We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remains very good indeed”
Review of Zeezout

Zeezout
Reserve with
Zeezout is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 1,019 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
london
Level Contributor
152 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Remains very good indeed”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I have been here several times, and each time had a really good meal. This time we had a surprise 3 course meal, at lunch, which was both interesting and good. Cannot now remember the details, other than excellent contrasting flavours, all beautifully presented. Service was good, but not surprising, as only 3 tables occupied, which was surprising for a Thursday. Ambience is good, location good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank lteast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    88
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Formal, good concept, would go again!”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

My boyfriend took me for a dinner date knowing my love for fine dining. We arrived at 8 pm, the atmosphere was classy but rather formal (men in business suits, bright lights, later they were dimmed). Just before entering saw a couple arriving with a personal driver..:) Inside had a feeling like I saw some of the people in some magazines or maybe on TV.. just a feeling.

Our welcome was all right, we were seated at the table. Some people say that there is not much space between tables, which is true, but I didn't experience any inconvenience because of this.
Food was good, , but flavors quite strong. I felt that the emphasis was on putting a lot of intense flavors on the plate, which overpowerd the fish, but maybe this was the idea. It was a good experience, just different. Fine cutting and food processing techniques were observed, so definitelly suited for a sophisticated eater.

By the way, bread and Guernsey butter are worth mentioning! House chardonnay was pretty excellent too (buttery and fruity, will look it up to get a bottle at home!).

Didnt quite get the personal connection with the waiters, they did they job just fine.

Overall, a good restaurant! Worth to be in the top 5? Yes! Fish and Rotterdam goes well together. But left with a really heavy stomach... Pobably should have skipped the desert.

Try it for yourself!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alisa_Kokorina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“ok, don't bother if you are not local….”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

good food, bad head waiter,rude head waiter…kept sticking his big butt in my food….tight tables, food ok but not this bozo…full of himself...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank victoria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best fresh seafood!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Amazing seafood restaurant with very fresh fish. The food was exquisite. Check out my full review and pictures here: http://hungrybubblyberries.wordpress.com/2014/04/23/zeezout-rotterdam/

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hungrybubblyberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
700 reviews
484 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“The best seafood”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Went last week end with my parents after reading so many good reviews on tripadvisor. I have to say I was not disappointed. The service is professional and friendly. I had the lobster tempura and the chef wasn't happy with the result so he re made it - only had to wait an extra 5 minutes for it- and it was cooked to perfection. It was also beautifully presented and original, with the lobster presented in balls on sticks. My mum had the Bouillabaisse and it was de constructed - fish served separately from the soup. I would love to go back, the prices are not high for the quality provided. Perfect to impress customers or for a special occasion.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LOLANetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zeezout also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Zeezout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing