We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Friendly, clean, well-located, with a great breakfast and a lift” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Emma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Emma
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean, well-located, with a great breakfast and a lift”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I spent 4.5 days at the Hotel Emma last week. I stayed in the cheapest of their rooms. Although it was half the price of most other hotels, it included a private bath, breakfast and wifi. The bed was just great, and the linens were crisp and comfy. It's owner-operated, and not part of a chain.

The upside is that it's well taken care of. They care.

The downsides are that it's not fancy, at least in the cheap section. No A/C. No wall art. Mentos not Dutch chocolate on your pillow.

The only big complaints are that
1. there's no way to block the noise from the cafe across the street when the Netherlands are playing in the World Cup. Bring ear plugs, and don't plan to close the window or you'll overheat. I am not sure what other events make Rotterdammers gather to drink and cheer loudly and late, and the World Cup is pretty infrequent, so you're probably in luck.

2. the wifi is intermittent. This could be due to any number of factors. But it was a persistent problem. If you haven't got access to a EU data plan, and you can't afford to roam at $8/MB, and you need to be on line, this may not be your best hotel pick.

Lovely stay, nice folks.


Also, I was at the hotel within 70 minutes of landing at Schiphol. There's a great train right from the airport to Rotterdam Station, which is a very short tram ride or a 15 minute walk. It's right on a corner with the main East West metro lines, and it's covered with what seemed like dozens of tram tracks. Perfect place to get anywhere.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back in the summer if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    76
    9
    11
    4
See reviews for
27
37
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The hotel is nice and clean. We had a room with two single beds, a smallish TV, fridge, and a small shower\toilet. There is a reasonable breakfast, though more fruits and vegetables would be nice. The hotel also has a balcony with sofas and tables, where it's nice to spend a few hours if the weather is nice.
The staff are friendly and helpful.
The hotel is centrally located next to the city center and within walking distance from the bus\train station. This means it's a bit noisy, but not too bad.
The only downside was the SLOW to non-existent Internet connection.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eladyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boevange-sur-Attert, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I stayed at the Emma hotel for a business purpose last week. I can only recommend the place wich has an excellent price/service ratio, with very friendly and helpful staff, nice, comfortable and clean rooms and a beautiful breakfast. And the situation is right in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan_Luxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Hotel Emma is in a wonderful location with plenty of shops, bars, and restaurants in walking distance. The street below is quite noisy at the weekend but I always travel with ear plugs so it didn't bother me. We were on the top floor which was handy for the lovely sunny roof terrace. One night there were people partying with music on the terrace but otherwise it was a very enjoyable stay. Comfortable bed, good quality bedding, excellent breakfast, delicious coffee, friendly staff and a clean room. I will definately go back. The only thing I think the management should consider in the future is the laundry and the fact that it is done every single day, this wastes money and water. Most hotels nowadays have a sign up asking guests to only put towels in the shower if they need washing otherwise they are laundering towels that may not need it, which is not good for the planet! Thank you to all at Hotel Emma for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We spent a night in hotel Emma to celebrate a friend's 50th birthday, we had 1 room with 2 seperate bedrooms and 1 bathroom. the service was excellent, the staff even put up some decorations in the room for the birthday girl ! Breakfast was fine, staff very friendly

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roosmarijn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

I stay at 4 star hotels but was booked in here by the university. So much nicer than staying in a bland chain. Short walk from central station and cafés and main shopping strip. Close to metro and trams. That aside: WONDERFUL STAFF. Friendly, helpful, charming - really doing their all. Great breakfast in a beautiful room. My room was tiny - a single. But totally fine and super clean. If this is what cheaper hotels can do I might rethink spending 100s per night just for a hotel with extras. I walked to the achmea gym near central and paid for a visit. Better than a hotel gym workout ...

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed three nights at the Hotel Emma. The room was simple and clean and very comfortable. Very friendly owner and pleasant, efficient staff. Terrific breakfast included! A great location two long blocks from the train station, just an easy few minute walk. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 679DanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 966 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#7 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
#6 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
NH Atlanta Rotterdam
#19 of 53 in Rotterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 843 reviews
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#4 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emma

Property: Hotel Emma
Address: Nieuwe Binnenweg 6, 3015 BA Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Oude Westen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Emma 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Emma is a small and friendly hotel ideally located in the heart of Rotterdam. Public transport and the shopping area are right at our doorstep as are many cafes and restaurants. Rotterdam Central Station is at only 850 meters from the hotel. Your host, Luigi Orsini, and his team hope to welcome you. They will see to it that you will feel right at home, to further maintain an 80-years Rotterdam family tradition. ***At home in Rotterdam ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Budget Places and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Emma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emma Hotel Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing