We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better..!”
Review of Hotel Rotterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rotterdam
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Reviewed October 8, 2011

I arrived at the hotel to be greeted by 3 receptionists which I thought was a bit over the top but assumed it might be a sign of the good service they were about to provide. I was given my key card and took the very slow lift up to the second floor and then followed the corridor around to the back of the hotel where the single rooms are usually found. All I wanted to do was dump my bag, have a quick shower and then go out and explore Rotterdam.

First problem: the key card didn't work and after 5 minutes making sure I was inserting it into the slot correctly I accepted defeat and took the slow lift back down to the reception desk. One of the 3 receptionists (I noticed that they had all swapped seats!) pressed a few buttons on her computer and then told me the card should now work. I took the slow lift back up to the 2nd floor and luckily the key card now worked.

Second problem: like most people I had a quick look around the room which in this case was small with a single bed, wardrobe, desk with kettle and tea/coffee etc, lamp and telephone. I had a lovely view out the window of several aprtment blocks! On the wall was a portable TV so I decided to flick through the channels - but there was only 1 channel which was a bad version of BBC News 24 but in Dutch! There appeared to be 4 pay-per-view channels but I was too scared to go to any of them in case I got billed a stupid amount of euros.

Third problem: I didn't really want to watch the TV anyway so decided to take a shower. The bathroom was small and compact with the usual free toiletries but.... ....no towels! I searched high and low but couldn't find any so headed off towards reception (again) using the slow lift (again). Luckily I didn't have to go far as there was a store cupboard along the corridor and the door was left open so I just grabbed a towel and went back to my room!

In conclusion, I would have expected a better level of service from a Best Western hotel - key card didn't work, no towels in the room, one TV channel (what is the point?), and I should mention that even though I put the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door handle the cleaner still knocked on the door asking if the room needed to be cleaned! Plus the pillow was too thin.

I was going to rate the hotel 2 out of 5 but I've marked this up to 3 out of 5 only because the breakfast was plentiful and included in the price for my room and the hotel is only a 10 minute walk from Central Station and all of the shops and bars.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matt_pool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 469 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2011

Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. It is not too far away from Central Station, about five to ten minutes walk. Can buy a three-day tram pass to travel around as the tram station is right across the road.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stay only one night @ Rotterdam. The location of the hotel is good. Next to Schiekade tram station (few stations from central station by tram 20/25). But don't event think to walk from central station.

Overall is ok. Room in good (not spacious but ok), bed is ok, bathroom is clean. The hotel is a bit dated but i think i got the new renovated room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RitchieKurniawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night before taking a Holland America crusie the next night. We selected it because it was within walking distance of the train station and we had taken the train from a stay in Amsterdam. Rooms were small, but clean and the bathroom was OK. We had requested a non-smoking room, which we did not get. When we asked to change rooms, they said none were available. The free Internet connection didn't work the entire time we were there. The desk saff were friendly and they did serve a nice breakfast. It was OK for a short stay at a reasonable price, but nothing special.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oompahdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

In my stay, everything worked well at this hotel: the services, the infrastructure, the Internet (free WiFi), the restaurant. And it is in a good location.

Room Tip: The double rooms are much better than the single ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Psergiocunha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

although rated as four star the standard is not four star,just an ordinary budget hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank SINGARAMMOHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

4*. Maybe in 1980, when the last renovation was done. Mouldy odor, dodgy mattress, and barely functional toilet. Do yourself a favor, go somewhere else. Even a 2* -- you're bound to do better.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasonboris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 53 in Rotterdam
832 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
H2OTEL Rotterdam
H2OTEL Rotterdam
#14 of 53 in Rotterdam
354 reviews
Worldhotel Wings
#12 of 53 in Rotterdam
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rotterdam

Address: Schiekade 658, 3032 AK Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range: $62 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rotterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rotterdam
Rotterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing