We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked most of the dim sum”
Review of Grand Garden

Grand Garden
Ranked #105 of 1,023 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
215 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“We liked most of the dim sum”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Went here on a Saturday and it was quite busy. Lots of Asians eating there, which is always a good sign in these places. They first wanted to put us in the corner where the wardrobe is, there were lots of strollers and stuff in this area of the restaurant, which made it kind of messy. When we told them we would not sit there, they reluctantly gave us another table (and made us move to yet another table later on). We ordered quite a lot dim sum and some of the portions turned out to be quite large, so we had far too much food. Luckily, you can take-away leftovers.

We had:
- fried shrimp dumplings: good
- vegetarian fried noodles: good, little bit oily
- pancakes of rice with shrimp: disappointment, very few shrimp pieces, flavour of the rice-pancakes bland - and you get a lot of these!
- squid spicy sauce: good
- chive dumplings: good
- steamed shrimp dumplings: good
- seaweed shrimp roll: tasty
- black sesame cakes: interesting, good

For this and drinks (water and tea) we paid about 40 Euro's in total.

I liked the food and they also have a section on the menu with vegetarian dim sum (a plus for me), but the staff (most of them anyway) and atmosphere can be better.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beriha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    40
    16
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
477 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Good Peking Duck!”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I lacked a good restaurant for eating Peking Duck in Rotterdam and found one back! Paramount has an impressive menu for dim sum, seafood and Peking Duck. Service is friendly and efficient. Atmosphere is okay. Will come back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeKokkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not Bad but not special”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The best of this restaurant, located inside the NH Atlanta hotel are the operationsl schedules: the kitchen is open until 23h. The Good is ok, but just any other standard chinese

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jordi_of_Barcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Decent yum cha”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went here with a friend who had been before and said the place was pretty good for yum cha. It was a mid-week afternoon so it was pretty quiet. Food was brought out quickly and tasted good. It had all the standard dishes and an additional delight, the durian pastries. Loved them! Good yum cha session.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JIG80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delicious typical authentic Chinese supper in Europe.”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

During our visit to Rotterdam, we like to sample Chinese food as a rule to compare all the Chinese restaurants all over the world. We were not disappointed. The fresh steamed fish was delicious since Rotterdam is a seaport and easy to have the catch of the day. The BBQ meat dish was very tasty. The staff was friendly and the service was excellent. We have a table of six adults with different taste buds. We all agreed on our above standard review.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilfred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Garden also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Grand Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing