We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Basic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thon Hotel Rotterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thon Hotel Rotterdam
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in a single room which was extremely small, and the en-suite facilities cramped. Didn't get to have breakfast as there were no free tables when I went: but it saved me an extortionate 18 euros. Slept well, though, and the view over the Maas and the Erasmus bridge was really something.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chase24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    141
    100
    31
    8
See reviews for
28
138
26
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lemesos
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

i came to rotterdam awaiting for a ship which i needed to visit. the room (#610) got a good size (small bathroom though!) and in general well kept. located just above the "spido" and close to main tourist attractions including shops, maritime museum and good restuarants. breakfast buffett was complete. dinner restaurant was good however ran out of steaks when i went to eat! :-( that night bayern played against real madrid and may have influenced the number of people eating there and with hormones asking for meat! :-) wi-fi was additional to the price.

Room Tip: room 610 seems a good double bed room. have read that some rooms are small!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank divermariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

The rooms arre the size of a box, wifi in the room is an extra € 6,95 p/d and breakfast is an extra €18,50 per day. Ridiculous.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Domenico P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

Location- very good near by the cith center.
Service- good.
WIFI- cost 10 Euro's per day.
Rooms- most of the rooms are very very small and claustrophobic.
Cleanliness- very good.
Price- High compare to what u get.
Summraize- Nice hotel for business trip, very small room but a tasty Hotel resturant.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Summarizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerja, Spain
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

I would like to give this a hotel a rating of 3 1/2 stars, but that isn't an option here. My wife and I stayed here for one night at the end of a 10 day tour around Holland and Belgium. The hotel is in a very nice scenic location right on the riverfront. We had a room overlooking the Erasmusbrug (10 euro up charge) which was quite nice. The room itself was really tiny. It would be bad enough for one person, but for two it was borderline ridiculous. The person who designed the room apparently forgot that people travel with luggage. Hop scotching over your bags in the middle of the night in a strange room is never a fun option! The bathroom is the smallest allowed by law and if you have a couple of extra pounds on your frame you will become intimately acquainted with all of the fixtures. Make of that what you will! To put an even finer point on it, there is only room for one bath towel. On a positive note, the room was very clean. Breakfast was included in our room rate and we thought it was one of the better ones we'd had. That being said, I definitely would not have paid 18 euro a head for it as others were charged. There are limited dinner options in the neighborhood, but we found a nice place to eat around the corner. Granny's Grill had some awesome BBQ ribs! Also worth checking out is the bar next door. The Maritime Cafe had some real characters assembled for a session! Great local color!!
The Tulip Inn wasn't too bad for one night, but if I were to stay in Rotterdam again for more than one night I would probably look for something else.

Room Tip: River views are worth the 10 euro premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Campodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

A very nice business hotel and staffs are helpful. I stayed there for 2 weeks for my business trip. The location is excellent. 15 mins walk to the city center and many restaurants nearby. The room is not big but just perfect for a single traveler. I had the room with the view of the Erasmus Bridge. Spido and waterbus stop are just next to the hotel.

The only complaint is the breakfast. 18.5 are just too expensive.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravel0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

I stayed at the Tulip Inn for 4 nights in January 2012 during Rotterdam’s annual film festival. I did have one of the riverfront rooms and can confirm that the view was great (particularly when the bridge lit up in the evenings!) I found the staff to be somewhat cool but helpful when asked. Breakfast seemed fairly pricey (18 euros) so I did not opt to eat at the hotel – however there also does not appear to be much nearby to eat either - so you may find yourself trapped into it. For me, it was somewhat chilly, and there were not heat adjustment options I could see. I also found that they cleaned the room quite early (9 AM) – so often I was awoken by a knock on the tour. The rooms are clean and serviceable, but I think American travelers will find them pretty small. You have just about enough room to walk around the bed. I thought the towels were also incredibly tiny – but they did have great hot water. One aspect that was good was a computer set up for guest use in the level below the lobby. I found the internet connection to be fast and the computer never in use! In terms of location the hotel is close to #7 Tram line, but a bit far to walk from Central Station (probably 35 minutes by foot.) The price was not at all high so business travelers might find this a good budget option.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EastCoaster36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
NH Atlanta Rotterdam
#19 of 52 in Rotterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
A Small Hotel
A Small Hotel
#29 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Bilderberg Parkhotel
#11 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Rotterdam

Property: Thon Hotel Rotterdam
Address: Willemsplein 1, 3016 DN Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Nieuwe Werk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Rotterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Rotterdam is a modern hotel offering breathtaking views of the famous Erasmus Bridge and Maas River in the centre of Rotterdam. We boast 92 air-conditioned guest rooms with full en suite facilities, free Wi-Fi, 2 meeting rooms, a bar and a restaurant. With our friendly service and large choice of packages and special offers for business and leisure guests our hotel is the ideal base to explore Rotterdam. Thon Hotel Rotterdam Hotel assures you a good stay in Rotterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thon Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Rotterdam
Rotterdam Tulip Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing