We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sail Away”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel New York
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sail Away”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We did stay in Hotel New York after a mini cruise with the NCL Breakaway.
We did love the hotel for his ambiance and great breakfast.
Our tower patio room was large and clean with a lot of nostalgic items of cruisships.
Our room had A large flatscreen and a great nostalgic bathroom.
At our late arrival (23:00 our) the service was very friendly and check-in was quick.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Royalstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    405
    57
    25
    6
See reviews for
168
514
27
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I literally booked three different hotels for this trip before settling on the Hotel New York. What swayed me were the solid reviews and the proximity to the cruise port.

I generally don't go for "boutique" or "quirky" hotels, but made an exception in this case. I booked a waterfront room directly through the hotel for a reasonable rate (especially as it included WiFi). Unfortunately, my room didn't face the cruise port, but as the room was huge (and I've read some are tiny) I didn't consider moving to a different room. I was a little concerned as there was a step down to the bathroom, figuring this could be problematic at night, but there was a nightlight positioned at the step.

We met friends we were sailing with for dinner and drinks. The reviews of the restaurant are very good, and I think the presence of so many locals is proof of that! DH had oysters which he deemed to be very fresh and lamb which he found to be tasty. I opted for more of a snack with bread served with a variety of dips. Very nice.

Unlike the States, Europeans don't seem overly concerned with turning over tables, so we passed a few hours enjoying each others company.

Breakfast was pricey (when isn't it at a hotel) but the buffet was good and plentiful. I made sure to have bread as I'd heard from Dutch colleagues that the bread in the Netherlands is wonderful and it was very nice.

After breakfast we walked to the cruise terminal which probably took about two minutes. Seriously, walking out of the front door of the hotel that morning, the first thing you saw was our ship.

If I ever find myself cruising out of Rotterdam again, I would definitely book the Hotel New York.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cubechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

It's an interesting hotel in a lovely building that houses a buzzing restaurant with good quality grub. The service is nice and friendly, but I expected unique rooms in a unique property. I booked a waterside room. And although the interior is fine, it's style is dated and feels too much like a identi-kit hotel chain room. So nothing special. I had a really nice time but I would recommend trying the tower or board rooms instead if you're looking to experience the grand old lady in all its glory.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The New York Hotel evokes a time when travel had glamour and free baggage. Themed brilliantly, every turn reveals a new, or rather old, piece of the glory days, when any journey took a while, and there was time to see it all. All of this, without sacrificing quality in accommodation or food. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The restaurant staff deserve special mention for their care and attention. Senior management has severe food allergies, and they took care that her meal was both safe and excellent. Job done! We took the water taxi to the city…great fun, especially if you can get them to turn up the gas.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamnumber6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

If you have business at the Port of Rotterdam, why not stay next door? Plan ahead, especially in summer! Hot water never lacks. Nespresso in your room (bring your own capsules) and great proximity to the fotomuseum and waterfront.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joehydro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed at the HNY again this week whilst travelling with work and the hotel never disappoints. My room was split level with a view over the river and packed with features from when building was the last stop fro people travelling by ship from Rotterdam to New York.
Great atmosphere in the bar and restaurant at lunchtime and in the evening. Would highly recommend the hotel whether travelling on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonB1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poortugaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

It is one of the most famous places to visit in Rotterdam. If your are coming for the restaurant it is the place to recommend for sure. Parking’s in the surrounding are plenty. Building is surrounded by hypermodern skyscrapers. Contrast is very nice. Giving to Kop van Zuid excellent charm. Restaurant kept a spirit of old times, like a whole hotel anyway. Sea food is very good. Service is fast, professional and very kind. Restaurant is always very busy and reservations are to be recommended. It is one of our favorite places to go out. Restaurant is also not closing too soon and for people who wants to go out, stays open even until midnight or later.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ness-SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,071 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,384 reviews
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 52 in Rotterdam
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,218 reviews
SS Rotterdam
#9 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,683 reviews
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New York

Property: Hotel New York
Address: Koninginnenhoofd 1, 3072 AD Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
#9 Green Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel New York is located in the beautiful former headquarters of the Holland America Line, situated on the banks of the river Maas in Rotterdam in The Netherlands.A visit to Hotel New York is both a journey into the past and into the future. The nostalgic building symbolizes the departure of many emigrants with hope and tension of their new homeland.The agitated history is still touchable in the building: many pictures and suitcases of the emigrants, as well as the 6 former board rooms are keeping the history alive.Hotel New York has 72 exceptional hotel rooms, 7 unique halls and meeting rooms. The ground floor features a large café-restaurant, where 400 guests can enjoy an extensive or simple a-la-carte meal in any price category from early in the morning until late at night. High ceilings, colourful lights, sturdy nautical elements and robust tubes and pillars provide a maritime and industrial atmosphere, where everyone feels at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Hotel
New York Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing