We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dark cold rooms, poor bath rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Dark cold rooms, poor bath rooms”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I am a regular visitor of this hotel, because I regularly visit for business a company located nearby and the location is very convenient for me: The train station (Blaak) to Amsterdam airport is very close.

I hate the poor lighting of the rooms, especially the bath rooms, and how cold they are in the Winter: the poor aircon system runs only when you stick the room key-card into the device, otherwise seems to be off. They exaggerate with the energy saving: everywhere saving-lamps, which take very long to really light a little bit up. Apart of this, rooms are rather worn out and in urgent need of an updating, especially again the bath rooms. Their breakfast buffet is rather poor and repetitive.

Personnel cool and distant. You may be a 1000 times visitor, credit card in advance is always required.

All in all, not worth whant they charge.

Room Tip: The higher levels are better, not so much noise and more natural light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryM-Stanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoline M, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor. Your comment is of great value to us and I am very sorry it is not what you expected. We are working to give all our rooms an upgrade. This year the rooms will be painted and all the beds will be renewed. We will take further action on your comments!
I hope to welcome you again in our hotel. I would like to get in contact with you so I can apologize in person for the inconvenience you have had during your stay. I will then make sure everything will be perfect for your next stay!

With best regards,
Nicoline Montanus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    459
    263
    66
    30
See reviews for
137
481
45
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We came back to this hotel 3 times in 2 weeks and I must say we looked forward each time. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this hotel. Location is amazing, situated in center of rotterdam, near shops, cafes and stations. Staff extremely friendly and courteous, service v good. AC wonderful and cold. Showers perfect and lovely smelling soap. Breakfast is very good also. Beds are comfortable and clean. There is a laundrette behind two streets down, supermarkets and Blaak metro station. Very convenient. Good for a family or business. This is the only hotel i will visit when i go to rotterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoline M, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. If there is anything at your next stay we can improve or anything else you might be needing please let us now. We would like to welcome you again in the Hampshire Hotel – Savoy Rotterdam.

With best regards,
Nicoline Montanus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is spectacular. I have stayed here for 1 week, rooms are great, very clean with good AC. Location is right near the shopping center within walking distance of station blaak. The staff were so friendly and helpful and I would without a doubt come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoline M, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback on Tripadvisor. We hope to welcome you again in the Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam!

With best regards,
Nicoline Montanus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Basic convenient hotel. Nothing fancy and don't expect any bells or whistles but we liked it.
It's only downfalls are below standard cleaning crew where you are always short of towels or toilet paper and you feel that they are cleaning your room at a minimum effort.
It would have been nice if breakfast was included too but we highly recommend this sensible hotel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samb576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoline M, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor. Your comment is of great value to us and I am very sorry the cleaning was not what you expected. We will take further action on your comment and we hope to welcome you again in our hotel!

With best regards,
Nicoline Montanus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Hotel is nice , breakfast is ok , well located , u have to pay to watch tv. , very decent staff , room is good , room space is fine , clean ,

wifi is perfect .

have a good memories there and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahmed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoline M, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We would like to welcome you again in the Hampshire Hotel – Savoy Rotterdam!

With best regards,
Nicoline Montanus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent one night here and we have to say that is a very very normal hotel only to sleep as a road hotel.
The curtains, furniture, linens and towels were very old. Also the TV is old. The bed not confortable.
They have to renew all the installation, on the outside it looks pretty good but the inside is dark and old.
The breakfast very very expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cangulers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoline M, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor. Your comment is of great value to us and I am very sorry it was not what you expected. We are working to give all our rooms an upgrade. This year the rooms will be painted and all the beds will be renewed. We will take further action on your comments! We hope to welcome you again in our hotel!

With best regards,
Nicoline Montanus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotterdam hotels

Cumbria
Level Contributor
111 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Not the best by a long way. A little dated and tired, but more than good enough of you can get it at the right price. If you can get for £50 or under take it. Above that, you need to look around. It's not a bad backup. Close to metro station which takes you to Rotterdam Central in two stops, and from there you grab a direct train to Schiphol airport.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoline M, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We hope to welcome you again in the Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam!

With best regards,
Nicoline Montanus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Atlanta Rotterdam
#20 of 52 in Rotterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark
#10 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam
Address: Hoogstraat 81, 3011 PJ Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Stadsdriehoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A city break to Rotterdam? Then Hampshire Hotel – Savoy Rotterdam is the perfect place to stay. Comfortable and very central in the heart of Rotterdam, it is easy to access by car, train, tram and boat. And all the tourist attractions are within reach; the Kubuswoningen by Piet Blom, Blijdorp Zoo, the Euromast, Kunsthal Rotterdam, Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen and the Maritiem Museum Rotterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Savoy Rotterdam
Rotterdam Eden Savoy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing