We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Cafe-Restaurant Rodin
Reserve with
Cafe-Restaurant Rodin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #64 of 1,051 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $35
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Cafe-Restaurant Rodin is in the heart of the center of Rotterdam. A timeless and sleek interior ensures an international appeal and allure. Enjoy your lunch or dinner in this accessible, stylish ambiance and classic restaurant, where the dishes are modern and wonderful with only the best fresh products. All dishes are made ​​from fresh ingredients from the best suppliers. In addition, the chef uses te best seasonal products.
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
712 reviews
494 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I was really looking forward to going to Rodin after reading so many good reviews on tripadvisor so I was pleased to see a groupon offer for 2 club sandwich for 14 euro instead of 30 so I purchased it for a friend of mine and I. We booked it for Saturday at 1 pm and the place was pretty much empty. The waitress was not unpleasant but not overly nice. Service took ages, we only had to choose from 6 club sandwiches so it couldn't take nearly 20 mins for us to make a choice. The food was excellent, I had the luxe sandwich with foie gras and black pudding and it was a great offer (paid 7 euro instead of 15) and my friend veggie sandwich was also tasty. The white wine was good but not excellent, again 3.75 eur for a glass was good value. I really wanted to give it 5* for the food and the atmosphere but the service was not on par. They tried to charge us an extra 9.20 euro when the groupon was fully paid for, they rectified their mistake but still it is not acceptable to spend one and a half hour in a café for 2 club sandwiches. It maybe was because we were not paying full price but I think all customers should be treated equally.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LOLANetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    101
    17
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food & exceptional service”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We wandered past this restaurant in the afternoon & like the look of the menu - particularly the 26 euro 3 course daily special so we returned for dinner. The meal was a herring, beetroot & granny smith apple salad, followed by steak with handcut chips & a pear sorbet, rhubarb compote & cake dessert. When we mentioned to the waiter that we (visitors from Australia) had tried herring for the first time the day before & really liked it, he produced an extra fillet to go with our salad. A lovely touch.

The service here was some of the best we have ever experienced. The two waiters were so friendly & helpful. They treated us like we were well-known regulars when we were tourists who had walked in off the street. I could see that they were just as friendly & attentive with all the other diners too. It is well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Restful and tasty break !”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Heard about their Club sandwiches and wanted to test, had the classical one, excellent with fresh and very tasty products, added their home made fries, perfect... after so many kms by foot to enjoy Rotterdam by a sunny day.
Delightful welcome, peaceful decor and music

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fabien_voyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice new venue”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Rodin is a newcomer in de Witte de Withstraat but a good one! Try the truffel vélouté, it's wonderful. Nice people, nice place, good food. Good place to take your parents for example, like I did :)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Annika V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect for both lunch and dinner!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I love this place! I've been there a couple of times this year for both lunches and dinners. Food is delicious, the wines are great and service is excellent. The waiters make sure you have the best experience possible, are extremely helpful and they surprise you with their attentiveness. These are people who love what they do and are all about the details. The cherry on the cake: the excellent value for money! It can't get any better than that!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OiverM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe-Restaurant Rodin also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe-Restaurant Rodin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing