We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thon Hotel Rotterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thon Hotel Rotterdam
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
169 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Overall good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Overall a good place. Very centrally located, directly on the riverfront. Easy to start your walk to exploring the city. However, as in most parts of the city, parking is relatively expensive (26EUR per 24hrs, even more when parked on the street). Breakfast is very good, but better fruit juices should be considered :) Rooms itself are large to large enough, equipped with nice wooden floor. Water pressure is not perfect, but also not a reason to complain. Overall, good recommendations, in good walking distance to the city center as well as to the places attractive to tourists. Walls are not very soundproof, but the hotel is also not so fully booked these days.

Room Tip: You may chose river view for additional 10EUR charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sischka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Manager at Thon Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear guest,

I appreciate you took the time to leave your comment about your stay at this hotel.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed most of it.
We try to improve ourselves every day so I am thankful for your tip about the fruit juices: we spent quite some efforts to improve our breakfast within the last period. We might consider offering fresh juices in the future in our breakfast concept.

Concerning the parking: there are a couple of options in the outskirts of Rotterdam, to park your car free of charge. They are well connected to the metro lines. This might be a good alternative if you would visit Rotterdam again?

Please feel welcome to stay with us the next time you visit Rotterdam.

Eric Slabbekoorn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    142
    100
    31
    8
See reviews for
28
138
26
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Tulip Inn received top ratings in 2011 for the best Tulip Inn under the Louvre Hotels Group, well I hope the rooms we were in were old or something because if this place was considered "TOP" last year, i can't believe what the others look like. You pay for what you get i guess but the bed and pillows are not TOP in anything, besides the fact that our room had a smoke stench, I only overnighted so no need for a change, the view on the side of the bridge is pretty nice. Now back to the beds, the linens seem quite worn, and the mattress doesn't provide much support. The bathrooms have no washcloths but the only provide douchegel. Its seems to be typical for some dutch hotels to not supply washcloths, I called front desk for one, and I was told thats unavailable. For the rest was an "ok" room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

this hotel isn't very fancy or special, but it's conveniently located and not too expensive.
So that's why I would stay here again.
I booked the cheapest room through my company supplier (115 €), so I received a small room with no view.
But the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast good enough (quite pricy though - 18 €).

Dinner is provided in the bar of the hotel, and it's not bad - but next time I would go out and find better quality food for a better price.
It's OK for one evening, but I guess if you stay here more nights, the choice is rather limited.

Positive: you receive 1 hour free use of Wifi with a code to be obtained at the reception.
Also the personnel at the reception is very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chitza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Hotel is located in the city center, near the Erasmus bridge, very convenient to visit the city.
Rooms are clean, comfortable (some rooms have a beautiful view on the river).
People at the reception are very nice.
You can park your car in the street of the hotel, but you have to pay until 23:00 and it is expensive.
Breakfast is very good (large choice of fresh products).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maincene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Thank you so much for the great service, the taxi order and the always great information on many issues. We are very happy to recommend them.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
445 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a good location to explore Rotterdam and is close to the metro. The #7 tram is literally just outside the door of the hotel and the hotel overlooks a beautiful bridge and waterway. We had a very nice, but very small room, overlooking the water. We stayed three nights and on the morning of the second day we looked out our window to see the beautiful Holland America Rotterdam in port. The next day the huge Princess Lines' Grand Princess was in port so this gives you an idea of how well-located this hotel is. Will stay here again but probably will reserve one of the bigger rooms next time.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the water. End rooms are pretty small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thunderbird12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Booked this room with some loyalty points. The room was fine, and in a great location, and very clean. It was a good fit for my family. Breakfast was expensive 20 euros extra per person. You are kind of trapped there for breakfast as there aren't a whole lot of other restaurants in the area. My only complaint was the front desk staff, who was not informed on the loyalty program. She insisted that I could not use a voucher that I had, even when I had pre-arranged it, and had proof of payment. Thank goodness I am neurotic and made print out copies of e-mails. After she spoke with her manager, she accepted my information, telling me that this was "the first time" she'd seen this program. There was no apology for behavior. So I think they need some additional training. Other than that, it was nice, and we would consider staying again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
NH Atlanta Rotterdam
#19 of 52 in Rotterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
A Small Hotel
A Small Hotel
#29 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Bilderberg Parkhotel
#11 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Rotterdam

Property: Thon Hotel Rotterdam
Address: Willemsplein 1, 3016 DN Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Nieuwe Werk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Rotterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Rotterdam is a modern hotel offering breathtaking views of the famous Erasmus Bridge and Maas River in the centre of Rotterdam. We boast 92 air-conditioned guest rooms with full en suite facilities, free Wi-Fi, 2 meeting rooms, a bar and a restaurant. With our friendly service and large choice of packages and special offers for business and leisure guests our hotel is the ideal base to explore Rotterdam. Thon Hotel Rotterdam Hotel assures you a good stay in Rotterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thon Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Rotterdam
Rotterdam Tulip Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing