We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel,lovely people.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thon Hotel Rotterdam
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel,lovely people.”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great hotel, nice people ,grand position. Enjoyed a room over looking the bridge. Very clean and quiet. I think theres a benefit to running a marathon while on a break everyone quiet and to bed early.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Appleh0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    161
    112
    32
    10
See reviews for
34
156
29
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed for two nights for marathon. Hotel was easy to find, about 25 minute walk from Central Station and just ten minutes from the marathon expo and start of the race. We arrived very early due to early ferry but the receptionist was able to give us a room immediately and upgrade us. She was very friendly and welcoming
The room was spacious and clean with magnificent views andhad a balcony. It lacked storage space, no drawers at all and a tiny hanging space so we had to live out of our suitcase. Bath was large and plenty of hot water even on Sunday after the marathon! Wifi was free but breakfast was very expensive. We took our own porridge, bread etc. The bar was nice and friendly and all the staff were lovely. It was pricey but it was marathon weekend so it was to be expected. We would recommend it

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spudman111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

A good. if a little basic, central hotel if in Rotterdam on business. Nice views over the river and in walking distance of some local bars and restaurants.

Hotel restaurant not great, but bar and bar-meals quite good. A very friendly bar area.

Room pretty basic, but clean and has all you need if just staying for one or two nights. Would recommend a room with balcony for smokers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnbuoy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
149 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I was a little worried, that the hotel would be a bit out of the way, but I booked it anyway, as I got a great deal. Being there, I realized that it doesn't really get much better in Rotterdam than being absolutely water-front with direct view of the Erasmus Bridge. We would've walked there anyway, so it actually was on our sightseeing route.

We arrived at Blaak Station (next to the cube houses), the hotel was an easy 10-15 minute walk. Centraal Station was a bit farther, maybe a 15-20 minute walk. However tram no.7 stops directly in front of the hotel, giving you a direct connection to the Centraal Station.

The interior of the hotel seemed to have been renovated a few years ago. Our room (407) was functional and clean. I did not have the feeling that the room was small (as other reviews mentioned), we even had a rather large sitting area. (See pictures.)

The only problem was noise: traffic on the bridge (especially trams) was clearly audible.

The breakfast buffet was nicely presented with good selection.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bejo_hu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We got a good price as we took "round the house" type of room. We got a room that was hardly big enough for both to move around, especially the bathroom (we were joking that you can use the toilet and the sink at the same time, that's how close they were). However, the room was clean and for the price we paid we are satisfied. I don't know about the size of other rooms though...
The location is great, just in front of the river and Spido boats departure point.
The staff is polite, but rather cold. The breakfast is charged 18 EUR per person, wifi is not free, if you came by a car you get a free parking infront of the hotel grom 11 pm till 9 am, otherwise a parking in the nearby garage will cost you around 27 EUR per day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here because snow forced us to book an extra night in Rotterdam and this was next door to the hotel we had been in, which was now full. I wish we had looked around more. We paid 40% more than the night before, and, moreover breakfast was not included, but neary 20 Euros each extra! The room was cold and dreary with very little storage space. Clean enough but rather cold and austere.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the riverside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed here on my own at the last minute for one night after a travel mix-up. The reception staff were vry helpful and allowed me to make a tentative reservation for two nights incase I had more problems the following day.

The view is fantastic and the hotl is a short walk from many of Rotterdam's attractions and city centre. I had single room which was very basic but perfect for what I needed. The wifi was a bit tricky but once you work it out it is quite fast.

Also, upon checking out I had to wait for several hours in the lobby and upon seeing this the receptionist bought me a coffee from the cafe next door which was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeseyPow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Manager at Thon Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
I appreciate your enthusiastic review about this hotel: I am glad to read that we could contribute in a positive way to your stay because of a ‘travel mix-up’.
It is good to read that you experienced a helpful attitude from the staff and a service appropriate to your situation.
Of course I hope we may welcome you again in the future; but then in better circumstances for you.

Best regards
Tulip inn Rotterdam

Eric Slabbekoorn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
681 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,218 reviews
NH Atlanta Rotterdam
#20 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Rotterdam

Property: Thon Hotel Rotterdam
Address: Willemsplein 1, 3016 DN Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Nieuwe Werk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Rotterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Rotterdam is a modern hotel offering breathtaking views of the famous Erasmus Bridge and Maas River in the centre of Rotterdam. We boast 92 air-conditioned guest rooms with full en suite facilities, free Wi-Fi, 2 meeting rooms, a bar and a restaurant. With our friendly service and large choice of packages and special offers for business and leisure guests our hotel is the ideal base to explore Rotterdam. Thon Hotel Rotterdam Hotel assures you a good stay in Rotterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Rotterdam
Rotterdam Tulip Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing