We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard, no frills, bit dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Netherlands
Level Contributor
136 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Standard, no frills, bit dated”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Bit dated, but still clean enough. Some stains on carpet, but spotless bathroom.
Room didn't cool below 23 degrees, while outside it was much cooler.

Dinner not very good.
Breakfast is nice. Especially the fresh rolls, which were extraordinary.

Stayed in spacious suite, with seperate living room, toilet, bathroom and bedroom. View on the Blijdorp zoo.

Free parking.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sander_Stulemeijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    163
    88
    17
    13
See reviews for
59
136
10
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Nice bed, very comfy. It was far too hot though and I tossed and turned all night.
Bathroom was nice. In all it was quite a stylish, trendy hotel. The restaurant let it down or maybe it was my choice of the venison, it was ok but not what i was expecting.

Breakfast was average, nothing special. i guess if you're into cold hams and cheese then you will enjoy it.

Not the cheapest hotel in the world either.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dons1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Van der Valk Hotels do seem to be a bit of a Dutch secret. They are usually just out of town with lots of free parking, and lots of space in the quite stylish reception/lobby areas and super-clean rooms. I have stayed here 4 times and each time the room has been pleasant & spacious. This time I went for an executive room which was lovely and large, big bed & overlooked the park. Very quiet room, excellent sleeps were had! Shame there was only a shower, but its a big, hot walk in shower so not a deal breaker.
I often stay in Rotterdam Centre, but you don't get the size of room & parking is always extra, so I think this makes sense if you are bringing a car. In the evening we get the bus from about 2 mins away straight to Beurs - by the shopping/restaurants so its v simple. Get yourselves an OV Chipcard (like the London Oyster Card). You can use that on buses, trams, trains etc makes travelling v simple. Free wifi with code, or plug your laptop in.
I used the David Lloyd with its gym, pool & Jacuzzi, just round the side of the hotel. Ask at reception for a voucher. The charge is around 12Euros and they put it on your bill.
Dinner in the restaurant was pleasant, with friendly staff & nice surroundings.
Definitely would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I have stayed in the standard, superior and executive rooms, you get more space as you go up the lad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KazIOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
Level Contributor
123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Large modern hotel with room to match and spacious shower. Tea and coffee in the room. Free WiFi but code needed from reception. The breakfast was above average with a good selection of bread, cheeses and warm food and great fresh fruit. The only minus point of the stay was the bar. Drinks were not allowed to be put on the room bill unless 'your credit card had been authorised at reception'. This sort of rule makes me annoyed considering my (reputable) company had booked some 30 rooms that night. I don't know any other hotel that does this. Treating business travellers with this sort of distrust doesn't score any points in my book. The bar was also strange in that the staff preferred you not to order at the bar but to serve at your table, which meant a long wait. Next morning I walked to Rotterdam Centraal Station - about 25 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrbasstrombone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Nice hotel. We used to live in Rotterdam and now needed a hotel for one night. This hotel has an excellent location near to the highway and the Blijdorp Zoo (great Zoo!!). Rooms are modern, bathroom is modern and service is good (a special thanks to Said the barman!)
Good choice if you need to bein this area!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erasmusbrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Easy parking
Good rooms big beds good breakfast only bad thing was no Wifi in the rooms and the fridge was all empty

Service was fast by check in and check out

Breakfast was lots of choice

It was worth the price I payed 72€ for superior room

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark
#10 of 52 in Rotterdam
928 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
728 reviews
Cool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
#6 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,379 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp
Address: Energieweg 2, 3041 JC Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing