We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel van Walsum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel van Walsum
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great stay!!”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Great area if you are in the city for Erasmus, still close to main streets and there is a supermarket 5 minute walk.

Rotterdam quite boring for a tourist unless you are into museums… Don’t waste time on Binnenrote market. Very good Italian restaurant near the hotel called Spaghettata.

Hotel is nice, good bar and breakfast area. There is a fun small garden to sit and/or smoke.
Stuff is welcoming and helpful. After entering a first door, you have to wait to be buzzed in the hotel, this feels very safe.

We had a superior room, was very large, 2 closets, 2 sofas, work desk and chair. Very good shower, nothing bad to say about the room!
Maybe one small thing, if you are planning on staying in your room and watch TV, so the TV is very small and old, but do have some good English channels.

Breakfast is good. The exact same food offered each morning, but it is ok for the three mornings we stayed.

Close tram and bus stations. Not sure if this location is the best if you want to be at city center.
If ever come back to Erasmus I will defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inbal n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    126
    34
    7
    0
See reviews for
36
113
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ponta Grossa, PR
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The hotel staff was great! I arrived in a super hot day and my room had no air conditioner. I asked for a fan, and they brought me one, but then the hotel wasn´t full and they upgraded me to a super nice bedroom, with air, for free! The staff was so nice and so helpful. The breakfast is very good and the location of the hotel is also nice!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlineMeloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We loved our stay at the van Walsum. The rooms were great and the staff were very accommodating and helpful. We didn't have breakfast there, but went to a nearby restaurant. It is a good hotel to relax in as there are a couple of different sitting areas. We played cards with another couple in one of the areas. There is a small bar, but we had our own drinks. If there was a downside, it was a little far to walk to anything for someone who has feet that don't like walking, but having said that, I'd stay at the van Walsum again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limotrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
103 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel was in a good location - within strolling distance to the excellent museum district and on a couple of tram lines.

The hotel recommended a couple of the local bars and restaurants and we were happy with their choices.

Will definitely plan on staying here next time we visit Rotterdam

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EAWhitley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Really lovely staff who were all very welcoming. The room was a great size and the breakfasts were amazing.We liked the staff, the cost and the location. No complaints at all.
Lovely little garden as well (with a friendly little cat that comes to visit).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a traditional building with classical style rooms with high ceilings.
It is conveniently situated for the centre of town on a quiet street.
Although the rooms are traditional, they are very well equipped- air conditioning, T.V..(with BBC1 &2), iron and board and tea/coffee making facilities. Very comfortable beds.
There is a bar which also serves light refreshments and a breakfast room which serves a great selection of hot and cold buffet food ( Euro 13.5). These public areas have very modern décor.
The staff are very helpful and efficient.
A great place to stay and good value!.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great location in easy walking distance of Witt de With and the old harbour. Located near tram line 4.

Pleasant and helpful staff. Nice outdoor garden courtyard for food and drink. Bar open till late.

Rooms are small and compact, but well laid out. Good shower/toilet.

Room Tip: 36 - small and compact but clean and well suited to my needs (4/9/2013)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wan-Ling-Tea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Oude Westen
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#18 of 52 in Rotterdam
175 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,218 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 52 in Rotterdam
407 reviews
Cool
A Small Hotel
A Small Hotel
#31 of 52 in Rotterdam
43 reviews
Oude Westen
Hotel Breitner
Hotel Breitner
#24 of 52 in Rotterdam
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel van Walsum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Walsum

Property: Hotel van Walsum
Address: Mathenesserlaan 199-201, 3014 HC Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Oude Westen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel van Walsum 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel van Walsum is a cozy city-hotel in the centre of Rotterdam. A 6 minute walk will take you to the Museumpark. Free WiFi is available throughout the whole hotel. Other features include a paid private parking space and a 24-hour reception. The hotel is situated in three historical buildings that have been renovated recently. Each of the 28 rooms is unique and has been furnished with charm and design. You are welcome at our bar for a drink or a small menu. Weather permitting; the private garden is an absolute favorite. For lunch and dinner our staff can recommend one of the many cafes and restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is ideally situated for a visit to the Markthal, Boijmans van Beuningen museum, the Kunsthal, het Nieuwe Instituut, the Erasmus Medical Centre or the Sophia children's hospital. Attractions such as the Blijdorp zoo, the Ahoy event centre and Spido harbor tours are easily accessible by public transport. You can start your day wonderfully with the extensive breakfast buffet; including freshly baked bread, bacon and eggs, as well as several biological and fair-trade products. The hotel is characterized by the hospitality of the family and their staff. They aspire to make your stay at Hotel van Walsum an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel van Walsum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Rotterdam
Rotterdam Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing