We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean, simple stay in Rotterdam.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel van Walsum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel van Walsum
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Mons, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A clean, simple stay in Rotterdam.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

This a very affordable hotel.
Although the room was a bit dated, but the atmosphere was very easy going. Amenities are few
, and late night meals are not the specialty. There are only 27 rooms. I was lucky to get one with a balcony (rm24). The staff was quite helpful with directions around the city. Don't expect a lot of extra services as you would a four star.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keelah_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    126
    34
    7
    0
See reviews for
36
113
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

Van Walsum is a family run place and I only saw a total of 3 staff members in the course of a 2 week stay. It may be small, but it is also quaint and nice!
The restaurant is very, very small but that didn’t matter because I only had my breakfast there (that was part of the room rent). Breakfast was typically Dutch (lots of varieties of sausages, salami, cheese etc) and I quite enjoyed it since I like trying new things. But if you were a vegetarian, the only thing you could probably eat is bread with butter/jam/cheese; with some coffee or fruit juice - because everything else is non veg.

The room was clean and well maintained and always serviced to perfection. The wardrobe had a digital safe with a card containing very clear instructions about how to set your own password and lock and unlock the safe. This was very useful for storing my travel documents and valuables that I didn’t want to carry around with me.

Staff understand English and are very helpful with giving you directions and advice about what to visit. Overall a beautiful experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LManghat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London Ontario Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Not only was the location what we wanted, but the service was very good as well.
The Van Walsum has all the earmarks of a family run business and it showed in the care they took in ensuring that we felt at home.
Parking was provided in a secure location
We (and our friends) have nothing but praise for the people and the hotel
Mary and Joe Ruitenbeek.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrustratedBIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

Thismulti-generational family-run hotel is lovingly designed and run. With a warm greeting, and genuine care throughout our stay, we felt at home in this hotel. Our room was very clean, large, and comfortable. Lovely garden, funky cool lobby. Best breakfast ever. Easy access to public transit and walking distance to most attractions. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and would gladly return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unkagabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

We just got back from a 3 night stay at Hotel Van Walsum in Rotterdam. I was sure that with all of the positive reviews we would have a great stay but it turned out to be less than pleasant.

The positives:
-super helpful, friendly staff
-free internet
-decent breakfast with great cheese
-self-serve WMF coffee machine
-nice bar/terrace area
-safe 15 euro parking
-decent location (10 min walk to shopping district)

The negatives:
-super old room
-all twin beds (we pushed 2 together for my husband and myself- not the most comfortable)
-old linens- my pillowcase was ripped
-super old, dirty carpet (the whole room smelled musty. in fact, we had trouble sleeping with the stench. this was also a problem since we were traveling with our 9 mo old son)
-gross, smelly line-dried towels
-loud water noises throughout the night whenever someone flushed a toilet
-loud lawnmower-like elevator noises

We stayed in room 2. Perhaps the other rooms were more modern and more pleasant. I can't attest to that. We couldn't have switched as we needed the extra space for our son.

I think next time we'd opt on a newer hotel in the suburbs or splurge for a nicer hotel downtown.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guccipgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch, nz
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

Nice room, good location, great service and lovely breakfast. The panelled 'reading room' containing computers for guest use is particularly beautiful, as was the little garden outside (although a little chilly to use during our stay). My colleague forgot to bring a UK plug adaptor but reception had one available to lend to her.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saintsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

I came across the hotel by chance, I and a friend had planned a cycling holiday through Holland but on day one my friend suffered a heart attack and was hospitalised in Rotterdam. I was referred to the hotel by the hospital admin dep't and what a piece of good luck that turned into! The staff took an interest in my plight and immediately organised the collection of the bikes (some 50k away in remote Zeeland). They sympathised and spent countless telephone calls arranging taxis and rearranging ferry tickets. At no time would they seek compensation and on top of all that, the accommodation, food and genuine unselfish service were outstanding. Many thanks to all the staff and particularly to Tony and his friend Marc (the provider of the van used to recover our bikes). The best.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Troodos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Oude Westen
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#18 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 52 in Rotterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
A Small Hotel
A Small Hotel
#31 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Oude Westen
Hotel Breitner
Hotel Breitner
#24 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel van Walsum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Walsum

Property: Hotel van Walsum
Address: Mathenesserlaan 199-201, 3014 HC Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Oude Westen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel van Walsum 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel van Walsum is a cozy city-hotel in the centre of Rotterdam. A 6 minute walk will take you to the Museumpark. Free WiFi is available throughout the whole hotel. Other features include a paid private parking space and a 24-hour reception. The hotel is situated in three historical buildings that have been renovated recently. Each of the 28 rooms is unique and has been furnished with charm and design. You are welcome at our bar for a drink or a small menu. Weather permitting; the private garden is an absolute favorite. For lunch and dinner our staff can recommend one of the many cafes and restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is ideally situated for a visit to the Markthal, Boijmans van Beuningen museum, the Kunsthal, het Nieuwe Instituut, the Erasmus Medical Centre or the Sophia children's hospital. Attractions such as the Blijdorp zoo, the Ahoy event centre and Spido harbor tours are easily accessible by public transport. You can start your day wonderfully with the extensive breakfast buffet; including freshly baked bread, bacon and eggs, as well as several biological and fair-trade products. The hotel is characterized by the hospitality of the family and their staff. They aspire to make your stay at Hotel van Walsum an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel van Walsum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Rotterdam
Rotterdam Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing