We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This one could go either way!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Urban Residences Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed for a week in a 'deluxe apartment' - ie a standard apartment - on the 15th floor of this block. The good bits are: stunning views from this 'apartment in the sky', right in the heart of Rotterdam with every convenience on the doorstep; good quality fittings and furnishings; masses of space; supremely comfortable beds (probably the best in Rotterdam!); soundproofing. The bad bits are: foul smelling bathroom; poor or non-working air conditioning (cooling); indifferent cleaning - the main surfaces are spotless but there was muck, dust and gunk a plenty behind doors, around the furniture and along the skirtings and the windows were grubby with the fingermarks of (presumably) tiny tots! We cleaned the apartment ourselves before feeling comfortable enough to inhabit it for a week. This accommodation will very quickly become shabby and cheap looking (it's only been opened since last September) if more attention isn't paid to the small details of thorough cleaning between guest stays. No-one wants to live in someone else's mess! Other nuisances, but probably allowable ones, included no proper reception for weekend arrivals (we had to telephone a check in assistant on arrival at our own expense) and the continuing building works in the property. These apartments are a fabulous idea and much needed in Rotterdam, but the jury's out on this one and we'll see how things develop before booking again.

Room Tip: If you want to keep the place cool, choose the north east corner of the building if you can, as it c...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
There are newer reviews for Urban Residences Rotterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 292 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

Our family of four stayed for four nights on the 17th floor. The check-in with Robert was more than you would get with a 5 star hotel as he explained all the areas of interest for our stay. The location is one minute from the tram stop, two minutes from the supermarket, unfortunately for the bank balance only one minute from the fashion shops, and walking distance from the metro and central train station. The view from the 17th floor is superb, especially at night with all the lights. Rooms were spotless on arrival as if we were the first guests to use the apartment. Highly recommended stay in Rotterdam.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The apartment was stunning, we really liked the design & style. The views were great and the location was perfect (Right in the centre of Rotterdam with everything on your doorstep) but in all honesty the apartment wasn't as clean as you'd expect from this type of accomadation, and the cleaning service was infrequent, as the shower gel/shampoo was only good enough for one person, and it was never replaced once used, also I had to go looking for the cleaner as we didn't have any toilet roll, and again, it wasn't replaced!

Below is the email in which I had sent the Managing Director of Urban Residences, regarding a far more serious issue i.e not gaining access to our apartment.

***Please be advised, no security, or reception exist at these apartment, and they also shut from Friday-Monday so if you have a problem, you are basically on your own.

Please read

Hello

We stayed at apartment 228 from Wed-05th-Dec until Sat-08th-Dec

I hope the female member of your staff has explained what had happened to us in the early hours of Saturday morning. After going out for a night of entertainment, we decided to go back to our apartment, only to find out that non of our 3 keys would allow us access to the building! After 45 minutes, and discussions with the Police, luckily another resident had arrived so we could enter the building with her. We then made our way to the apartment, only to find that we could not gain access. we tried all 3 keys many times, but they would not work! One of the girls was very ill (Lady problems) and was extremely distressed, as we all were!
We tried for hours to gain access to the apartment, but with no success! Obviously after a night of eating and drinking, we were also desperate to use the toilet, which made the situation even worse. So I went downstairs and waited for some other residents to enter the building, I asked for their help and explained our situation. They also attempted to gain access to our apartment but again, with no success. They made the point that this is not the first time it has happened, and with no one working at the apartments its a serious problem. Fortunately they had a telephone number, and called someone in your office, who came later to eventually let us in.

When we first arrived at Urban residence, we were shown to our apartment, and the keys would not work then, so the women even had to get the technical staffs helps so we could enter the apartment.

We were not given contact numbers incase of an emergency, and it is completely unacceptable.

This evening ruined our holiday, we had no sleep because of the problem at your apartment (which made the situation even worse as I had to drive), and the stress it has caused is not acceptable!


We come for a holiday to relax and enjoy, and expect better from accommodation such as yours.


I would like to know what you will do about this?


Thank you


Luke Appleby

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Luke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed in the apartment 250 on the 19th floor for almost a week. It is located in the heart of city center. Fully equiped with the best appliances, floor heating, bed linen. Perfect, modern aesthetics and great city views from everywhere. That balcony mesmerized me and got my coffee there even when it had snowed a lot. I should stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChristinaLiveri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed in apartment 230 16th floor and the best word to describe it is "WOW". The view from every room in this corner apartment is amazing. The windows especially in the living area are huge and really take advantage of the breathtaking views. Even the bathroom has amazing views.

The places is really spacious and very modern. There is everything you could want from an apartment. A fully equipped and ultra modern kitchen, Flat screen TV's in every room and underfloor heating are all here. The place is really warm and comfortable.

It is located exactly in the best part of the City center surrounded by all the best shops and restaurants. Everything you could want is within easy walking distance.

Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chrismifsud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

what a lovely apartment on the 16th floor we had with a wonderful view of the Euromast, Cube Houses, Pencil flat etc etc - very well equipped and spacious and in easy walking distance of Central Station, Blaak Station and everywhere else in the city. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: the apartment we had was very spacious and equipped - I am sure they all are.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adrianafallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Location- 5 stars
Price- 5 stars
Quality- 5 stars
If there are better serviced apartments than this around then please tell me! The quality of the fittings are top class. It has just opened and there were a few minor problems but you can forgive them as you can see this is purely teething troubles.
It is difficult to locate so get to the burger king in the centrum and it is directly behind it.

Room Tip: Choose the penthouse apartments for spectacular views of the city.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank infast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,342 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
786 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,225 reviews
Cool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Residences Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Residences Rotterdam

Address: Hennekijnstraat 104, 3012 EB Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Cool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Rotterdam
Price Range: $126 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Urban Residences Rotterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Urban Residences Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing