We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent standard good walue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rotterdam Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excelent standard good walue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

During my trip I stayed in Manhattan hotel for 2 nights. Hottel is new and services was usefull for reasonable price, staff was nice all time. I was in Holland first day thanks to this during my trip I stayed in Manhattan hotel for 2 nights. Hotel is new and services was usefull for reasonable price, staff was nice all time. I was in Holland first day thanks to this hotel I forgot on stress from foreign place. Wifi works well, restaurant and breakfast offered very good quality food. Bike rental is available-it is must to try. Excelent location next to Rotterdam centram station, not crowdy place.

Room Tip: higher floor with view on Rotterdam central station
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanneTenWolde, Guest Relations Manager at Rotterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Michal P,

Many thanks for choosing our hotel as your preferred place to stay this time and thank you for spending some of your time to share your thoughts with fellow travelers.

I am very proud to learn that you experienced an excellent stay with us; great to hear that you remark the friendliness of our staff and that you have appreciated breakfast and dinner at The Manhattan Brasserie.

I hope to welcome you back some day in the city of Rotterdam.

P.s. I totally agree with you that renting a bike really is a must do to experience this lovely city.

Friendly regards,

Sanne ten Wolde- Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    371
    99
    35
    8
See reviews for
123
444
56
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
789 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Very convenient to the city and Central Station. The hotel itself was beautifully decorated and very comfortable.We always stay here if we're going to Rotterdam for less than a week we highly recommend it - we will be back again in July!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albertomiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanneTenWolde, Guest Relations Manager at Rotterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Albertomiami,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your great comments on this channel.
I am proud to hear that you have enjoyed your time in Rotterdam and especially in The Manhattan Hotel. I am pleased to read that you frequently return to our hotel for stays shorter than a week and that you would recommend it to friends, family and fellow travelers.

I hope to personally welcome you back in July!

Hospitable regards,

Sanne ten Wolde- Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
136 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I was interested to be going back to this hotel, which I remembered as the Westin. I am afraid that the change has not done the hotel any favours. I remeber the hotel as new and modern, and it seems that nothing has been done to the hotel for a long time. My room was a reasonable size, with large windows, and the bed was comfortable, and the aircon OK. However, I was amazed at the quality of the sheets. This is a 5 star hotel, and to have thin sheets, which reminded me of a bed and breakfast, is not acceptable. The furniture was ageing, veneer beginning to come off the tables etc. As reported by other reviewers, stains on the carpet and the chair. There had been efforts to remove the stain on the carpet, but evidence remained! No bath robe, etc and HAVING TO PAY FOR WI-FI! Bathroom fine, walk in separate shower, but water pressure poor, and bath towels only just acceptable. The location is very good, and the staff were helpful, but someone needs to spend some money on refurbishing this hotel.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are much larger than the others, corner rooms especially.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lteast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanneTenWolde, Guest Relations Manager at Rotterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Lteast,

Thank you very much for your stay with us and sharing your thoughts online. Your comments are highly valuable to us as it is with this information we are able to improve our services.

I sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations throughout your stay; needless to say this kind of experience is not what we envisage for our guests.
I do appreciate your positive comments regarding the helpfulness of staff, room facilities and location of the hotel.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back though. If you are planning a future visit, please contact me personally so I can take care of your next stay.

Warm regards,

Sanne ten Wolde - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This review is based on what I would expect from a 5-star hotel. Unfortunately there is little about the Manhattan that lives up to this expectation. There are stains on the carpet in my room as well as on the chair, non-descript interior, no bath robe or slippers, and pillows and duvet have a cheap feel to them. It beats me how they can label this as a luxury hotel – there is absolutely nothing luxurious about my room and the public areas do not have a 5-star quality either. The staff is very nice and forthcoming, however, and the location across from the Rotterdam Central Station is good. But all in all I would not stay here again – it’s not worth the money. And they even charge for wifi in the room – 22 Euros for 24 hours. I am quite surprised about the high rating on Tripadvisor; it is the first time I have been truly disappointed after picking a hotel based on reviews here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbird44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanneTenWolde, Guest Relations Manager at Rotterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Travelbird44,

Thank you very much for your visit and taking some time to share your thoughts and experiences with us. We highly appreciate your feedback, since this gives us the opportunity to recognize the improvement points in our organization.

I would like to offer you my sincere apologies for the unsatisfactory experience you had at the hotel; needless to say this does not reflect our true aim for hospitality. Your comments have been shared with our department heads in order to prevent this from happening in the future.
However, I would like to inform you that the hotel does provide slippers and bathrobes in every room other than superior rooms as a standard, as well as upon request in superior rooms.

Hopefully you will give us the opportunity to show that staying in our hotel should be a very pleasant experience; if so, may I please ask to contact me personally so I can look after your reservation.

Kind regards,

Sanne ten Wolde- Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Great value for money and a wonderful experience. Great service from all of the staff.

I had a corner room on the 9th floor with great views. The room itself was very clean and spacious. The breakfast was fairly standard for a 5 star hotel and perfectly presented.

The hotel is opposite the train station and I was spoilt for choice for restaurants of varying cuisines.

I genuinely have no negatives to comment on.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jsc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanneTenWolde, Guest Relations Manager at Rotterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Jsc8,

Reference is made to your recent stay at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam.

It is very much appreciated that you took the time to share your impressions on Tripadvisor.com
I am delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay and that your overall satisfaction was good.
We attach a lot of importance to your feedback as with this information we are able to recognize and improve the critical points within our organization.
I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you again at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam.

Kind regards,

Sanne ten Wolde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chongqing, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Dirty carpets, smelly room that does not have a window to open to get rid of the smell, fixtures such as shaving mirror in ramshackle state, remote control of which buttons are crusted over with grime. Remember these news articles about how many bacteria can be found on remote controls in hotels, they gave me a 'clean' one.....not...was even worse. And this is not some youth hostel, this is the five star manhattan hotel in rotterdam. 150 euro per night, no free internet in rooms, bikes for rent at 16 euro per day....... Seriously disappointed. Will prefer youth hostel next time.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanneTenWolde, Guest Relations Manager at Rotterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Rita R,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor.com. We attach a lot of importance to your feedback as it is with this information that we are able to recognize and improve the critical points within our organization.

I am sorry to hear that we have not been able to live up to the expectations you had of The Manhattan Hotel. This is definitely not the type of quality we envisage for our guests. Please be assured that we take your feedback very seriously and the necessary arrangements have been taken in order to prevent similar situations in the future.

However, I am pleased you have accepted my offer to enjoy a complimentary breakfast this morning where we had the chance to talk your experiences through. I have learned, and I am glad, that your stay was not entirely unpleasant and I am grateful that you have mentioned the quality and hospitality of our staff.

I do hope to welcome you back to The Manhattan Hotel in the future. If you do, please make a reservation through me directly (sanne.tenwolde@manhattanhotelrotterdam.com) so I can personally take care of your requests.

Warm Regards,

Sanne ten Wolde -Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I stayed with my family in the hotel during a visit to tulip gardens. The hotel is very conveniently located in the city centre. The rooms were very clean and comfortable.

The staff were extremely helpful. My daughter was not feeling very well and the hotel staff went out of their way to prepare special food for her and didn't even charge for the same.

The breakfast quality was also excellent.

Overall the stay was what one expects from a top-class 5-star hotel. I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NormalCustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanneTenWolde, Guest Relations Manager at Rotterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear NormalCustomer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam with us.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the accessibility of the hotel convenient. Your comment regarding the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff will definitely be shared within all departments.

Should you plan to return to our beautiful city, please do not hesitate to inform me of your next reservation, giving us the opportunity to extend you with warm, personal and bespoke Manhattan service!

With kind regards,

Sanne ten Wolde-Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 895 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#5 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#3 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#7 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#8 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotterdam Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotterdam Marriott Hotel

Property: Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Address: Weena 686, 3012 CN Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Cool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#2 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#5 Green Hotel in Rotterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rotterdam Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In recent years, Rotterdam has transformed into a versatile, dynamic city. It is home to Europe's largest port and has become a trendsetter in many ways. The city is bustling and flourishing and has received a lot of exposure and recognition over the last years which has not gone unnoticed internationally. The Rotterdam Marriott Hotel is one of the leading hotels of Rotterdam. The hotel is located in Rotterdam Central District, directly opposite the brand new Rotterdam Central Station. The Central District forms the entrance to Rotterdam. This is the area in which Rotterdam en Europa literally meet. From here you can walk directly to the city center where a vibrant cultural and nightlife scene awaits. The Rotterdam Marriott Hotel has 230 elegant and spacious hotel rooms (all renovated in 2016), featuring gorgeous views over the city's skyline. Each room is equipped with state-of-the-art facilities and amenities ranging from high speed internet, comfortable bedding to spacious marble bathrooms and 42" flat-panel TV. The function rooms and boardrooms of The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam are suitable for both large events and small, intimate business meetings. In addition our building is physically connected to 'de Doelen ICC Rotterdam'. Thanks to this exclusive connection we are able to provide conference space for up to 3000 persons. In our new lobby we've created a whole new arrival experience and vibrant meeting point for guests, business travelers, office users and passers-by. Pillars, our lobby's new contemporary Restaurant & Bar, is simple and flexible and meets the needs of today's Marriott traveler to combine work, relax and play. The menu in Pillars lists Bites, Social Sharing and Casual Entrées. In the Pillars Bar you'll be taken on a journey through the world's different vineyards, offering a wide selection of 25 high quality wines by the glass, including exclusive wine-flights and signature cocktails. Traveling to Rotterdam couldn't be easier. From Amsterdam Schiphol Airport it only takes you 25 minutes to travel into Rotterdam by high speed train and in 26 minutes you'll standing in our hotel lobby. Rotterdam-The Hague Airport is located at 10 minutes driving distance from the hotel. International trains such as the Thalys (2,5 hrs, from Paris), Deutsche Bahn and Eurostar all arrive at Rotterdam Central Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rotterdam Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Rotterdam
Rotterdam Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing