We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Our Needs”
Review of Hotel Rotterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rotterdam
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
San Diego
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Perfect for Our Needs”
Reviewed November 5, 2009

First, it was handy to the train station.
If arriving by trian this hotel is a quick trip on foot from the station. Go out the exit that is not toward the Centrum turn right down Proveniersplein and walk up to Schiekade, cross the street and turn left.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast offered a nice variety, something for everyone. I felt safe in the neighborhood and the staff was helpful and knowledgable.
We don't spend a lot of time in our room, so it was perfect for us.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDMcGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    176
    131
    47
    31
See reviews for
40
165
54
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2009

Stayed her for two nights in Early November 2009. The hotel has a nice modern looking Reception, Restaurant and Bar Area but the rest of the place is pretty tired although it has obviously been painted and had new furniture.

Everywhere is clean and tidy, the breakfast is not too bad BUT service in teh restaurant is dreadful. We ate both nights in the Hotel (The Weather outside was lousy so walking was out of the question) and the service was lousy to say the least. We had to repeatedly ask the serving staff (I say staff but most of the time there was only one, seemingly inexperienced girl) for Bread, Glasses, Drinks, Menus etc. The [small] restaurant was only half full but even so it took well over an hour to get starters. One table even went and helped themselves top a bottle of wine from behind the bar as service was so slow.

If you can't find anywhere else the this place is "OK" and clean enough, but if you have a choice I'd strongly suggest that there is far better places to stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CompleteF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotterdam hotels

Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2009

I stayed in the old part of the Hotel. I do not recommend anyone to stay in the old part. My room was very small, with extremely dirty carpet. You have to pay for the Internet in this Hotel. The breakfast is adequate. I don't think that this Hotel is worth 4 stars; I would rate it at 2 starts. It is over-priced for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire,UK
Level Contributor
207 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

This place is an independently run modern hotel within an old building under the Best Western umbrella. Its 8 minutes walk from the central station and pretty central for the city as a whole. The rooms are fine, a bit spartan, but perfectly adequate and clean for getting your head down in Rotterdam for either business or a tourist stay. I found the staff excellent and the breakfasts were a great start to the day. Above all, it was good value for money. A good budget hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete-fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2008

This is more like a hostel than 4 star hotel - I asked for a quiet room with a view - I got a small room which was inset - the view was of a flat roof with 8 noisy air conditioning machines - none of which needed to be switched on as the weather was already cool. The curtains and bedspread were tired, the paint work needed re-doing and strangely there was a large office clock on the wall. The hotel corridors are just ghastly.

Breadfast was OK - but old croissants and tinned fruit salad (don't know who eats that in this day and age)

Reception staff are helpful and friendly

Rotterdam must have better!

  • Liked — reception
  • Disliked — rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Englanderin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2008

After staying in Amsterdam for one week, I moved to Rotterdam for 8 nights where I had made the mistake of reserving a single room in "Best Western Pax".

I was greatly dissapointed by this hotel because it has 4 stars, but in reality its a 2 star hotel.
Believe me, I've stayed in 4 stars hotels, even in Romania, and "Best Western Pax" is simply not 4 star.
Whoever gave this hotel 4 stars should have his/her head checked!

Let me start by telling you about the ONLY POSITIVE thing during my stay here.
As I said, I had made reservations for a "Single room", but some how they gave me a double room.

And thats all folks!

Apart from this, my room (number 112) was like being sent down the dungeon!
It had NO VIEW. I could not see the sky when opening the window which was depressing to say the least.

This so called "4 star hotel" DOES NOT have:

- A mini-bar
- A free wireless connection
- A ventilation system in the bathroom

My room was old, not so clean, with stains on the wall, cracks in the ceiling, etc.

After spending a few hours in the room in my first day of arrival, I actually wanted to complain to the hotel manager, but I knew I HAD to stay put since I had paid the room in advance. So, I decied to just endure all the poor conditions for 8 nights.

The breakfast was shocking in this hotel!
Very very poor and tasteless. It was as if they were trying to discourage you from eating there!
Thats why, even though I had the breakfast included in hotel's price, I just had it once during my stay.

As I told you earlier, the room was less than clean and one morning, after waking up and entering the bathroom, I saw a big spider walking in the bath tube. It was disgusting!

The only good thing about the hotel is its location.
It will take you 10 minutes to walk to the "Centraal Station" where all the action is.
You can also take the tram (number 20 or 25) from "Centraal Station" and get off at the second stop which is called "Schiekade".

I liked Rotterdam even better than Amsterdam and I'm sure my trip would have been even nicer if it wasn't for this poor, poor hotel.
This hotel really ruins the reputation of "Best Western" brand...

In conclusion: avoid it like the plague!

  • Liked — Hotel's location and the air conditioning in the room
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaiser_Amir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 730 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2008

The Pax was recently renovated, although as you approach from the outside, you may think (as I did!) that you're at the wrong address!!

Reception staff were very helpful and professional, the public areas are spotless and newly decorated. I was up on the 4th floor with a super quiet room facing a courtyard (and some homes). The room was very spacious with a nice new bathroom with toiletries, remote TV with plenty to watch, tea&coffee and writing desk, air con and double glazing.

Breakfast was nicely presented at the lobby level...and tasty too.

The hotel is located around 10mins from the main attractions of the City - I arrived by train and it only took around 6mins to reach the hotel (leave the station by the REAR exit, not the main one).

Excellent stay; clean, tidy, quiet - and cheap too.

  • Liked — Clean & Quiet
  • Disliked — Internet machines didn't work
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chris036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,287 reviews
NH Atlanta Rotterdam
#20 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rotterdam

Property: Hotel Rotterdam
Address: Schiekade 658, 3032 AK Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rotterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rotterdam
Rotterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing