We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative hotel”
Review of Hotel Bazar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bazar
Ranked #23 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

A friendly, creative hotel. As mentioned in other reviews, each room is decorated differently, in either Middle Eastern, African or South American style. Rooms vary considerably in size so make sure to check which one you pick. The lacking door to toilet and shower makes this less suitable for traveling with someone you don't know very well.
The breakfast is really good and comprehensive, and the location central. A good choice of bars and cafes is nearby. Witte de Withstraat can get a little noisy at night but not to the extent that it would have disturbed me while sleeping with open window.
Don't expect luxury, don't expect 4 stars, but if you like creativity, to try something different and if you are young (at heart), this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FerrisXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 175 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed at Bazar for two nights during a business stay. Centrally placed in a cool area of town. Big bed on the floor, no door to the bathroom, and a giant shower/tub. A fun hotel out of the ordinary. Good food and perfect for grabbing a drink in Witte de Withstraat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay in Hotel Bazar. The staff on reception are very welcoming and extremely helpful.

We liked the concept of the hotel and found it interesting, yes some if the decor is run down but we didn't care, all the necessities are there and they were good enough. Our first night was spent up on the south American floor, the top floor. Be aware that if you book a room on this floor you will have to climb the last flight of stairs up as the lift doesn't go all the way up. The room was nice and we had a nice balcony to sit on as well.

The rest of our stay was spent in a room on the African themed floor. The room was really big and the bed was huge, the only issue I had was the fact that there was no bathroom door, just beading. It wasn't a huge issue but it could be for some people, especially any new couples that have planned a romantic weekend away!

The location is really good, lots and lots of shops/cafes/bars/restaurants, the train station is walking distance, as is the euro mast tower. The hotel restaurant is excellent as well and is really good value.

The only thing I would be wary about is the noise from outside, most of the rooms if not all face a busy street full of bars. It was pretty noisy but not too bad when I stayed during the week and a few people have commented about the noise at the weekend.

We enjoyed or stay overall and would definitely come back. It's an experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Well, the concept is still nice and original. Also liked the staff at the reception as well as the delicous breakfast at the resto. On the downside: the room we stayed in was somewhat shabby and worn out and the beds way too often used to be comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marvin_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

The main reason I chose this hotel is the weekday price for a centrally-located hotel, but I wanted to try it anyway because of the unusual decor and the very popular Bazar restaurant. Last night, I stayed in room 202 which was clean, cool and comfortable. Despite it being on the restaurant / bar street, I did not hear the noise and slept well. Wonderful, huge breakfast is included in the price. Very good service. And, the taxi stand is right at the corner.

Room Tip: Every room is different. Choose from their website http://www.bazarrotterdam.com/read/hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Idonotcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

A real bazar of rooms in a modern charming city, for real travellers.
We chose from the web site one of the african rooms, the larger, original and colorful room we've had, with wooden floor. The wonderful bathroom have no door! (amusing and enjoyable for us, not for everyone).
Each floor is a different continent. Going round the hotel we saw the south america top floor: really kitch with religious iconography, colorful windows and plastic flowers. Nice the middle eastern floor, with oriental atmosphere.
Breakfast is nearly a lunch and it's in the bazar restaurant: homemade pancakes, jam, butter, egg, cheese, wheat and white bread, yoghurt, fresh orange juice
The last night we tried the restaurant, good but in my opinion you can find better places.
The hotel is in a central position on a main road.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonia_liguria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

I like this hotel. It has an atmosphere. I stayed there for a few days and I was really satisfied. It is very original hotel where every room is something special. Breakfest were tasty and I can recommend this hotel to everybody who doesnť like ordinary hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
H2OTEL Rotterdam
H2OTEL Rotterdam
#14 of 53 in Rotterdam
349 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,466 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 53 in Rotterdam
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oude Westen
Hotel van Walsum
Hotel van Walsum
#22 of 53 in Rotterdam
283 reviews
Quartier Du Port
#29 of 53 in Rotterdam
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bazar

Address: Witte de Withstraat 16, 3012 BP Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Cool
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range: $96 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bazar 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bazar Hotel Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing