We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,331)
Filter reviews
1,332 results
Traveler rating
301
537
302
122
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
301
537
302
122
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschinese restaurantthe art deco styleworld tradecentral locationthe heart of the citylarge bathroomwalking distancetrain stationpleasant stayhotel roombreakfast includedshort stayerasmus bridgecarnivalconference
Filter
Updating list...
384 - 389 of 1,332 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Grand ole dame in the city centre. Stayed for 3 nites and each time I walked past the reception, always seeing the front desk person clarifying some check in/out issues with guests. And come my turn to check out, I was not spared either. Having to deal with multiple bookings that they see in the system and insist that I pay cancellation charges for those bookings that they cancelled as no show. How was it that they did not see n clarify this on check in, yet they can note it on check out and ask for payment! Opportunistic system! Archaic yet make money for their messed up system!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AAdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Where to begin -- this was easily one of the worst hotels I stayed in and is more like a budget motel. How they fly the NH flag I do not know.

Bed was super uncomfortable, sagging to the point where I debated sleeping on the floor.

Room was dusty in spots and other spots (link sink) stained.

WiFi slow as heck. It may be free but it is not useable, even at off hours.

Staff are unfriendly and not willing to help with directions, etc.

Others said this too but there is a noticeable draft that comes in from the windows along with a lot of street noise.

This place is a dump and not worth it. There are much better options in Rotterdam.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BergMan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was incredibly disappointed with this dump of a hotel. The front desk was useless, except on my departure when the desk clerk double checked on my driver due to my very early check out. The location is good and the building is in the art deco style with massive ceilings. The bedrooms were tired: the mattress was sagging, the sheets and towels were thin, the windows and curtains were dirty and the carpet was stained and torn. The lighting was extremely poor in the bedrooms, so you could not read or do work. The television was old with a fair selection of channels. The bathroom was clean. Even the kettle for boiling water was ancient. The hallways were creepy with dirty carpeting. The breakfast room is pretty (high ceilings) and staff somewhat friendly. The bar was fine. There is a Chinese restaurant off the lobby which was very dirty and smelled foul. I had two separate stays in one week, so experienced two different rooms and they were both horrible. This place needs a total scrubbing and redecoration to be considered part of "NH".

Room Tip: Book another hotel in Rotterdam....this place is not worth your money.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martinlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I read the reviews and thought people must just have had something go wrong as it flies the NH flag. But not, the hotel just is not up to par and does not meet quality standards.

The rooms are old, tired and while clean, have permanent stains in the sink and are outdated. Not to mention the bed should have been thrown out years ago ... incredibly sagging and awful. TV is old and you have to "press hard" to use the remote.

As others mentioned, WiFi is incredibly slow to the point that it is not useable at times. NH makes a big deal that it is free, but it's not useable at points. Reception had a line most times to see them and while friendly, didn't go above and beyond.

Would I return if I come back to Rotterdam? No.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PlateMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night on business. Staff service was fantastic, reception service very good and the barman more than helpful. I had a couple of drinks and a bar meal which was very nice although a little expensive.

I had room 327 which had all required facilities. It looks like the bathroom has been upgraded recently and is very nice with large screened shower. The bed was comfortable and mini bar well stocked. As other comments show, the lighting is pretty poor in the room especially when arriving after dark. The room was also very cold when I arrived and the radiator was shut off. I opened this fully but it still wasn't very hot after a couple of hours. The window is very old single glazed steel frame and very very drafty, and with the radiator directly below it I guess this is where the heat goes! The floor also is laminate wooden effect and would be more comfortable to the guest with carpet.

Room Tip: 327 wasn't as bad as some others seem!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews