We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel, lousy restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark
Ranked #11 of 55 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We spent three days in Novotel Brainpark this August.

As there is so many reviews on this hotel, so just some points that perhaps were not so often commented:

All the rooms are the same quality and size, so do not bother with upgrading to the superior (or whatever they call it) room - it the same as regular room, only sleeping gowns and perhaps a bottle of water are added in the room.

If you want a truly quiet room, as for the one overlookig the Erasmus University. We did that and the room was prefectly quiet. Three other sides of the building face the highways or rather busy streets. Our room was "regular" one, so you do not need the superior room to be on the quiet side.

The rooms are quite big, but have a disappointingly little wardrobe space. Actually, there are only two small boxes that could be called wardrobes, the remaining open shelves also do not provide enough space for the clothing.

The hotel is located outside of the city (there is spacious free parking for hotel guests), but there is a metro station within 7-10 minutes of walk, providing good connection to the town center. Warning: make sure to check when the metro gets closed at night, we were once surprised how early this happens and had to take a cab.

The breakfasts, although not spectacular, are plentiful and offer many choices. Pity that because the hotel is so large, the breakfast area gets crazy crowded and noisy. Do not expect any relax with the cup of coffe and newspaper, not here.

Think twice before having a dinner or lunch in the hotel restaurant (no other choices nearby...). They simply do do not cook well. We tried both lunch and dinner, and were disappointed each time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank turysta78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,033)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank tbw2013
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The service was very good. The room was very clean and very spacious
The menu in the restaurant was good and food was very tasty
The location was close to the center, lot of bars and cafe's
A nice hotel and it is worth to stay overnight again


  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank William V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Included breakfast buffet is quite good, and if you need to go to Erasmus University, it's across the street. However, I found the staff to be standoffish which was funny considering that every other Dutch customer service person is shockingly warm and helpful. My main difficulty was being from the US where the credit cards don't have chips yet. So, to buy metro tickets, you need coins. Well, don't ask the hotel for coins! Heaven forbid you ask for change at a hotel desk, what a crazy and unreasonable request! So that left a sour taste in my mouth. That, and the stain on the wall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Booked here to allow for a quick family trip into Rotterdam and to the Blijdorp zoo prior to heading back to the UK.
We were greeted by very friendly and pleasant staff and our hotel rooms where spot on, being located on the 11th Floor with a wonderful view. The family room had a good size double bed and a double sofa bed, perfect for out budget. The hotel does not have a pool as expected but it does have a small and useful gym on the top floor.
Located quite a way out of Rotterrdam centre for walkers, the Hotel has a Metro within 5 mins of walking which takes about 20 mins to the centre and costs about €6 each
Hotel has a lovely looking resteraunt but as we had children and it looked more for business users than family we did not dine.
The room had everything required and was very comfortable. Small issue with the cleaning with rubbish found in a cupboard and an old kiwi fruit under the bed but v.small issue.

Room Tip: Don't use the Metro if with a group for getting into Rotterdam. The cost and hassle is high due...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elefant350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just returned from a coach trip to the Netherlands with Newmarket over the bank holiday - stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and was really impressed with what we got for the money that we had paid. Big out of town hotel on a business park, no probs when you are taken everywhere by coach,nice modern large rooms with great facilities. Bar area downstairs is nice and the staff all very friendly. We arrived late after having been delayed in traffic but 24 hour limited menu available and we had a great home made pizza in the bar - just what we needed.O verall very happy with our stay there and would recommend this hotel for business or leisure travel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on business many times over the past two years and they always took care of me.

The staff are attentive, service is quick, the rooms and communcal areas are clean, the food is good - everyone there does a fantastic job.

It has everything you need for a business trip.

I tried a few other hotels in Rotterdam, but really, when you are on business you just want things to be efficient so you are not waiting around and I was never waiting around here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArtemisLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 55 in Rotterdam
868 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 55 in Rotterdam
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Worldhotel Wings
#13 of 55 in Rotterdam
186 reviews
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#4 of 55 in Rotterdam
1,461 reviews
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark

Address: KP Van Der Mandelelaan 150, 3062 MB Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
#10 Green Hotel in Rotterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range: $87 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark is a modern, entirely non smoking 4 star hotel, with free parking. The hotel is easily accessible, just a 5 minute drive from the centre of Rotterdam.Our convenient location makes the hotel ideal for a business trip to Rotterdam, meetings and conferences or a relaxing weekend away. Our guests feel at home in our pleasant rooms and are welcome to relax with a drink in our modern bar or enjoy an exceptional meal in our restaurant or dinner in front of the TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark Hotel Rotterdam
Accor Rotterdam Brainpark
Rotterdam Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing