We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Emma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Emma
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Emma for 3 nights in late April. The location is very convenient (metro and tram stops right outside, short walk to many things including the museum and train station). The hotel staff was very friendly and the breakfast was quite substantial (meat, cheese, boiled eggs, yogurt, bread, fruit, etc...). Free wifi throughout the hotel.

Our room was very basic, but clean and spacious enough for two adults. The hotel was apparently full during our stay yet it was very quiet, this was nice. We were looking for a well located hotel with clean and quiet rooms at a reasonable price and our expectations were exceeded by Hotel Emma.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quatchi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    87
    9
    11
    4
See reviews for
36
39
24
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunningdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
292 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Conveniently located (10 minutes' walk from the Central Station) and inexpensive (I booked through 'Booking.com' and received a complimentary upgrade), the Hotel Emma in Nieuwe Binnenweg is very friendly. I can thoroughly recommend it to the business and budget traveller. The rooms are airy and light with modern bathrooms. There is a computer on the 1st landing and free wifi on request. The breakfast room is very nice with a traditional dutch buffet (hard-boiled eggs, cheeses and meats, cereals, fruits, fresh croissants and breads...) and an excellent coffee machine. It is very close to several eateries and bars and is 5 minutes' walk from the main, pedestrianised shopping street. It's situated at a tram crossroads, so access to the transport network is easy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chingachgook2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

I attend a trade fair held in Rotterdam on an annual basis and this is the fourth time I have stayed at Hotel Emma in four years.
I find the hotel to be ideally situated with a metro station within 30 meters and a tram stop right outside the hotel.
The rooms are pleasant (I always pay a bit extra in order to reserve a room with a bath - not only do you get a corner bath but the room is also larger), beds very comfortable and the standard of cleanliness is excellent.
Breakfast is fairly standard "Netherlands continental" - try adding the boxed chocolate sprinkles to the very fresh croissants for a sweet start to your day! Cereal, yoghurt, plentiful selection of fresh bread and rolls, boiled eggs, cold meats and cheeses and excellent coffee.
I have always found the receptionists to be EXTREMELY pleasant and helpful so am surprised at a previous reviewer's problems.
One complaint is that the rooms are not very well lit - could do with higher wattage light bulbs.
In easy walking distance of the Rotterdam Centraal train station and a number of good restaurants - try the Sijf just down the road for excellent atmosphere and good food.
I will continue to stay at Emma every time I am in Rotterdam.

Room Tip: Room 26 with bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diepenbeek, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Hotel Emma for two nights during a business trip and it turned to be a pleasant stay, that made me wanting to stay longer in Rotterdam. The hotel is situated in a cosy area, 10 minutes walking from the Central Station. From there, the city center can be visited on foot quite easily. As concerns the hotel itself, the staff was kind, the room clean and nice, the bed very comfortable and the bathroom cleaned, even though I found its automatic lights a bit annoying. The breakfast was simple, but tasty. As regards internet, there is free wireless, even though the password and the username given at the reception are valid only for a device a day. However, I suppose one could ask for more password at the reception, if he/she has more than one device for which Internet is of interest.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank EmanuDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

This was the best hotel we stayed at during our European trip. It was exceptionally clean with very helpful staff. The included breakfast each morning provided a wide selection of breads, fruits, cereals, juices, eggs, cheese and meat, coffee. The location is walking distance from Central Station and there are tram stops conveniently located in front and beside the hotel. The street has a small shopping district and there are restaurants located nearby as well.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAGAL25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

this hotel is well situated - rooms very basic but OK. but the chief receptionist was - in my experience - perhaps the rudest man i've met in a long career of visiting hotels on business. in fact our Dutch contact was ashamed in case we thought he was a representative of her fellow countrymen and women. the hotel also - more woringly - asked me to settle the bill in cash, though it had already been pre-paid by my company. they put it down as an 'innocent mistake' - but be warned. I love the Dutch - but not the folks in this hotel I'm afraid.

Room Tip: find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andylondon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

This hotel is at great distance from the station, citycentre, etc. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful, breakfast was perfect, room was comfortable with good beds. Roof terrace with nice views is a bonus,

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you want to avoid noise from the busy stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bearafan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Cool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
#6 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emma

Property: Hotel Emma
Address: Nieuwe Binnenweg 6, 3015 BA Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Oude Westen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Emma 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Emma is a small and friendly hotel ideally located in the heart of Rotterdam. Public transport and the shopping area are right at our doorstep as are many cafes and restaurants. Rotterdam Central Station is at only 850 meters from the hotel. Your host, Luigi Orsini, and his team hope to welcome you. They will see to it that you will feel right at home, to further maintain an 80-years Rotterdam family tradition. ***At home in Rotterdam ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Emma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emma Hotel Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing