We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel & services”
Review of Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel New York
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 6, 2014

It's not just the location. Its not just the building or the history. Or the fantastic beds they have. The nice room with a great view. No..it's the package. Hotel New York gives it all. And with a smile.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Digiplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you so much for the positive words.
It is a very big compliment that you liked the whole package.
We give it all with a lot pleasure and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,259)
There are newer reviews for Hotel New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 1,259 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014

Where else would you want to be to experience this historic city? To be able to drift back into the past in such a skillful way, is in itself an experience.We enjoyed the calm, spacious, elegant room (a patio room) with its 'liner' furnishings and very acceptable bathroom. The lively bustle from the ground floor restaurant was only heard on descending the beautiful wrought-iron staircase. Reception staff were quietly present . The outdoor riverside eating/sitting areas are fabulously positioned to enjoy the fascinating and constantly flowing river traffic. (Sailing-mad husband was in heaven!!) Definitely our only choice now for visiting this incredibly exciting city. The hotel is at the very hub of its activities yet succeeds in being an oasis of calm for travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandErica38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

I am happy to hear that you had a good time in our hotel!
We try to keep the Holland America Line story alive and I am glad that we succeed.
Thank you for writing this review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed overnight in the Hotel New York in Rotterdam before boarding the ms Rotterdam on her cruise to Norway. A perfect place to stay, lots of action, great, enormous hotel rooms and a fantastic location.
We had breakfast there with a lot of family members the next morning and everyone was very impressed.

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor was great.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

How nice to hear that you stayed with us before going on a cruise.
I am glad that you enjoyed the nostalgic atmosphere of our hotel.
We hope to see you again sometimes in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

many people do not know that there are more bars and restaurants in Rotterdam than Amsterdam. It is a great city for a short break.
What makes it so special is a stay at The Hotel New York. I have been staying here for over 20 years and it has consistantly delivered. The rooms are spacious and none are alike some with fantastic views the bar and restaurants inside and out are very good value and the standard of food is very high.
Then what better way to start an evening out than a boat ride across the river on one of the hotels wooden launches. Fantastic all the way. Well Done HNY.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you very much for the fantastic compliments. And of course we are looking forward to welcome you to Hotel New York for many more years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The New York Hotel is a perfect place to stay when needing accommodation before boarding a ship. It is a short walk to the shipping terminal. The building was the former offices of Holland America Line. An excellent restaurant and attractive comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

It's nice to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The excellent cosmopolitic atmosphere of the grand Hotel New York Rotterdam, together with its emblematic features of emigration, of embarking and of the starting point of a great journey, significantly contributed to the feast. We enjoyed and are most grateful to the attentive staff of Hotel New York.

Room Tip: All rooms indeed have much character. Rooms with a view from the front perhaps are most enticing.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cl m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the historical elements in our hotel. And I am happy to hear that you liked the way our staff welcomed you. Hopefully we will see you once again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel really has a heart and soul.
I love this place not only because of the location, history and charm but also professional service, delicious food and unique design of the rooms.

Fantastic during late spring or early summer...
I was completely content

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Truziomka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Mrs Truziomka,
Thank you very much for your positive review.
I am happy that you liked the nostalgic atmosphere, the service and the food.
We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
nhow Rotterdam
#6 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,578 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,225 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,342 reviews
SS Rotterdam
#9 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,884 reviews
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 52 in Rotterdam
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New York

Address: Koninginnenhoofd 1, 3072 AD Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
#9 Green Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range: $123 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel New York is located in the beautiful former headquarters of the Holland America Line, situated on the banks of the river Maas in Rotterdam in The Netherlands.A visit to Hotel New York is both a journey into the past and into the future. The nostalgic building symbolizes the departure of many emigrants with hope and tension of their new homeland.The agitated history is still touchable in the building: many pictures and suitcases of the emigrants, as well as the 6 former board rooms are keeping the history alive.Hotel New York has 72 exceptional hotel rooms, 7 unique halls and meeting rooms. The ground floor features a large café-restaurant, where 400 guests can enjoy an extensive or simple a-la-carte meal in any price category from early in the morning until late at night. High ceilings, colourful lights, sturdy nautical elements and robust tubes and pillars provide a maritime and industrial atmosphere, where everyone feels at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Hotel
New York Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing