We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“World museum, world class cuisine”

Wereldmuseum Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 998 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, European, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Heemskerk, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“World museum, world class cuisine”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Invited for lunch here by a close associate, I was amazed by the quality and, most of all, the finesse of this restaurant's servings. Extremely attentive service, with a nice informal touch but still very correct. Perhaps a bit too detailed descriptions of the various dishes on the menu, but then again: once served they proved to be every bit as perfect to the detail promised. I decided to go for the special of the day, worth it alone for the trouble the waiter went through to mention just about every single ingredient (once again, perhaps a bit too much, but too friendly to blame anyone). Very thoroughly matched tastes, every bite a sensation. Truly great. Portions were perfect, too. Never too crazy about dessert, this left me just the space to be lured into having it this time. Worth it: enjoyed another perfect match of different tastes, perfectly portioned. Last but not least, the wine cellar very well stocked. I had never heard of the World Museum, have not visited the museum yet, but now have the best possible excuse of doing so in the near future. Because we'll have lunch at this restaurant once again. World class cuisine.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gerardpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    58
    11
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schiedam
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent for having some nice wine”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We decided to visit the restaurant after visiting the museum. First of all the museum time was amazing. Then for refreshening we decided to go and enjoy some refreshment in the restaurant., and to our surprise the wine menu was exquisite. The idea of the wereld ´world´ is also applicable to the wide selection of wine they are having.

I totally recommend the place, specially because is in front of the river and you will have an amazing glass of wine with an unforgettable view of the river.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dykwia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
151 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A unique spot”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We had a private dinner in a room on the 4th floor and that was truly unique. A great view over the "Nieuwe Waterweg" with ships coming buy and a perfect picture of the very special design of the Willemsbrug.
From the moment we walked in till when we left we were taken care of very well. The food was phenomenal and the service just perfect.
There is also a regular restaurant and bar on the ground floor which were very good.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smookToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
114 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice location good food”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We went there for lunch and besides the nice location (maybe you could end up with parking problems though) the lunch itself and the various tastes were outstanding. Not really cheap so not a place for a quick and inexpensive lunch but nice to go with customers or friends and enjoy a long lunch or dinner.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjalok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

After having been back to this restaurant for the second time I can honestly advise anyone who enjoys excellent food, service and atmosphere to visit restaurant Wereldmuseum in Rotterdam. Although it may seem somewhat expensive, it is absolute good value. This restaurant has made a fantastic move to the top in only 2 years and as far as I'm concerned they deserve a Michelin star. Will go back there shortly with business clients.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiTorrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wereldmuseum Restaurant also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Wereldmuseum Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing