We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“One of my favorites!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen

Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen
Book In Advance
$501.93*
and up
Private Guided Tour of Rotterdam City Center and Boijmans Museum with Art...
Ranked #6 of 169 things to do in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of my favorites!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

And I am a museum snob! Really nice mix of contemporary, the old guard, and everything in between...really sweet Bosch piece! Strong focus on design (what I call the Dutch national past time) both classic and more contemporary conceptual design. Great staff...I had been trying to find out why another museum was closed when they were supposed to be open, and the staff person called for me to find out (as my Dutch is non existent).

Really a must see, and one of my favorite museums ever! GO! Also, it's located in a cute artsy neighborhood with many yummy looking restaurants and bars!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank talloneish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    301
    62
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
711 reviews
546 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 564 helpful votes
“Recommend unreservedly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

There are superb paintings on display here, covering the ages from old up to 20th century moderns. Early on the multimedia guide gives a intriguing account of the story of Van Meegeren’s Fake Vermeers.

It was great to see such classics as Bosch’s The Pedlar and Brueghel’s Tower of Babel, amongst many others.

The Surrealism selection is outstanding. Dali is represented, as is Max Ernst with his marvellous Le Couple. The highlight for us was Rene Magritte with his imaginative Red Boot, Not to be Reproduced and the juxtaposition of unlikely objects on an isolated dirt track.

There are many more works from the last century including some by Kandinsky and Picasso.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank permia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“nice museum.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This museum, located in the centre of the city, is worth visiting for.
Their collection is iteresting, the documentation is clear and extend, easy passage and to get there is not a problem.
I enjoyed their art and the different centuries of it and I can recommend a visit to this museum to everyone.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
675 reviews
499 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Terrific museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

It seems Rotterdam is populated by nice and friendly English-speakers. Everyone we approached -- from the train station to the museum -- were well-natured and helpful. Stopping by a firetruck to ask for directions resulted in the entire team of firemen explaining how to get there :))
The museum beats all expectations. It's not as famous as those of Amsterdam and Hague, as a matter of fact, it's mentioned in Rick Steve's as a non-event, but for a regional museum it's just excellent. Rembrandt, Rubens, Hals, Breugel, Bosch, Van Gogh, Monet, Pissarro, Munch, Magritte, and sculptures by Dali this is just a partial list of their collection. And their roped checkroom is very innovative too. Besides it's a pleasant 15-minute walk from the impressive, modern train station.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Gallery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Everything you could possibly want to keep you entertained for hours. Covering the full range of artistic styles, from medieval paintings by Hieronymus Bosch to modern realist sculpture, this really is a fantastic gallery.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank airwalk35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing