We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but not too close to Rly Station”
Review of Hotel Rotterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rotterdam
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Pune, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good hotel but not too close to Rly Station”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Neat and spacious rooms and a very good location, but it is not as close to the train station as it may appear on the maps. If you have to drag heavy luggage, keep in mind that it is about 10-12 minute walk on cobbled footpath. Otherwise, the distance is quite walkable and convenient if you need proximity to the Central station. It appears small from the outside but the rooms are quite big and quiet. The breakfast spread is decent, nothing too fancy but adequate. Some of the best restaurants in Rotterdam such as Angelo Betti and Lokanta Dunya are just a 2-3 minute walk away. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meetamitpandey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    176
    131
    47
    31
See reviews for
40
165
54
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Urdorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
319 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Service is good, maintenance is poor in the 'old' rooms, however the 'newer' rooms are nice, spacious and well maintained. Breakfast is an excellent buffet with a wide variety of choices. It has on site parking which is affordable, but not to be recommended for bigger cars if the upper level is full.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddoron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This hotel was excellent value for money. Within walking distance of the central station and the city, the rooms were spacious and clean. The only negative was the breakfast which was fairly basic and disorganised. However, we did not go hungry.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mafidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Hotel rooms were spacious, breakfast room and breakfast was nice. My mom and aunties were big fans of the hotel and breakfast!

But it is a bit far from Rotterdam Central station. I don't think it's walkable (well you can try if you want - we did with luggage and gave up). We also wanted to go to Kinderdijk windmills site and the receptionist didn't know much about it - oddly. She almost discouraged us to go (i.e. it's so far). Lucky we did because it was such a lovely place!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dioni Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel was located about a 5 minute walk or so from the city center. It's in a quiet neighborhood that's mostly residential.

The hotel is pretty basic. You have everything that you need. The rooms are clean and the staff is very kind. Front desk was very helpful in pointing out things to see in the city and where all the restaurants were. Free breakfast was included so that was nice.

They were fixing something in my room when I arrived. There were workers drilling and fixing something in the bathroom. It was just slightly inconvenient but I left my things in the room and went to explore the city. When I returned, they were gone and cleaned up after themselves.

WiFi did not work on my floor the whole time I was there. I didn't mind too much since I was barely at the hotel. I just went down to either the lobby or the next floor and sat in the hallway until I was done using the internet.

Good value for the stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbbalonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on Monday of this week. Hotel reception area is extremely well presented and room was standard but clean - only paid 60 euros so didn't expect too much. The bathroom was small and the shower wasn't the greatest but bearable for one night. Hotel reception sells a small selection of drinks and snacks but seem overpriced 2.50 euro for a bottle of water. Hotel isn't too far from a number of worthwhile sights and the city itself has a few hidden treasures. Parking onsite is secure and reasonably priced. Would recommend this hotel but would suggest opting for one of their superior rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed in this hotel during the North Sea Jazz festival 2012. It has been among the last reasonably priced locations at the time of booking. The facilities of the room were rather basic, but clean; except for the small bed room was well-equiped. Breakfast selection was below average. Location is ok (not far from the station and public transport stops), albeit you can try to find something more centrally located.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,287 reviews
NH Atlanta Rotterdam
#20 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rotterdam

Property: Hotel Rotterdam
Address: Schiekade 658, 3032 AK Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rotterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rotterdam
Rotterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing