We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bilderberg Parkhotel
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Spain
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not a 4 star.”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Staff in reception was very friendly. We was given a room in the old part of the hotel. It is very hard to get to the room with luggage. It is first up to 2nd floor with a lift from 1940's then up and down stairs and trough doors and finaly down a very narrow staircase. The room (1070) was not clean, a lot of dirt on window frame, broken fan in bathroom. TV was an old 12 inch, at least 20 years old.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms in the old part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OleBSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    449
    162
    68
    26
See reviews for
100
520
47
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here. Found an amazing deal online, the Bilderberg (4 star) is located a 7-10 minute walk from the train station (construction detours). 1-2 minute walk to the museums, 5 minutes to shopping, metro station nearby. The reception area decor was tasteful/modern, the staff: hot and cold (good during our stay but on the cold side at check-in, we are backpack travellers so not much to look at but have done the dorms to 4 stars).

First off, there are two sections the old and the new side. We stayed on the old side, our large room had a great view of the facing the museums (thumbs up to the great art gallery - fantastic paintings/sculptures, etc, worth it, good lighting and no line ups! and at night NAS (?) lights up). Hallways were worn but clean. 4-stars in europe are rated on amenities/offerings. The room décor was worn but very well kept, clean. Our room was very large (I don’t remember the room type we booked), expansive room and panoramic window - with comfy beds and good shower pressure and generous work desk/area in the room. Good TV viewing selection. Defined seating area to enjoy the view. Wifi was extra :( restaurant/lounge - we did not eat there. Check in/out was efficient. Upon check-in they immediately switched us to twin beds we requested online (there was no option when we booked and no extra charge). Definitely worth it given the deal we got online.

Travellers from Canada

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I have stayed here several times as my company has a corporate rate. I am not impressed by the hotel by any means. That said, they staff are very friendly and helpful. It is an odd building and sort of three buildings combined into one. I was in the executive rooms, with the higher floors serviced by one elevator. I have never stayed in the other areas. The gym is in the basement is adequate but not really nice and is part of an old spa that doesn't look like it has been used in some time. The bar and restaurant are usually empty. I have not liked any of the food (bar the apple pie) and found it way over priced. There is much better food a short walk away. The rooms feel old and dated. A small old tv with no channel guide, continually fishing around for English channels sucks. but the really annoying things are the little ones. Only 1 free power socket in the room... Cord for the tea kettle is so short you have to set it on the floor to use, and the iron (has to be requested from reception) has to be squeezed into the corner to use. Then try and use your laptop and charge a phone... stupidly annoying. Anyway, not happy here, but not upset. But rules are rules, when I am here on business, this is where I will stay. Of its my choice... Well...

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We booked this hotel through the ryanairhotels.com (like trivago, they search the cheapest offer), and the booking was made through venere.com as this was the cheapest offer we found, and we stayed there from 3th august till 5th august. We booked a ''deluxe room''. Like it wasn't really possible to find out what a ''deluxe room'' is, we looked this up at the homepage of the hotel, so a deluxe room is located in of their towers, with air conditing, coffee&Tea making facilities. (we've done this before booking).
As we arrived in the hotel, we showed the reservation and we got a room in the old building.
(you have to take the elevator, and then after the elevator, we had to walk 5minutes through the whole level, stairs, and again stairs)
Arrived in the room I realised that it wasn't the room we booked, and after looking decently, we realised that the room wasn't also clean (hair in bed, dust everywhere, bathroom not clean etc)
So we went down to the reception to get the problem fixed. They promised us to clean the room. Arriving 3 hours later to our room, we realised that the room hasn't been cleaned. So we went back to the reception, and we got a bigger room (still not the room we booked), and our dog for free during the stay (At the arrival the man at the reception said that dog costs 15€/day, and this time he told us 25€/day)
So this room was bigger (It was seeable that the room hasn't been used before us for a long time), the bed and the bathroom was clean, but still there was everywhere dust, still dirty curtains, dirty windows, dirt on the windowshelf. Still no air-conditioning, no coffee/tee making facilities, old couch with burn mark etc..... As we had enough, we didn't say a word, and made the best of the situation, ( we had the comfort of being able to open a little bit the window)
We weren't able to use the minibar since it was locked during our whole stay (although the room service ''cleaned'' the room), so we had to go to a supermarket to buy our own drinks.
On the floor outside of our room there was dirt from friday till saturday, they didn't even thought that it is necessary to clean the floor just with a hoover.
On saturday, there was a water-defect, so that we weren't able to use the toilet/shower. We also just noticed this because we wanted to use the toilet, and no water came. After asking, they told us then that we have no water because they have a defect. (They have to tell this immediately to their customers)
So as we checked out, I told the blond lady in the reception that our minibar was locked (after she was asking if we used the minibar), and instead of apologizing and telling us that it is their fault, the blond lady had the guts to tell us (in an not friendly way), that it us our fault that the minibar was locked down, and that we had to ask them to get the minibar opened, as there is ''summerfestival'' (we still don't know what summerfestival is, and maybe they should tell this their customers at the check in).
Their old rooms would be great, if they would maybe clean them really and decently (without dust, without dirt on the windows).
Being honest: Book this hotel just through their own internetsite! Otherwise you will also be maybe once in the same situation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CookiePeppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den haag
2 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Perfect location and friendly helpfull staff. We loved the breakfast. We really enjoyed our stay in just the right part of Rotterdam. Very nice hotel! We woud love to come back soon to zee other sites in Rotterdam.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 688Nancyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Wifi is bad here. Even the expensive one for rent one hour was terrible.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Geir55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Very clean rooms and friendly service. A good value for money stay

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank XavierDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,290 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,160 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,397 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
744 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#6 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilderberg Parkhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Parkhotel

Property: Bilderberg Parkhotel
Address: Westersingel 70, 3015 LB Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Rotterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
#12 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilderberg Parkhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkhotel originally dates back to 1922 and has been offering outstanding service and hospitality in the port city of Rotterdam for more than 90 years. The entire ground floor of the Parkhotel was renovated in 2014. The original DNA and unique Parkhotel atmosphere have been retained and combined with contemporary design. The 189 comfortable rooms have every convenience you would expect of a four-star hotel. Several of the rooms have a balcony with a view of the wonderful city garden. The Deluxe and Executive tower rooms, at a higher level, offer a wonderful view of Rotterdam. The hotel has 50 secure parking spaces, a sauna and fitness facilities. Restaurant The Park - inspired by Erik van Loo offers contemporary design, a cosy aperitif bar, Cigar Lounge, Private Dining and a wonderful veranda which opens onto the city garden and the terrace. The menu features signature dishes by Erik van Loo, among other specialities. The chef patron of the restaurant Parkheuvel, which has been awarded two Michelin stars, is the supervising chef of The Park. Together with chef Richard de Vries, he creates outstanding dishes which are characterised by their quality and simplicity, combined with a playful twist. In 2014, The Park won the Rotterdam Gouden Pollepel award. The Algemeen Dagblad newspaper gave The Park the following review: 'A restaurant which scores highly in every detail and means that Rotterdam can now join the ranks of other global cities where locals are used to eating in a high-calibre hotel restaurant.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bilderberg Parkhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Parkhotel Rotterdam
Bilderberg Parkhotel Hotel Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing