We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Common Be-atch”
Review of Burgertrut

Burgertrut
Ranked #215 of 1,028 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No Common Be-atch”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Tucked away in this upcoming trendy shoppingstreet, the Meent, Burger trut is somewhat of a mismatch, you would think. I went to check out this odd looking place in 2011, then called Roodkapje ( Red Riding Hood ) on my first date. A risk, I know. But the whole idea of creating a venue with no money but using other peoples old junk intrigued me. The date went fine, we are still together and came back several times. The interior reminds me of grandma's place with big curvy lampshades, small flowerplants on a saucer in the windows and uncomfortable wooden chairs you only find in ancient churches. The open kitchen serves organic and vegetarian dishes, most burgers. Big juicy, honest good tasting burgers. Cheap too. Their organic juices, wines etc...also good and cheap. All together an interesting place for when you want something else and on a budget. The restaurant is part of an artistic initiative called Roodkapje, that uses the whole building for creative events. They renamed this little restaurant to Burger Trut to not confuse guests. Burger Trut is a Dutch expression for a common boring be-atch with pretentions.
Oh, in summer they have a small terrace outside.
And make sure you are NOT in a hurry when its busy. The nice people take their time. And you probably bring your smartphone anyway! If you do, shut it down and enjoy some live chatting :-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Littl3Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    28
    21
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quirky, tasty burgers. A Berlin atmosphere.”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I love coming here. The hamburgers are very good and fresh/quirky/quaint/unique. The place reminds me a bit of Berlin. This is a restaurant which you could see there too.
Also, the prices are really modest. Ordering a burger, 1 side dish and something to drink should cost you no more than €15. Value for money!
Be sure to try the Huppel de Purple (with a beetroot chutney) or the more ordinary Texas Cheese Massacre. For those of you with a love for cheese.
It used to have a venue next door for cool bands and art expos, which moved to the Teilingerstraat (no. 128).
Altogether, the best (in my opinion) hamburger restaurant in the Netherlands. Or at least the quirkiest.
Opening hours are Tuesday from 17.00 to 22.00h,
Wednesday-Saturday from 11.30 to 22.00h,
Sunday from 14.00 to 22.00h.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing hamburgers”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I am a hamburger lover and i am always looking for new places that make hamburgers. Burger Trut is a cute little restaurant that makes amazing food. I have been there twice with a friend of mine and both time we have enjoyed delicious burgers.
If you have a craving for a yummy burger for a very affordable price, then you need to visit Burger Trut.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Asia G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

BurgerTrut is right in the center of Rotterdam, located in the always pleasant Meent streat. We had lunch here in february. We had the two burgers with the organic meat, but they actually have more vegetarian burgers, with a sidedish of coleslaw, potatoe, carrot cheesecake and the sweet potatoe soup. The burgers were OK, though smaller than a big mac, but filling none the less. The coleslaw was not bad, the potatoe really a bit too small for an oven potatoe and not enough filling, the cheesecake was fine and the potatoe soup was good. Of course the biggest disappointment for our kids was the lack of frites on the menu.

The place is industrially decorated. It reminded me of some of the more off the beat places you find in smaller villages with a back packy vibe complete with picknick tables. Not too bad, unfortunately it is not priced accordingly, it is priced to its location.

In february you best keep your coat on while sitting near the windows, since there is no heating and the entrance is not separated from you table by any kind of divide. I guess it just adds to the backpacky vibe.

Personally if you are in that location and looking for a burger with meat I'd go to Dudok (which is sligtly diagonally across it or the Mac if you want to spend less which is 2 minutes walk the other directioon), if you like vegetarian and don't mind missing frites BurgerTrut is fine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jie Yong K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hipster restaurant with a nice sign but food only average.”
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant downstairs was full so we had to sit upstairs which is basically the extraction fan area for the kitchen. Was smokey and we left smelling like burgers. There is a whole room next to the downstairs which is wasted with a ping pong table which doesn't make sense. Service was ok, nothing amazing. The menu sounds better than what you get on your plate. I suggest they improve the buns they use as this would improve the food. Atmosphere is quite charming but the food needs to be excellent in order to achieve the same success as some of the quirky eateries that London offers, which this place is attempting to imitate. My suggestion for burgers in Rotterdam is Bagel Burgers and Bakery on witte de with straat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaffaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burgertrut also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Burgertrut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing