We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine, as long as you don't mind the cigar smoke”
Review of Hotel Breitner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Breitner
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Reviewed July 22, 2007

A decent enough small hotel, but for the fact the proprietor smokes those little cigars all day (and probably has done so for years) and so the smell of cigars permeates the rooms, even rooms he has probably never entered! On the plus side, it was a great value for a Rotterdam hotel during the North Sea Jazz Festival -- it seemed to be the only hotel in Rotterdam that did not double its rates! Good location for getting anywhere in Rotterdam as well. Remarkably quiet considering it is right behind Niewe Binnenweg and the bars there. But the memory that will stay with me is the cigar smoke smell.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Torontotrident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 148 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2007

Spartan. Dormitory. Quiet. Gezellige. No free lunch here.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MaxHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2006

The Breitner was a very nice hotel, in an ideal location, and I'd certainly stay here again. The hotel is located in a fairly bustling area, close to Rotterdam University, but it's hidden away in a quiet sidestreet and the rooms are therefore brilliantly quiet at night. Walking to the Central train station takes around 20 minutes and the whole city centre is easily accessible on foot, so you don't even have to worry about using the Metro (although there's a stop just around the corner if you'd rather).

The hotel itself is very clean, with friendly and helpful staff, although the rooms are a bit on the small side. It's certainly worth getting up for breakfast, which consists of a decent continental-style buffet of cereals, bread, ham and cheese - but with the addition of a boiled or fried egg. Also, my room had a safe and a large ceiling fan - and the television even got BBC One!

Aside from the minor complaint about room size, I really can't fault this hotel. Its location is excellent, around the corner from some lovely restaurants and bars but down a quiet residential street, and the service and cleanliness were both spot on.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2004

The Breitner is a short walk (15 min) from Central Station, or take Tram 4 with a stop round the corner. One of the best points about this hotel is that it is quiet! I've stayed in a few hotels in Rotterdam and most are alongside busy roads, this one is in a residential side street.

Rooms are spacious for the price. Decor dated but clean with a good sized bathroom and balcony. Good bar. Excellent buffet breakfast in the conservatory attached to the bar. Relaxing environment. Only downside about my particular room was the mattresses were a bit on the spongy side.

They do food as well though didn't try it as there are a few good eateries in the surrounding area.

Overall good value for money and recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pictish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2004

This is a very reasonably priced city centre hotel with excellent facilities and a warm welcome.

I have stayed at the Hotel Breitner four times during 2004, although my partner has been using this particular hotel for the past four years. Each time we stay, we have a warm welcome from the owners as well as the evening staff, whom we have made friends with. We travel over quite frequently to visit my partner's son, who lives nearby.

The hotel is pleasantly situated near the centre of Rotterdam and we always book a garage for our car as there is no free parking in Rotterdam, there is a small additional charge for this.

The room is always spotlessly clean, with freshly laundered sheets and towels each day. We usually have a large double bed with a single bed for my partner's son. The shower room is fully tiled and has a supply of liquid soap/shampoo. There is a (free) TV in the room, a desk and chair as well as wardrobe and usually a settee which can be made in to an extra bed if required. One addition could be coffee and tea making facilities in each bedroom. There is a lift available to all floors, the stairs can be quite steep!

We have always been given a room facing the front, the whole of the end wall is a window overlooking the quiet side street. Ceiling fans can be used in warm weather, there are central heating radiators in the rooms for cool weather.

Breakfast is a choice of cereals/yogurt/fruit with bread/toast/crackers, sliced meats and cheese, tomatoes, fruit bread, jams, marmalades, orange juice/tea/coffee. If having tea, though, be aware, the Dutch like to drink weak black tea flavoured with sugar! If you are like me, and fancy a 'proper British-cuppa' then ask for two teabags, the pots are kept warm on small burners on each table, a nice effect. You are also offered a choice of eggs to accompany the ham and cheese, a hearty breakfast. Don't expect a fry-up.

The hotel has a bar which seems to stay open quite late. The local beer is fine and the bar has a well stocked whisky selection with over 260 varieties on offer (but as yet, no Welsh whisky!) Snacks and light meals can be ordered from thr night staff, either to be eaten in the bar or to be taken upstairs to the room.

The Hotel can seem quite busy, with a lot of people arriving throughout the night but this has never been a problem for us, our room has been quiet, there is no street noise.

I would recommend the Hotel Breitner to any traveller who needs a comfortable, clean, centrally-located room in the heart of Rotterdam.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carmen63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank Sylvie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ik kan niet vergelijk. Wij hadden een kamer op de eerste verdieping, uitkijkend op de straat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MirjamuitUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Oude Westen
Hotel van Walsum
Hotel van Walsum
#22 of 53 in Rotterdam
284 reviews
Oude Westen
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#17 of 53 in Rotterdam
203 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
H2OTEL Rotterdam
H2OTEL Rotterdam
#16 of 53 in Rotterdam
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 53 in Rotterdam
846 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Euro Hotel Centrum
Euro Hotel Centrum
#44 of 53 in Rotterdam
186 reviews
Hotel Rotterdam
#26 of 53 in Rotterdam
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Breitner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breitner

Address: Breitnerstraat 23, 3015 XA Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Oude Westen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range: $81 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Breitner 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Rotterdam This charming hotel is situated in a quiet yet central part of Rotterdam, just 1 km from Rotterdam Central Station and a 5 minutes walk from the city centre. Metro, tram and bus stop Eendrachtsplein is 3 minutes and bus stop Breitnerstraat is 2 minutes on foot. Hotel Breitner has free high-speed Wi-Fi throughout all of its rooms, a 24-hour front desk and offers private on-site parking for a fee. All rooms are carpeted, decorated in wooden decor and have double-glass windows. They feature a flatscreen-TV, desk and Laptop-size Safe. The rooms come with a private bathroom fitted with a toilet and a bath or shower. A breakfast buffet is offered every morning including freshly baked breads, bacon, eggs and a broad range of meats, spreads, fruit and cereals. You can relax in the lounge with a newspaper provided daily by the hotel or enjoy a variety of drinks at Hotel Breitners' bar which takes pride in a broad collection of whiskey's. Laundry and ironing services is provided by the hotel at an extra fee. Many sites, like the Museum park, Euromast, Markethall and the Cube houses are accessible on foot from Hotel Breitner. It is 10 minutes on foot to the Maritime and Harbour Museums. From Eendrachtsplein, it is 10 minutes by metro to concert hall Ahoy. Main shopping areas De Koopgoot and the Coolsingel are a 10-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Breitner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breitner Hotel Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing