We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will not be going back.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of New Ocean Paradise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Ocean Paradise
london
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“I will not be going back.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Booked into this hotel by my company.Reasonable well positioned on a dock adjacent to a park and very close to the Euromast. Sadly that’s all the positive points I could find. No free car park some 4 euros a hour to park outside.The hotel occupies the second floor along with a Chinese restaurant..The ground floor being a Chinese supermarket and a buffet Chinese restaurant. Not surprisingly the whole building had a odor of Chinese food.
The hotel corridors were used to store restaurant tables and chairs.The rooms had long passed their best and were badly in need of refurbishment.They were a reasonable size.TV picture was poor,air con did not work, moldy shower curtain,toilet paper stuffed in cracks in the wall,a shower cap over the smoke detector and a window that did not open.General cleanliness poor.
Luckily I arrived on a Sunday just in time to be kept awake by the karaoke night in the restaurant on the ground floor.No need to set a alarm the fast ferry comes past about once a hour and remind you that you are on a floating hotel.
Breakfast, continental style best avoided, ham and cheese looked as they had been there for several weeks.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank worldseeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruud E, General Manager at New Ocean Paradise, responded to this review, June 2, 2015
Dear Woldseeer,

Thank you kindly for your honest feedback. 2 years after you have stayed with us we have undertaken a lot of changes for the better of the hotel.

Car parking:

Free after 18:00 – 9:00, otherwise it is € 3,33 per hour.

Asian food odour:

This is still correct however it is only in the common areas such as the lobby. The hotel rooms are free of peculiar smells.
Upkeep of hotel:

It still needs bits and pieces; we are planning a major renovation to be carried out in 2015.

Karaoke nights:

Sadly not any longer. Peace and quiet is what you get when staying in one of our rooms.

Free breakfast:

Selection of freshly baked Bread and Croissants
Jams, confitures, marmalade and other sweet spreads
Sliced meats & Cheeses
Yoghurts & Milk
Cornflakes
Cookies
Tea, Coffee, Cappucino
Variety of 100% natural juices
Fresh Fruit
Fresh cooked eggs

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    0
    6
    12
See reviews for
1
8
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 days in June 2012. All in all this hotel provides the service for the money, except there were a number of annoyances which made my staying quite disappointing.

The hotel is located right above the Chinese restaurant, and the cooking smell was all over the place, apparently the kitchen extractor was broken. At the time Euro 2012 was taking place, and the Chinese staff were cheering loudly in the lobby not very far from my room. Bathroom fixtures, cups and a kettle in my room were all quite old and scuffed.

The most disappointing bit though is that my deposit sum haven't been returned to me despite a 25-emails-long thread of questions answering and receipts scanning due to a receptionist mistake apparently. :(

Nobody there speaks reasonably good English, by the way.

Peter V.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotterdam hotels

York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

just had a couple of days at hotel enjoyed every minute of it,the room was clean and toileties were good (aloe vera)in the bathroom.jasmine tea for making tea facilities ,silk duvets were very cosy .please remember this is a 3* hotel not 4or 5 and the cost and facilities reflect this ,the staff were very pleasant although the language barrier was a bit tricky as they are mostly chinese so please be patient Breakfast was continental and with ample choice .the resturant is brilliant and this reflected in the fact that it was very busy even on a tuesday night.. If you like cooking chinese the supermaket on the boat is a must its brilliant. across the road is a lovely park to walk in, as the hotel is a little way out of the centre we got a three day tram pass ,so went all over by tram sight seeing .altogether a lovely hotel on a boat. Yes we will stay there again made very welcome it was very intresting

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruud E, General Manager at New Ocean Paradise, responded to this review, June 2, 2015
Dear Jane S,

Thank you for your positive review, very nice to read that you’ve had a pleasant stay with us. It seems to me that you knew exactly what to expect from a Chinese hotel. We hope to see you again soon, you are more than welcome.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

The hotel, and the rooms were disgusting - I have never stayed in worse accomodation in all my life!! This is a place homeless people stay!!

Who ever gave this hotel 3 stars was crazy, it's not even worth half a star.....

No internet & there is not even a outside phone line available.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank craigsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruud E, General Manager at New Ocean Paradise, responded to this review, June 2, 2015
Dear Craigsean,

Thank you for your honest feedback. Sadly we cannot satisfy all of our guests and in this case this holds very much true. Perhaps something positive to conclude, we do have free wifi nowadays….

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

We chose it because of the wonderful location and its novelty. It was easy to find and exotic, with a Chinese supermarket on the ground floor and two huge restaurants. The public areas were dirty, the staff charming. Our room was clean with immaculate white cotton bedding, but it smelled strongly of cigarette smoke and the smoke alarm was covered with a plastic bag! The decor and furnishing were worn out, but the shower was excellent. We listened to Karaoke and doors slamming til 2.15 The buffet restaurant was really good, the breakfast very poor. Overall, it was an experience I would not have missed, but it would not appeal to a lot of people. Good for stag and hen nights I should think

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAYOBSERVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruud E, General Manager at New Ocean Paradise, responded to this review, June 2, 2015
Dear Layobserver,

Very nice to read that you found it a memorable experience. We are indeed somewhat different than other hotels. Especially now, with an all you can eat/drink restaurant, Asian supermarket and large Chinese specialty restaurant. We are out to give you a near Chinese experience in Europe.
You’ve seen the good, the bad and the ugly. Very similar to Asia for that matter.

Stag and hen parties are more than welcome; we will ensure you a night/weekend you won’t forget.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

The hotel, and the rooms were disgusting, it states that the rooms get cleaned every day - absolutely rubbish - I have never stayed in worse accomodation in all my life!! the Dutch older guy on reception was quite helpful and they ordered us a taxi - that is the only thing potitive I can say about this place. You get complimentary slippers - you will need them as you wouldn't like to walk on the carpets!! No matter how deperate - do not stay in this hotel. Every room is needing done - even if it is with a bottle of bleach!! My friends in the next room got a complimentary smilie face drawn on the dirt in the window. I will add photos soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coatsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruud E, General Manager at New Ocean Paradise, responded to this review, June 2, 2015
Dear Coatsie,

I am happy to read that you enjoyed my presence, sadly that I was the only positive point in your stay. I apologise for the state of our rooms, even when reading back upon the review it is cringe worthy. We are planning a major renovation to deal with the cleanliness issue once and for all.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

I stayed at the New Ocean Paradise hotel for three nights in July with my boyfriend. We booked late on the web and thought it would be fun to stay in that kitschy place, and it wasn't too expensive for a 3 star hotel either. But we weren't that happy about it afterwards.

The location is very nice, on the water, by the Euromast and the lovely Het Park and close to the Kunsthal. It also looks fun. But the room was not very clean and very worn out. The bedsheets were crisp clean on arrival, but they didn't change them if we didn't put them on the floor.

We had a non-smoking room, but a strong smell from cigarettes entered the room frequently (probably from the hall or through the ventilation). The walls were also very thin and you could hear almost everything from the room next door. Also, the breakfast was more or less a continental one, but in not very good shape.

On the plus-side were the beds which were very hard and comfortable, the staff who were very friendly and the small freebies we recieved: slippers, complimentary tea, toothbrush, soap etcetera.

To sum it up, it was ok, but I wouldn't stay there again. I would probably choose a cleaner place closer to the city's heart.

  • Liked — The look, the location, the beds and the complementary gifts.
  • Disliked — The smell of cigarettes, the not-so-cleanliness, the breakfast.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kanin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruud E, General Manager at New Ocean Paradise, responded to this review, June 2, 2015
Dear Kanin1,

I am glad to read that you’ve had a nice weekend in Rotterdam. Moreover that you enjoyed the convenience of our location close to the Park and the Euromast. And in addition that you liked the friendliness of our staff.

We have accumulated many reviews addressing the cleanliness of our hotel. And I am happy to say that anno 2015 we are planning a major renovation to our rooms. This will enable a better and enhanced guest experience. The walls however are not as thick as regular walls since the hotel is basically a boat. Therefore it will be a bit noisier at times.

Again, thanks for the feedback and apologies for the late response.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
nhow Rotterdam
#8 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 992 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 896 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#7 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#5 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#3 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Ocean Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Ocean Paradise

Property: New Ocean Paradise
Address: Parkhaven 21, 3016 GM Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Nieuwe Werk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Ocean Paradise 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ni Hao! Searching for an Asian experience in the heart of Rotterdam, look no further! This beautiful landmark hotel hosts incredible views of the famous river the Maas. Very large rooms are the ideal base for a city trip and to relax after a day of fun. New Ocean Paradise is a jack of all trades as the venue also has an Asian supermarket and all you can eat restaurant on board. The Asian Floating hotel is an ideal base to go out and explore Rotterdam, a world city that is host to beautiful architecture with contemporary design. We are conveniently situated in the centre west side of the port city. A small walk to the tram will get you to the city centre in about 8 minutes. It is only a 2 minutes’ walk to the Euromast, and 3 minutes to a large city park often host to spectacular (free) festivals. Visiting a concert at Ahoy? You won’t find anything closer; we are only situated 15 minutes away. Contemplating your next move in our world city? Use our free WIFI while enjoying the complimentary breakfast. Our staff speaks Chinese, English and sometimes a little Dutch. They will help making it a trip you won’t forget! See you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your New Ocean Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing