We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely poor 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Extremely poor 5 star hotel”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Hotel clean and comfortable rooms breakfast terrible we ordered hot breakfast from the menu in the restaurant which is supposed to be cooked to order, it arrived 30 minutes later stone cold the toast did not even come until we were leaving 45 minutes later again stone cold! The tea was not even served in a pot just cups of hot water to dangle a tea bag in and even this we had to ask for come on now manager the breakfast needs to be sorted out the 2 staff on duty were to say the least very unfriendly and unhelpful.
The best recommendation I can give is to stay in The Rotterdam Hilton!!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trish155027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoupBimbergen, Guest Relations Manager at Rotterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Trish155027,

Thank you very much for your visit and taking some time to share your thoughts and experiences with us. We highly appreciate your feedback, since this gives us the opportunity to recognize the improvement points in our organization.

I would like to offer you my sincere apologies for the unsatisfactory experience you had at the hotel; needless to say this does not reflect our true aim for hospitality. Your comment has been shared with our department heads in order to prevent this from happening in the future.

Hopefully you will give us the opportunity to show that staying in our hotel should be a very pleasant experience; if so, may I please ask to contact me personally so I can look after your reservation.

Kind regards,
Youp Bimbergen – Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    437
    118
    40
    10
See reviews for
158
497
67
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

There will always be hotels which have better facilities, larger rooms, a greater menu choice but I challenge anyone to find a hotel with more caring, professional and friendly staff.
The staff at the Manhatten Hotel Rotterdam are a real credit to their company and simply couldn't do enough for us. No query was too insignificent, even the most minor request addressed promptly and without fuss and when, on the rare occassion a genuine problem arose, they immediately sort it out.
We spent 4 days in Rotterdam attending the 2013 North Sea Jazz Festival.The hotel staff made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. The room was spacious and clean, well fitted out with a most comfortable bed. The restaurant food was first class and the breakfast buffet was excellent. Waiter service was prompt but not overbearing and the bar staff were delightful, well informed and extremely capable.
Reception, concierge and housekeeping staff were all really nice and without exception,all very helpful and considerate.
After 15 years of visiting Holland, 6 of which have been in Rotterdam, we have stayed at some great Dutch hotels but the Manahatten was in a class of own especially because of the staff. We've already booked for July 2014 which we hope is recommendation enough.

Room Tip: The Executive rooms on the 10th floor are very well equipped and worth requesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoupBimbergen, Guest Relations Manager at Rotterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Tomyg,

Thank you very much for choosing The Manhattan Hotel as your preferred place to stay for such a special weekend as the North Sea Jazz. Needless to say I am very proud to read your positive words, and I am grateful that you spent some of your valuable time to place them on this website.

Hospitality in its traditional meaning is one of our key values and I am very happy to learn that this is exactly what you have experienced during your stay with us. I will personally make sure that our staff members will take note of your comments, as it motivates us all.

I look forward to personally welcome you back in Rotterdam next year!
Warm regards,

Youp Bimbergen – Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

It is individual care that makes a real difference. The doorman (from Nigeria) particularly made me feel welcome. The waiter who remember my breakfast order for poached eggs. Thank you for looking after me

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank PhilClo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoupBimbergen, Guest Relations Manager at Rotterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear PhilClo,

It was our pleasure looking after you during your recent visit to Rotterdam! Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Tripadvisor. I will personally forward your positive comment to Donald our Doormen and am sure he will greatly appreciate it.

We look forward to welcome you back when visiting Rotterdam again.

Best regards,
Youp Bimbergen – Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
158 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here for the (fabulous) North Sea Jazz. That is extremely convenient: opposite train and metro station (10 minutes to Ahoy), hotel bar open until 0230, breakfast until 1330. The hotel staff is extremely service minded, very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, fine with very comfortable beds. Valet parking. Minor point for improvement: the curtains could be a little darker. With that said, this hotel comes highly recommended flr those who see, a convenient, comfortable, well equippped hotel in Rotterdam!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ArentvanWassenaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoupBimbergen, Guest Relations Manager at Rotterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Arentvanwassenaer,

What a fabulous weekend it was during the North Sea Jazz weekend, thank you very much for spending this special weekend in our hotel and taking some of your valuable time to write this review. I am happy to learn that your stay with us was an enjoyable one; your comment with regards to our staff is a great motivation and will be shared throughout the teams!

We all look forward to next year’s North Sea Jazz festival and hope you will be staying with us again next year or on another occasion.

Best regards,
Youp Bimbergen – Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on at least 6 occasions and I always look forward to coming back.
Rooms are very clean, well appointed with a very comfortable bed.
Only one complaint about the rooms... They need a few power outlets next to the bed.
The restaurant serves very good food and the wait staff is excellent.
Breakfast buffet is also very good but I've noticed that they now individually prepare eggs and breakfast meats on an individual basis. Probably for the best as the scrambled egg offerings in the past were a little weak.
Nice location for a quick walk about to get some very good food and drink. A fairly active "Little China Town" exists just a few blocks away.
All in all another wonderful (but short - one night) stay and it will be a pleasure to come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoupBimbergen, Guest Relations Manager at Rotterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Lee E,

Thank you very much for staying with us in the past and recently, sharing your thoughts and experiences online is greatly appreciated. I am proud to read that you noticed the change in the breakfast setup, where we now cook eggs and other dishes on request. This way we can ensure quality and freshness for each guest!

I look forward to welcome you back in the hotel, if I can be of assistance for a reservation or request please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Best regards,
Youp Bimbergen – Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel June 15-18 & again June 22-24. The hotel is across from the Rotterdam Central Train Station, so you can just walk over. We upgraded to a Jr. Suite, it was spacious with a large room with desk,2 double beds, table & 2 armchairs. It also had a large closet with a safe and lots of room for luggage. The bathroom had a separate tub & shower. With the Jr. Suite you get breakfast included & access to the Executive lounge which has a computer, coffee & tea, soft drinks, beer & wine.
The hotel staff were very courteous and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ouida K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoupBimbergen, Guest Relations Manager at Rotterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Ouida K,

Hereby I would like to thank you for staying with us & sharing your experiences on tripadvisor. I am very pleased to read that your stay with us was an enjoyable one!

Should travels bring you to Rotterdam again in the future I look forward to personally welcome you back in the hotel.

Best regards,
Youp Bimbergen – Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Level Contributor
126 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have stayed there a few times on business trips.
Service is always very nice, the rooms are well laid out and all is clean.
Breakfast is excellent and offers a great variety of warm and cold items.
I once had dinner and the quality was really good.

All in all... I've tried lots of hotels in Rotterdam and this one is just the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathrin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoupBimbergen, Guest Relations Manager at Rotterdam Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Kathrin80,

Thank you for choosing The Manhattan Hotel as your preferred place to stay and sharing this online. We are proud to learn that you value our hotel & service as the best in town!

I look forward to welcome you back in the great city of Rotterdam.

Best regards,
Youp Bimbergen – Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,273 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,137 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
727 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotterdam Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotterdam Marriott Hotel

Property: Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Address: Weena 686, 3012 CN Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Cool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#2 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#5 Green Hotel in Rotterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rotterdam Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In recent years, Rotterdam has transformed into a versatile, dynamic city. It is home to Europe's largest port and has become a trendsetter in many ways. The city is bustling and flourishing and has received a lot of exposure and recognition over the last years which has not gone unnoticed internationally. The Rotterdam Marriott Hotel is one of the leading hotels of Rotterdam. The hotel is located in Rotterdam Central District, directly opposite the brand new Rotterdam Central Station. The Central District forms the entrance to Rotterdam. This is the area in which Rotterdam en Europa literally meet. From here you can walk directly to the city center where a vibrant cultural and nightlife scene awaits. The Rotterdam Marriott Hotel has 230 elegant and spacious hotel rooms (all renovated in 2016), featuring gorgeous views over the city's skyline. Each room is equipped with state-of-the-art facilities and amenities ranging from high speed internet, comfortable bedding to spacious marble bathrooms and 42" flat-panel TV. The function rooms and boardrooms of The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam are suitable for both large events and small, intimate business meetings. In addition our building is physically connected to 'de Doelen ICC Rotterdam'. Thanks to this exclusive connection we are able to provide conference space for up to 3000 persons. In our new lobby we've created a whole new arrival experience and vibrant meeting point for guests, business travelers, office users and passers-by. Pillars, our lobby's new contemporary Restaurant & Bar, is simple and flexible and meets the needs of today's Marriott traveler to combine work, relax and play. The menu in Pillars lists Bites, Social Sharing and Casual Entrées. In the Pillars Bar you'll be taken on a journey through the world's different vineyards, offering a wide selection of 25 high quality wines by the glass, including exclusive wine-flights and signature cocktails. Traveling to Rotterdam couldn't be easier. From Amsterdam Schiphol Airport it only takes you 25 minutes to travel into Rotterdam by high speed train and in 26 minutes you'll standing in our hotel lobby. Rotterdam-The Hague Airport is located at 10 minutes driving distance from the hotel. International trains such as the Thalys (2,5 hrs, from Paris), Deutsche Bahn and Eurostar all arrive at Rotterdam Central Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rotterdam Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Rotterdam
Rotterdam Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing