We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, terrible experience, health hazard.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bilderberg Parkhotel
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The staff were very friendly and welcoming. I had paid extra for "VIP treatment". I was given a "garden room" which was small and a bit shabby but seemed OK, despite the smell from the bathroom. A very friendly waiter brought a snack, noted the smell and advised me to seek a new room if it did not improve- but I was really tired, so I rehearsed my lecture and went to bed.
Then the endless knocking or loud dripping sound, I think from above, precluded sleep. At 02.30, in desperation, I asked for a new room to be told that the computer was "locked" for audit. One hour later they called to see if the noise was fixed and it was not. They were simply unable to provide another room.
After blocking my ears with paper, I dozed fitfully before going into the smelly bathroom. The plug in the sink did not work. The shower fitting was loose and it took several minutes to jam it in a way that permitted a shower. The shower floor was curved upwards and lethally slippery- a real and definite danger- one had to brace against the edges.
I was in poor shape to give my seminar at Erasmus University, and to be alert for the thesis defence. In the morning, I had to pack my bag because no other room was yet available. In fairness, when I returned, I was given a large, clean and smell-free room in the tower block.
I am sad to write this but the lack of basic maintenance is not fair to either a guest or to the concerned and hospitable staff. And I am simply appalled to be charged for the first night which was miserable and, frankly, dangerous.

Room Tip: Absolutely refuse a "garden room". The tower is fine.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BilderbergParkhotel, Manager at Bilderberg Parkhotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Ian G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Bilderberg Parkhotel. I am very sorry to hear that your first night in the Bilderberg Parkhotel was not good. We have used your feedback to prevent accidents in the future. Our technical staff has repaired the shower fitting, plug in the sink and have dissipated the unpleasant smell. I am pleased to read that you did find our staff and service good.

Thanks again, and I hope to welcome you again at the Bilderberg Parkhotel.


Kind regards,


Janneke van Beuzekom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,171)
There are newer reviews for Bilderberg Parkhotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 1,171 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel is very well situated in the center of Rotterdam. Close to the subway and bus service. You can access the internet and the wifi is excellent. The restaurant and bar in the hotel is great and the staff is attentive. English is no problem all staff speak english. The rooms are clean and well maintain. Shopping is close by.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Michel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BilderbergParkhotel, General Manager at Bilderberg Parkhotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Michel O,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the Bilderberg Parkhotel Rotterdam. I am please to read that your stay has been great. I have passed on your compliments to the concerning departments.

Thanks again and I hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,

Janneke van Beuzekom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Payed 90€ for a night without breakfast
Much to expensive for this room that looks more like 3 star
Please do not take rooms that look out the the road you will not sleep wel of all the cars driving by

Service check in was good

No safe in the room that is very bad if you have some money that you want to take outside

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BilderbergParkhotel, General Manager at Bilderberg Parkhotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Danny L,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. I'm sorry to hear that your stay hasn't met your expectations. I am pleased to read that you did find our staff and service good. Please next time ask our reception desk to point out the safe in your room, as every room is equipped with one.

I hope to welcome you back in the Bilderberg Parkhotel.

Kind regards,

Janneke van Beuzekom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had booked a garden room. However, on our arrival it was about 35°C outside and these rooms do not have air-conditioning. We were offered an executive room in the tower for a surcharge of 10 € per night, which we took.
The executive room was very spacious. There was a bath and a shower. Everything was clean. It was a pity the windows didn't open though so we couldn't air out our room the next morning.
There is wi-fi available, but you have to pay for it, which I find ridiculous for a business hotel. The breakfast buffet was included in our room rate. Breakfast was good, but when it's not included in your room rate, it costs 25 € per person which I find exaggerated.
What I liked the most about this hotel is its great location: it's within walking distance of the central station and near the Witte de Withstraat with a lot of bars and restaurants. We never had to walk far for a meal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marrijke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BilderbergParkhotel, General Manager at Bilderberg Parkhotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Marrijke,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences of the Bilderberg Parkhotel. I'm glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. The WiFi we have available is a very safe network with a wide broadband. It's secure for our business guests to use and it's very fast. Therefor, we charge a small fee for the use of it.

I have shared your positive comments with the concerned department, and I hope to welcome you again in the Bilderberg Parkhotel!

Kind regards,

Janneke van Beuzekom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Starting to look a bit old and tired. Came here for a week during a heat spell and the air conditioning didn't work at all. After complaining twice was able to switch rooms. At first the broken ac wasn't acknowledged. Was billed for items that were never purchased.

Excellent breakfast buffet and service. May be better choices.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave TN Y Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BilderbergParkhotel, General Manager at Bilderberg Parkhotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Dave TN Y Y,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the Bilderberg Parkhotel. I'm sorry to hear that the staff at the reception desk didn't respond adequatly to your complaint about the airconditioning. We will use your feedback to prevent any other accidents from happing again in the future. I will forward your compliments about the breakfast to the relevant department!

Thanks again, and I hope to welcome you again soon at the Bilderberg Parkhotel!

Kind regards,

Janneke van Beuzekom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Centrally located close to Rotterdam Centraal station (15 mins. walking). Spacious and clean rooms. Good internet connectivity, great breakfast. In-house restaurent not so great but plenty of good eating places within walking distance. Some noise from streets if facing the main road and on lower floor.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arvid59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BilderbergParkhotel, General Manager at Bilderberg Parkhotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Arvid59,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Bilderberg Parkhotel. I'm haapy to see that you have enjoyed your stay, and I will forward your compliments to the relevant departments.

Thanks again, and I hope to welcome you again soon at the Grande Dame of Rotterdam!

Kind regards,

Janneke van Beuzekom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Functional, clean hotel with good service. Staff are polite and helpful. Well located in the Rotterdam city. Room is very spacious with large closet and bathroom.

Room service menu is limited after 930pm but still acceptable.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CodyKow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BilderbergParkhotel, General Manager at Bilderberg Parkhotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear CodyKow,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Bilderberg Parkhotel. We really appreciate feedback given to us by our guests. I have forwarded all your compliments to the concerned departments.

Thanks again, and I hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,

Janneke van Beuzekom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,342 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,225 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
788 reviews
Cool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilderberg Parkhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Parkhotel

Address: Westersingel 70, 3015 LB Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Rotterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
#12 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range: $120 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilderberg Parkhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkhotel originally dates back to 1922 and has been offering outstanding service and hospitality in the port city of Rotterdam for more than 90 years. The entire ground floor of the Parkhotel was renovated in 2014. The original DNA and unique Parkhotel atmosphere have been retained and combined with contemporary design. The 189 comfortable rooms have every convenience you would expect of a four-star hotel. Several of the rooms have a balcony with a view of the wonderful city garden. The Deluxe and Executive tower rooms, at a higher level, offer a wonderful view of Rotterdam. The hotel has 50 secure parking spaces, a sauna and fitness facilities. Restaurant The Park - inspired by Erik van Loo offers contemporary design, a cosy aperitif bar, Cigar Lounge, Private Dining and a wonderful veranda which opens onto the city garden and the terrace. The menu features signature dishes by Erik van Loo, among other specialities. The chef patron of the restaurant Parkheuvel, which has been awarded two Michelin stars, is the supervising chef of The Park. Together with chef Richard de Vries, he creates outstanding dishes which are characterised by their quality and simplicity, combined with a playful twist. In 2014, The Park won the Rotterdam Gouden Pollepel award. The Algemeen Dagblad newspaper gave The Park the following review: 'A restaurant which scores highly in every detail and means that Rotterdam can now join the ranks of other global cities where locals are used to eating in a high-calibre hotel restaurant.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bilderberg Parkhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Parkhotel Rotterdam
Bilderberg Parkhotel Hotel Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing