We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bed bugs & lack of facilities”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Euro Hotel Centrum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Euro Hotel Centrum
Ranked #44 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Braintree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“bed bugs & lack of facilities”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had the misfotune of selecting your hotel as given us by Budget Places.from night one we were bitten by fleas only finding evidence for sure on the third day of our stay,we were given an alternative room this was okay,our big problem was mosquitos biting us.Our other complaint was the lack of provision of tea /coffee making devices,something I have not experienced in the last 15 years or so of hotel stays.I did fill in your questionaire citing the above mentioned complaints ,to date I have had no reply.Your staff were very helpful,they could not be faulted.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pwack79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    32
    66
    31
    25
See reviews for
12
54
26
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We booked this hotel from 29th june 2012 till 30th june 2012, as we saw on booking.com that the hotel had a review score of 7.4/10 and it was a bargain, but if we had known what we know now, we had never booked this hotel!
The first room we got (room 314) was as small as a phone booth (which was okay, as we knew this as we booked). First we thought: The room is okay (There wasn't a real good light in the room, so it was still dark in the room). But then as we looked closer, it was a mess!
-Everywhere dirt and hair! In the bed, in the bathroom, on the walls....
-Big brown spots on the curtains...
-Bloodspots on the mattress (which were see-able through the tick)
So we got another room! This room (room 311) wasn't better!
-The mattress cover (we took the tick away to look) had plenty of big brown spots, and everywhere long black hair on it!
-The mattress itself also had many big brown and blood spots on it
-The curtains big brown spots
-The windows and windows shelf really dirty
-In the room (wall, floor etc) every dust, big brown spots and hair
-Not possible to sit decently on the toilet! (The toilet cover was fixed under the water container)!
-The rest of the bathroom also dirty
We didn't go again to the reception to complain, because if 2 rooms aren't clean, I think no room will be clean, so we endured the night.
So as we were on our way to the reception to check out, we saw the housekeeping storage room: looking like a trash-deposit! The towels were just piled on to another (some lying on the housekeeping trolley, some lying on the floor).
At the checkout, we complained about our room (we extra took the mattress cover to proof! And also made pictures), the lady at the reception just listened everything and her answer was: ''Our manager is just here from monday to friday on business hours! So you have to write an email, so maybe it is then possible to fix your problem.''
We never wrote any email to the hotel, as it for us just a big fat deception.
As for us, we are sure to never go back again and to not advise this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CookiePeppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotterdam hotels

dublin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

I spent a night at this hotel and was very pleased with it. Its good value, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. (I was allowed check in early at 11.30 by the very helpful receptionist). The room I had was on the 3rd floor and was a decent size. It had a small bathroom and a good wall mounted tv set. There was a nice touch with sweets left on the pillows.
Breakfast was nice, with a good selection of cheeses, hams, rolls and they have a large coffee making machine on the counter where you can select different types of coffee. There was also some fried eggs. The breakfast room was very tastefully decorated and well maintained.
The hotel is located on a quiet side street, but only a short stroll from the main shoping district, and is also very convenient to the excellent Harbour and Maratime museum.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet base for some sightseeing or business in Rotterdam. The train station is about a 30 minute walk from the hotel, but there are trams from quite close by.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikesterDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Having read mixed reviews about this hotel and taking into account the strength of the Euro and high cost of accommodation we booked in for a few days on a visit to see our son.
Alright its a bit basic but it is well positioned for the shops, restaurants and night jife. Yes the rooms are a bit small but the staff were great and it was a nice breakfast. There is a small bar with reasonable prices too.
We reported that our toilet seat was broken and as the whole toilet needed replacing we were moved to a a large suite with whirlpool bath, kingsize bed and a large LCD tv at no extra cost.
We thought the hotel was good value for money and will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: First digit of room number is floor. Higher the other numbers are, the further the room is from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJR1657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, UK
Level Contributor
137 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

If you're travelling for work purposes, need to be in central Rotterdam for an early start and are looking for basic accommodation that doesn't warrant spending more than necessary, this place is probably for you.

During our visit to the Netherlands, Euro Hotel Centrum provided my wife and I with a basic, travelodge style, twin room that still showed signs of the late seventies / early eighties heritage of the building - which is basically a concrete block in a side street off of the main drag heading south towards the Erasmus bridge. Immediately next door, a former fire station has been converted into a nursery school.

The good bits:

Location - approx ten minute' walk from Rotterdam Central station and five minutes walk from central Rotterdam's main shopping and restaurant area and Pathe cinema and Casino Holland complexes.

Clean bed linen, and fully functional ensuite with plenty of hot water when needed. Towels changed daily.

Er . . . that's it.

Not so good bits.

Not a single room in this hotel is smoking. As the windows in our room on the third floor could not be opened more than a few inches, my wife had to get dressed and walk down to the hotel entrance for a cigarette. The hotel makes it clear they impose a EURO 150.00 penalty on any guest caught smoking in their room (smoke detectors are fitted) - and if they have your credit card details I've no doubt they'll take it and argue the matter afterwards.

No air-con, and even with the temperature controls set to the minimum our room was hotter than we would have liked. So the windows stayed open with all of the subsequent problems of noise from the main street which our room overlooked - on our first night we were woken at 6.30am by the refuse truck clearing dumpsters, again at 7.20am by an HGV delivering a skip (the diesel engine ran for 40 minutes right under our window) and two men digging up the street directly opposite our room from about the same time. None of this is the fault of the hotel of course, but it did mean we gave up any hope of any peace and left the hotel probably an hour and a half before we planned to. For balance, on the following morning (Saturday) the street was quite peaceful.

No tea/coffee making facilities in our room. This cheeses me off whereever I travel as providing this amenity costs peanuts but makes all the difference. As we chose not to take breakfast at the hotel (at a EURO 10.00 per person supplement), we had to get dressed and leave the hotel just to get a cup of coffee. I'm sure the duty receptionist would have rustled us one up if we'd asked, but frankly the hotel being what it is we preferred to find a local cafe.

Would I stay here again? Unlikely. In fact I'm not sure I'd stay in Rotterdam again - as a city it's an ugly concrete metropolis with little of cultural note to warrant an overnight stay. If we go back we'll stay in Delft, which is only fifteen minutes from Rotterdam by train (with a return fare being just EURO 6.30) and much more remeniscent of "ye oldy twee Holland", with canals, churches, etc as well a the more modern aspects.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NGB_May2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

To get there;
Eurohotel or Top Euro hotel is a small hotel located in a quiet part of Rotterdam which would be difficult to find using public transport unless you have done some google map research prior to embarking. Well once you get to Rotterdam Centraal get the Lift to reach the Metro. Prior to that you can either buy tickets from the STIB information centre or buy a Rotterdam Card (includes all public transport) from the Tourist Information close by. Get down at the Leuvehaven station which is 2 stations from Centraal. You cannot get on the wrong metro as all trains start from the Centraal and travel towards Leuvehaven. Exit the main manned entrance of the station. Once you reach the surface you notice the Erasmus bridge. Walk away from the bridge about 20 m and you will see a flight of stairs that reach the "Baan" in about 30m. Turn left and walk about 150 metres to reach the hotel. At the turn there is a what looks like a fire-station.

Good.

1. Though initially little difficult to find. Once you get your bearings the hotel is located close to most of the attractions (which are few) in Rotterdam and the rest is accessible by metro and tram.

2. I think this should be the cheapest hotel with ensuite bathroom in Rotterdam.

3. The rooms are clean.

4. Internet is not free but there is a flat charge of 5 euros for the 2 days I spent there.

Bad Points

1. The rooms are tiny.... really tiny. I had asked for a single room and I felt i was in an attic. The furniture is old and could very well have belonged to your grandmother. The lift is 1967 model and the doors do not open automatically. So once you reach your floor you need to push the door or you may spend extra time going up and down (like I did when I first used it)

2. The reception is at the Mezzanine floor along with the restaurant. The only problem with that is the lift does not stop at this floor. So if you have lugged your luggage to the reception then you will have to lug it down to the ground floor to get the lift. but you can always leave your luggage in the ground floor and get check in and then get to your room. The check in is quick.

3. There are no useful plug points in my room to charge my computer and phone. But you can always unplug the TV and use that point.

4. There is what looks like a dance club at the back of the hotel. But there was no loud music on both the day I was staying there (Sat/Sun). I am not sure what happens on Fridays.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jubbin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
101 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

Located a bit away from the station (expensive by taxi), the rooms were clean, big, there was a large bathtub, and heating was good (it was snowing but the rooms were warm). The housekeeping thoughtfully leaves sweets after making the beds.

However, if you are a light sleeper, be careful - soundproofing is poor and you can hear all the excitement in the passageway.

On the whole, it is probably hte best value for money in Rotterdam.

The free internet is very good (no other hotel in Rotterdam offered free internet - they were all expensive), but you must reload pages every 10 minutes.

  • Liked — Close to the museum
  • Disliked — Noisy passageway
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JabberwockyIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Hotel Rotterdam
#29 of 52 in Rotterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
H2OTEL Rotterdam
H2OTEL Rotterdam
#17 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Nieuwe Werk
Thon Hotel Rotterdam
Thon Hotel Rotterdam
#22 of 52 in Rotterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
NH Atlanta Rotterdam
#20 of 52 in Rotterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Euro Hotel Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euro Hotel Centrum

Property: Euro Hotel Centrum
Address: Baan 14-20, 3011 CB Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Stadsdriehoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Euro Hotel Centrum 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Euro Hotel Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Euro Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing