over Rotterdam. Only small complaint would be that balcony furniture would be a nice addition.

You have to bear in mind that this is not a hotel so there are no hotel type services but as an apartment you get a lot of things you wouldn't get with a hotel so a kitchen, lounge etc.

We would certainly use this again and hope they open up in more cities - I think they are only here and in Maastricht at the moment.

Room Tip: Get as high as you can as the views just get better and better. Facing west is also good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyjames4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    34
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
56
61
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed inthe Penthouse suite of the Urban Residences Rotterdam. Robert was the young man who let us in to the place and to say that it was spacious and modern is an understatement. Both Rooms were well appointed with unbelievable views and modern amenities. The bathroom featured a full tub and shower and double vanity. Living room was massive and was connected to a dining area and modern kitchen with full sink, oven/microwave, dishwasher and fridge. It also convenniently located across the way from an Albert Heijn (supermarket) and Bank ATM. You are a short walk from the market area, Famed Cubic Houses and Oudehaven. Without a doubt one of the best places we have ever stayed. I highly recommend it to anyone who is going to be in Rotterdam for any length of time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marvelous_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed for a week in a 'deluxe apartment' - ie a standard apartment - on the 15th floor of this block. The good bits are: stunning views from this 'apartment in the sky', right in the heart of Rotterdam with every convenience on the doorstep; good quality fittings and furnishings; masses of space; supremely comfortable beds (probably the best in Rotterdam!); soundproofing. The bad bits are: foul smelling bathroom; poor or non-working air conditioning (cooling); indifferent cleaning - the main surfaces are spotless but there was muck, dust and gunk a plenty behind doors, around the furniture and along the skirtings and the windows were grubby with the fingermarks of (presumably) tiny tots! We cleaned the apartment ourselves before feeling comfortable enough to inhabit it for a week. This accommodation will very quickly become shabby and cheap looking (it's only been opened since last September) if more attention isn't paid to the small details of thorough cleaning between guest stays. No-one wants to live in someone else's mess! Other nuisances, but probably allowable ones, included no proper reception for weekend arrivals (we had to telephone a check in assistant on arrival at our own expense) and the continuing building works in the property. These apartments are a fabulous idea and much needed in Rotterdam, but the jury's out on this one and we'll see how things develop before booking again.

Room Tip: If you want to keep the place cool, choose the north east corner of the building if you can, as it c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Our family of four stayed for four nights on the 17th floor. The check-in with Robert was more than you would get with a 5 star hotel as he explained all the areas of interest for our stay. The location is one minute from the tram stop, two minutes from the supermarket, unfortunately for the bank balance only one minute from the fashion shops, and walking distance from the metro and central train station. The view from the 17th floor is superb, especially at night with all the lights. Rooms were spotless on arrival as if we were the first guests to use the apartment. Highly recommended stay in Rotterdam.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The apartment was stunning, we really liked the design & style. The views were great and the location was perfect (Right in the centre of Rotterdam with everything on your doorstep) but in all honesty the apartment wasn't as clean as you'd expect from this type of accomadation, and the cleaning service was infrequent, as the shower gel/shampoo was only good enough for one person, and it was never replaced once used, also I had to go looking for the cleaner as we didn't have any toilet roll, and again, it wasn't replaced!

Below is the email in which I had sent the Managing Director of Urban Residences, regarding a far more serious issue i.e not gaining access to our apartment.

***Please be advised, no security, or reception exist at these apartment, and they also shut from Friday-Monday so if you have a problem, you are basically on your own.

Please read

Hello

We stayed at apartment 228 from Wed-05th-Dec until Sat-08th-Dec

I hope the female member of your staff has explained what had happened to us in the early hours of Saturday morning. After going out for a night of entertainment, we decided to go back to our apartment, only to find out that non of our 3 keys would allow us access to the building! After 45 minutes, and discussions with the Police, luckily another resident had arrived so we could enter the building with her. We then made our way to the apartment, only to find that we could not gain access. we tried all 3 keys many times, but they would not work! One of the girls was very ill (Lady problems) and was extremely distressed, as we all were!
We tried for hours to gain access to the apartment, but with no success! Obviously after a night of eating and drinking, we were also desperate to use the toilet, which made the situation even worse. So I went downstairs and waited for some other residents to enter the building, I asked for their help and explained our situation. They also attempted to gain access to our apartment but again, with no success. They made the point that this is not the first time it has happened, and with no one working at the apartments its a serious problem. Fortunately they had a telephone number, and called someone in your office, who came later to eventually let us in.

When we first arrived at Urban residence, we were shown to our apartment, and the keys would not work then, so the women even had to get the technical staffs helps so we could enter the apartment.

We were not given contact numbers incase of an emergency, and it is completely unacceptable.

This evening ruined our holiday, we had no sleep because of the problem at your apartment (which made the situation even worse as I had to drive), and the stress it has caused is not acceptable!


We come for a holiday to relax and enjoy, and expect better from accommodation such as yours.


I would like to know what you will do about this?


Thank you


Luke Appleby

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Luke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed in the apartment 250 on the 19th floor for almost a week. It is located in the heart of city center. Fully equiped with the best appliances, floor heating, bed linen. Perfect, modern aesthetics and great city views from everywhere. That balcony mesmerized me and got my coffee there even when it had snowed a lot. I should stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChristinaLiveri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pawl Ta Targa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed in apartment 230 16th floor and the best word to describe it is "WOW". The view from every room in this corner apartment is amazing. The windows especially in the living area are huge and really take advantage of the breathtaking views. Even the bathroom has amazing views.

The places is really spacious and very modern. There is everything you could want from an apartment. A fully equipped and ultra modern kitchen, Flat screen TV's in every room and underfloor heating are all here. The place is really warm and comfortable.

It is located exactly in the best part of the City center surrounded by all the best shops and restaurants. Everything you could want is within easy walking distance.

Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrismifsud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 886 reviews
Cool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
#6 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,175 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#7 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#3 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 909 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#5 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Residences Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Residences Rotterdam

Property: Urban Residences Rotterdam
Address: Hennekijnstraat 104, 3012 EB Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Cool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Urban Residences Rotterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Urban Residences Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing