We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Zuid
Ranked #40 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This is a small to medium sized hotel , their greatest asset is their staff, they are warm and friendly.
I ate in the restaurant very good watch out for the big portions.
Nice range of beer and wine
Great to have free Wi-Fi rare for a Dutch hotel
I had a good peaceful night’s sleep which is what we all need on business

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russellh731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Zuid, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.
I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Rotterdam.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 173 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2011

I have just come back from 2 weeks in Rotterdam where I visited my husband who is working over there for a month. We stayed at the Bastion as that is where his company has all their staff staying. The hotel is out of the city, definately not walking distance, costs between 21 - 25 euro by taxi from Rotterdam central. But it is convenient to the industrial areas of Rotterdam, hence there are a lot of workers, mostly men, staying here. The hotel room was clean, smallish by Australian standards, about the size of a normal 3 star motel. There were two single beds, the hotel doesn't have any rooms with double or queen size beds. The bathroom has a shower, basin and toilet. There is a bench in the main area with a small bar fridge, flat screen TV with loads of channels, CNN etc. also free wifi in the rooms. Downstairs there is a gym which only has 3 pieces of cardio equipment, the instructions are all in Dutch so good luck trying to program them! (just push the green quick start button!) There is also a large dining room, bar and a free internet station. The staff were helpful if there was any problems. I was a bit disappointed with the Tea & Coffee making facilities in the room. There were no china drinking cups or glasses provided. Only two very small paper cups, 2 small plastic spoons, 2 sachets of coffee, 2 sachets of creamer etc.per day, plastic drinking cups and plastic wine cups were provided. This might be standard in Europe, I can't say, but it wouldn't happen in Oz. We ate some meals in the dining room which were nice, not a large menu but the food was good. However as an alternative there is another restaurant closeby, Heeren Van Charlois, which is really lovely. It has very comfortable chairs, great atmosphere, good food & wine and a charming host who is very attentive. There is also a Macdonalds across the road (if you want to eat crap). There is also a supermarket about 10 minutes walk away which is very convenient, we bought a jar of coffee and milk etc.
A big downside for me or anyone staying here for a vacation, was the location but as my husband was there for work I had no choice. However I overcame this by asking the staff about the public transport system in Rotterdam and then doing my own research on the internet, and figured out that I could catch a bus closeby to hotel to the Slinge Metro station, then catch the train (one leaves every 5 minutes) into the city. I did this most days and can say I felt perfectly safe, although I didn't use it at night so I can't vouch for safety then. If you do decide to do this, ask the bus driver for a 2 hour pass, 3.50 euro, this allows you to travel on the bus, train and trams for 2 hours. The Slinge Metro station is also within walking distance of the hotel, about 25 minutes, if you prefer to walk. Rotterdam has lots of museums and interesting places to visit and amazing shopping in the city! It is definately worth a visit. One tip though, if you go to the tourist info centre, grab one of their maps of the walking tour of the city but also buy a proper map of Rotterdam to get your bearings.

Room Tip: We were in the deluxe room, but I don't know what the difference is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shino1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Modern hotel, situated in the outskirts of Rotterdam, close to many business areas of the city.
My room was clean, and there was a free wifi. Great breakfast.
Will stay again.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
Thank TomasBillik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights, just really for sleeping didn’t really use much of the facilities. It’s on the southern outskirts of the city

The hotel is fairly modern with an open ground floor providing a bar and restaurant area that doubles up for breakfast. It’s pleasant and simple, but not five star. Check in/out was fine, I was upgraded to an executive room but it looked the same as a normal room in other hotels so it may be the normal rooms are smaller and less equipped. I had flat screen TV, mini bar, walk in shower and free wifi throughout the hotel. There is a small gym with what looks like four pieces of equipment on the ground floor.

Plenty of parking, next to a busy road but my room was round the back and sound proofed so didn’t notice, petrol station over the road and McDonalds next door if it takes your fancy. Nothing else of note in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julianp-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

The Bastion hotel is one of a chain, the hotel in Rotterdam is fairly new. Rooms are small but adequate,two separate beds, free Wifi in the room, friendly and efficiënt check-in and -out.
Breakfast is good, dinner average. It is a pity that the smoking lounge is situated next to the restaurant, and the door is usually left open so you can smell the smoke in the restaurant. I got up several times to close the door, but the smokers going in and out left the door open.
The hotel is located close to Ahoy Exhibition center, takes only 5 minutes by car to gewt there.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cor v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

I was meant to be staying in the hotel for 3 weeks and ended up staying just one night. The hotel is located on a main road near an industrial estate and might be ok if you have a car. I did not have a car as arrived from England for work and there were no shops within walking distance and no pavements/sidewalks to walk on anyway.

The restaurant has a good selection but the staff are not friendly. I ordered vegetarian lasagne but was brought a beef lasagne. I am vegetarian and so was lucky i checked before eating any. When i informed the waiter he did not seem interested but i asked to see the chef to replace it and they did apologise. However it was then another 30 mins before i got any food. After this the staff ignored me and i had to go to the bar to ask for a drink! The restaurant still wanted to charge for this meal and it was only when i complained the next day to the manager that i got a refund.

The hotel was also half empty but when i asked the receptionist for an extra pillow or a larger room I was told they did not have any spare. The bathroom was very basic and the shower curtain was dirty and towels were very small and old.

As this was all unacceptable to me - I checked out after 1 day and moved to a city centre hotel for the same price but a much better qualtiy and value hotel.
I

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andreab1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank EdwinCornelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
4.1 mi away
Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Barendrecht
6.4 mi away
Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Alexander
4.6 mi away
Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark
Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark
#10 of 53 in Rotterdam
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Rotterdam
Hotel Rotterdam
#26 of 53 in Rotterdam
467 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Rotterdam Airport Hotel
2.6 mi away
Art Hotel Rotterdam
Art Hotel Rotterdam
#42 of 53 in Rotterdam
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Zuid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Zuid

Address: Driemanssteeweg 5 | Hoek Groene Kruisweg, 3084 CA Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range: $75 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Zuid 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotels stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Zuid offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. For relaxation and a nice ending of the day guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an lcd television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also has free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Since February 2010 the hotel is fully air conditioned and has a fitness area. Location / accessibility Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Zuid is a comfortable three star hotel in the South of Rotterdam, situated on the A-15. The hotel is well accessible by car and it has a good connection with event hall Ahoy. The centre of the city has a good accessibility by car or public transportation also. The city of Rotterdam offers architecture which is very impressive. The beautiful dock city may call itself "City of architecture 2007" Rooms The 147 comfortable rooms in the hotel are equipped with two twin beds, a television, a telephone, a modem, airconditioning, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. Food & Beverage At Bastion Hotel Zuid guests can enjoy an extensive continental breakfast buffet, on weekdays from 06.00 Till 09.00 And in weekends from 07.00 Till 10.30. The atmospheric hotel is opened from 11.00 Till 23.00 For lunch and diner. When guests have a very busy schedule they can ask the hotel staff about the possibilities for a lunch package. The cozy hotel bar is opened till 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Zuid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing