We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Central
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Regular visit to Rotterdam - normally stay in the inntel hotel (which is excellent)
Decided to take a deal on this place as it was cheap. Its got a great bar and the location is spot on.
Bed was clean, bathroom was clean. The hotel has probably needed a renovation for about twenty years mind, but if you want high end, you better pay some more money.
I'd recommend it only as a cheap place to stay. In my opinion you get exactly what you pay for.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 415 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2011

The location and price that this hotel offered is excellent, only 2 minutes walk from Rotterdam train station and literally around the corner from all the bars and restaurants. Good flexibility with sleeping arrangements too, lovely choice of hot & cold breakfast on offer. For me, the was important and the hotel represents good value for money. Very relaxed and friendly staff. Free internet for guests.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wind41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Looking for a budget hotel in the center of Rotterdam, Grand Hotel central is your better choice. Close to Rotterdam Centraal station ( 15 minute-walk) and Metro station "Stadhuis" ( 5 minute-walk). From here, you can go to many attractions around Rotterdam by metro, tram and bus. I suggest a Rotterdam Welcome Card for unlimited metro tram and bus transport for 1,3 or 5 days. ( They count by day so use it first time in the morning for a whole day trip). The room is quite comfortable though everything looks old but fortunately bed sheet and towels are clean. You can enjoy free coffee and tea in your room at night. Breakfast is excellent, lots of choices both Dutch and International dishes,especially 4 kinds of salad dressings are very delicious. Hot chocolate with whip cream is great (at Cafe you must pay 3.0 Euro for it!) All are self-service. For free internet at the Lobby, they have 3 desktops with 24-hour service. If there is any problem, every staff is ready to help, just ring the bell at the counter. 4 nights staying here,I would like to guarantee that the hotel is worthy.During my visit, the red canvas roof in front of the hotel which is a benchmark of the hotel was removed so if you are finding the hotel, please don't look for it but look for Off-Corso Bar instead. The hotel is next to it.

Room Tip: If you get the first floor room, always shut your window because it can be entered from the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank พรศรี ป
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

The big picture of Jimi Hendrix behind recption is the best thing about the place. It feels like the hotel hasn't changed since the great man stayed there.

My mate and I were in Rotterdam to watch Feyenoord. Despite having booked a twin room we were allocated a double room on arrival and were told that there wasn't a twin room available. When we insisted on a twin room the guy on reception, after clicking the mouse for a few minutes, discovered that there was actually a room with 2 twin beds available.

Not a good start and it didn't get any better. The room was tired, shabby and devoid of charm.

The hotel is centrally located and cheap to stay in and Rotterdam is a great city. It is modern in parts but in a "just after world war 2" kind of way. The pedestrianised shopping centre was the first to be built in Europe. There are also some great traditional Dutch cafes in the older parts of town.

I find myself agreeing with the majority of Trip Advisor members who have reviewed the hotel, it seems that we're a discerning bunch!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

You have to pay on arrival! It soon became clear why.This hotel has a great location, a lovely old building and does great breakfasts. But apart from that it is awful. We had bed bugs and an intruder who broke into our room while we slept. He didn't actually need to jemmy the door lock because the balcony door didn't shut. Management did not care.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank walksh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

When we arrived the lady on reception was rude and not very considerate. Three of us shared a triple room and my other friends shared a twin room. My friends who shared the twin had to move 3 times. The first room had a leak, the second ants and the third was ok! We were given 1 room card between the 3 of us but it failed to work so we were given a master key to the WHOLE hotel and told 'not to loose it'...come on!!!!! They did not think of the security of other travellers belongings, their safety or what we could have been capable of..luckily NOTHING..we had a little fun but nothing dangerous! We had the master key our entire stay!!

The location was superb...as we went for the carnival it was a good location for the main roads and the club opposite. Be warned if facing the front you hear loud thumping as there is a club next door and opposite so you hear crowds of people after the rave (5am) but luckily we went to the club- which was also fantastic.

The hotel does breakfast, standard eggs, beans, sausage...some type of bacon and lots of bread rolls and cold meat. The fruit was mainly rotten and when we informed them the staff carried out 4fresh oranges from the back fridge. When the resturant was closed and we were waiting for the (old fashion) lift we saw a rat running across the resturant floor..dancing to the carnival music i bet!!!

My friends got bitten which came up like huge mosquito bites. The rooms are not the type of rooms you want to chill in so we spent most of our time out (which is what we went Rotterdam for) but i would not recommend going to this hotel for quality or comfort! The bathroom surprisingly was ok. My friend asked for shampoo and was told it would be carried up but someone came up with body lotion (which is their shower gel) and i explained we were told we would get shampoo..she told us to go buy it?!

The hotel does provide an iron and hair dryer for 20euro deposit each. The internet was free to use for as long as want. The is a dingy bar which is dim, prob so rats are not seen!

It is basically a hostel pozing as a hotel!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't have a room at the front (facing main road)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girl_guide_to_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I would like to inform you of our recent experience following our booking at the Grand Central Hotel. The location of the hotel is superb ideally located for shopping and entertainment. We travelled as a party of 5, we had 1 twin room and 1 triple room. Upon checking into the hotel, we went to our room (I was in the twin room) to discover there were several ants all over the room, visible especially on the table located by the window. We changed our room for the 2nd time- this room had a leak, the 3rd room we were giving, was free of ants and leaks. The guests in the triple room (based at the front of the hotel) were kept awake all night from the music being played in the club located next to the hotel, so they were unable to sleep a wink. The standard of the hotel is very basic indeed especially for a 3*, our bathroom had cigarette butts and matches next to the bath. The restaurant served large buffet breakfast, but once we saw a mouse running across the restaurant floor, we decided not to eat in there again, missing out on the pre-paid breakfast which lead to us spending more money to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank Dee-Bomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Euro Hotel Centrum
Euro Hotel Centrum
#44 of 52 in Rotterdam
185 reviews
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
834 reviews
Hotel Rotterdam
#26 of 52 in Rotterdam
469 reviews
NH Atlanta Rotterdam
#21 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Central

Address: Kruiskade 12, 3012 EH Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range: $64 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Central 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing