We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Outstanding hotel & services” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel New York
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel & services”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

It's not just the location. Its not just the building or the history. Or the fantastic beds they have. The nice room with a great view. No..it's the package. Hotel New York gives it all. And with a smile.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Digiplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you so much for the positive words.
It is a very big compliment that you liked the whole package.
We give it all with a lot pleasure and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    345
    49
    21
    4
See reviews for
139
445
21
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Where else would you want to be to experience this historic city? To be able to drift back into the past in such a skillful way, is in itself an experience.We enjoyed the calm, spacious, elegant room (a patio room) with its 'liner' furnishings and very acceptable bathroom. The lively bustle from the ground floor restaurant was only heard on descending the beautiful wrought-iron staircase. Reception staff were quietly present . The outdoor riverside eating/sitting areas are fabulously positioned to enjoy the fascinating and constantly flowing river traffic. (Sailing-mad husband was in heaven!!) Definitely our only choice now for visiting this incredibly exciting city. The hotel is at the very hub of its activities yet succeeds in being an oasis of calm for travellers.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandErica38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
I am happy to hear that you had a good time in our hotel!
We try to keep the Holland America Line story alive and I am glad that we succeed.
Thank you for writing this review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkdale Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed overnight in the Hotel New York in Rotterdam before boarding the ms Rotterdam on her cruise to Norway. A perfect place to stay, lots of action, great, enormous hotel rooms and a fantastic location.
We had breakfast there with a lot of family members the next morning and everyone was very impressed.

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
How nice to hear that you stayed with us before going on a cruise.
I am glad that you enjoyed the nostalgic atmosphere of our hotel.
We hope to see you again sometimes in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

many people do not know that there are more bars and restaurants in Rotterdam than Amsterdam. It is a great city for a short break.
What makes it so special is a stay at The Hotel New York. I have been staying here for over 20 years and it has consistantly delivered. The rooms are spacious and none are alike some with fantastic views the bar and restaurants inside and out are very good value and the standard of food is very high.
Then what better way to start an evening out than a boat ride across the river on one of the hotels wooden launches. Fantastic all the way. Well Done HNY.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you very much for the fantastic compliments. And of course we are looking forward to welcome you to Hotel New York for many more years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The New York Hotel is a perfect place to stay when needing accommodation before boarding a ship. It is a short walk to the shipping terminal. The building was the former offices of Holland America Line. An excellent restaurant and attractive comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
It's nice to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The excellent cosmopolitic atmosphere of the grand Hotel New York Rotterdam, together with its emblematic features of emigration, of embarking and of the starting point of a great journey, significantly contributed to the feast. We enjoyed and are most grateful to the attentive staff of Hotel New York.

Room Tip: All rooms indeed have much character. Rooms with a view from the front perhaps are most enticing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cl m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the historical elements in our hotel. And I am happy to hear that you liked the way our staff welcomed you. Hopefully we will see you once again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel really has a heart and soul.
I love this place not only because of the location, history and charm but also professional service, delicious food and unique design of the rooms.

Fantastic during late spring or early summer...
I was completely content

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Truziomka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Mrs Truziomka,
Thank you very much for your positive review.
I am happy that you liked the nostalgic atmosphere, the service and the food.
We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 53 in Rotterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#5 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
nhow Rotterdam
#8 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#4 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 983 reviews
Cool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
#6 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New York

Property: Hotel New York
Address: Koninginnenhoofd 1, 3072 AD Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#9 Green Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel New York is located in the beautiful former headquarters of the Holland America Line, situated on the banks of the river Maas in Rotterdam in The Netherlands.A visit to Hotel New York is both a journey into the past and into the future. The nostalgic building symbolizes the departure of many emigrants with hope and tension of their new homeland.The agitated history is still touchable in the building: many pictures and suitcases of the emigrants, as well as the 6 former board rooms are keeping the history alive.Hotel New York has 72 exceptional hotel rooms, 7 unique halls and meeting rooms. The ground floor features a large café-restaurant, where 400 guests can enjoy an extensive or simple a-la-carte meal in any price category from early in the morning until late at night. High ceilings, colourful lights, sturdy nautical elements and robust tubes and pillars provide a maritime and industrial atmosphere, where everyone feels at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Hotel
New York Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing