We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deeeelicious!”
Review of Kwiezien

Kwiezien
Ranked #19 of 1,006 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Dutch, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Deeeelicious!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

The staff were extremely accommodating towards the end of a busy Saturday night's service, excellently informed & enthusiastic about the dishes.
Four of us ate a superb selection of small dishes. We started with an appetiser of corn croquettes then each ate 3 or 4 dishes & shared side dishes of salad & crispy-skin fries.
Each dish was freshly prepared. We ate a wonderful combination of ingredients & flavours; cured salmon with wasabi cream; perfect scallops with grapefruit & smoked butter; baby sole in leek bouillon - one of us even had room for scrumptious lemon pie. With glasses of sparkling brut rose, bottled beer & water our bill came to 130 euros - we were replete & can wholeheartedly recommend this restaurant.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    57
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places in town”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Kwiezien serves great food, fine wines and has wonderfull staff. Have been there several times and always have a great evening out. Park your car at parking lots around hotel New York or get out at subway station Wilhelminaplein and cross the footbridge behind hotel NY for a nice stroll before and after dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TamdG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice and modern”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

this restaurant was recommended to us by a friend, and we know his taste and were sure that we need to go there. and it is amazing! food is so nice and fresh, decoration is perfect, modern, and taste is just to die for. really something very nice, menu is to satisfy all tastes.
Portions are maybe small, but that is usual for this kind of the restaurant.
Many thanks to great staff for very nice evening!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Super food, excellent service”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We go here twice a year or so. The food is always beautifully presented and tastes wonderful. They are always interested in feedback and we love their standard of service.

The dishes are all about the same size and you can mix and match as you wish. They also have excellent wine recommendations. Wine arrangement is also available in half glasses.

You should definitely try their "bitterball" of the season as well as Remco's homemade limoncello.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melledb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West
Level Contributor
171 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Small in setting, big in delivering”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I recently had both a dinner and lunch experience in this restaurant and I truly enjoyed it.

The restaurant is nice and cosy, but somewhat compact. Staff here is very friendly with chef Remco leading by example. He regularly checks himself how his guests are doing.

The menu offers of 4 starters, 4 middle and 4 main courses as well as 4 desserts. Portion sizes are small, so I advise to go for a 4 course lunch or dinner at least. On the other hand, prices of all dishes are € 8,75, so all in all very modest which invites you to taste as much as possible. The wine list is rather small with some nice offers with most bottle prices in the high thirties. Wine pairing is offered with both full and half glasses to accommodate the drivers of the group. Prices per glass are a bit steep for what you are getting.

I opted for a four course dinner and started with a delicious duck liver combined with ice cream of beetroot. My second course was a Dorade filet with antiboise which was very nice. In between, chef Remco ‘threw in’ an extra course, being a large sized Bitterbal (a Dutch speciality) with changing fillings, being one of the signature dishes here. You can’t get better than this. For main I opted for the duck breast with red wine/pepper dressing, which was cooked to perfection. I finished off with a small cheese platter, which was good too.

All in all a very nice experience where guests are met with friendly smiles from staff members that offer top notch service and a sous-chef and chef that cook divine food with a lovely twist.

I am looking forward to my next visit to Kwiezien.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurentPerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kwiezien also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Kwiezien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing