We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen

Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen
Book In Advance
$62*
and up
Private Tour: Rotterdam Walking Tour Including Harbor Cruise
Ranked #6 of 162 things to do in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

BVB has an excellent collection spanning more than half a millineum, but is not so large as to become overwhelming. I especially liked the early van Gogh's.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    277
    56
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“lovely museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

It has a really nice collection! It is a due going there if you are in Rotterdam. The building is also interesting to visit in itself

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank fabio1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of my favorites!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

And I am a museum snob! Really nice mix of contemporary, the old guard, and everything in between...really sweet Bosch piece! Strong focus on design (what I call the Dutch national past time) both classic and more contemporary conceptual design. Great staff...I had been trying to find out why another museum was closed when they were supposed to be open, and the staff person called for me to find out (as my Dutch is non existent).

Really a must see, and one of my favorite museums ever! GO! Also, it's located in a cute artsy neighborhood with many yummy looking restaurants and bars!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank talloneish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
638 reviews
499 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
“Recommend unreservedly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

There are superb paintings on display here, covering the ages from old up to 20th century moderns. Early on the multimedia guide gives a intriguing account of the story of Van Meegeren’s Fake Vermeers.

It was great to see such classics as Bosch’s The Pedlar and Brueghel’s Tower of Babel, amongst many others.

The Surrealism selection is outstanding. Dali is represented, as is Max Ernst with his marvellous Le Couple. The highlight for us was Rene Magritte with his imaginative Red Boot, Not to be Reproduced and the juxtaposition of unlikely objects on an isolated dirt track.

There are many more works from the last century including some by Kandinsky and Picasso.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank permia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“nice museum.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This museum, located in the centre of the city, is worth visiting for.
Their collection is iteresting, the documentation is clear and extend, easy passage and to get there is not a problem.
I enjoyed their art and the different centuries of it and I can recommend a visit to this museum to everyone.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing