We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive wine list” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of la ENOTECA - CLOSED

la ENOTECA
Price range: $60 - $107
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
RTW Trip
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Impressive wine list”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

The choice in wines is impressive, so is owner Lou Borrani's knowledge on wine. There are several dining rooms, we ate in the main room. It is possible to book a private room when you are with large group. Original concept by choosing your wine, the kitchen prepares fare that goes well with your wine of choice. We had the 4-course wine & dine menu. The food is ok but nothing special, the pata negra was in fact disappointing. But we came for the wine, and the waiter's suggestions were spot on. Would normally not have ordered an Austrian Pinot Noir but this was a good match for the more expensive Burgundy winemakers.

If you are looking for an entertaining evening and want to indulge in wine anf the ''theatre'' that igoes with it, then look no further. They also do lunch and have patio for alfresco dining. Unfortunately, it was too cold for us to sit outside.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobetoddlerRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    11
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Benissa, Spain
Level Contributor
79 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great people, great food, great wines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Nice restaurant for formal and casual dining, unmatched wine selection and great chef.
In summer the garden is lovely, however they only serve either outside or inside depending on wheather.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lapsuverein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wine and dine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

In this beautiful restaurant the service is excellent, but different.
At first they will ask you witch wine you like to drink with your starter and your maincourse, then they prepare a very nice diner for you (off course the staff will ask yoy for your favorite food).
If you don't like the wine, just ask for a different one.
Because they have wines for every-bodies taste and a lot of open bottles next to your table.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cubalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
664 reviews
454 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Wine bar with great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

Located in city center close to shopping streets but close to a canal, you might walk past without noticing it. Extensive choice of wine/champagne (I always order procecco) and food which is recommended to match the flavours of the wine. I had the beef tartare and the fish carpaccio, it was simple but so tasty! Extremely professionnal service.

  • Visited April 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LOLANetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
195 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great wine list, good cooking, a work in progress”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

I can understand the idea of choosing the wine and letting the chef cook for the whole table in tune with that; in fact the first time we went to La Enoteca in late 2009 we had a delightful evening ... .

This time, the Pegasus Waipara Bay Semillon/Sauvignon we chose for a white brought out an excellent shell fish and pasta (bombardi, a new one on me) with a great sauce. The chef's 'al dente' is definitely on the dente side but none the worse for that. We then chose a familiar and delicious Ardanza Rioja which provoked beef with various root vegetables. Loved the veg and the deep flavored sauce but the beef was too underdone for me, that’s the risk with family style, not everyone necessarily likes the same degree of cooking and in future I would check the table’s preference in case I wanted to specify meat a bit more cooked. Also, leaving part of the dish on the serving platter on the table for ‘seconds’ may seem charming but it guarantees anything you eat after the first serving will get cold.

The dessert was a good selection of different bits and pieces including a really great chocolate petit-fours thing. The coffee drinker amongst us loved the espresso.

We ate outside though we could have gone in at any time. The terras and its furniture are fairly basic (I could have used a cushion!). The service was fine and later in the evening Giuseppe the very pleasant owner/chef came out and spent some time with us talking about his ambitions for the restaurant and the concept in general. The kitchen closes at 10 but we didn’t leave till 11.30 and there was no pressure.

We spent €105 on the wine and had three three course menus at €39.50 each; total was €250 with water etc. (They served us a muscat with the dessert and that was an extra €6 per glass)

Nice place and I will go back for sure though next time I would probably ask to talk about the menu as a whole together with the wines before I begin, I can handle new things but as host I would like to exercise slightly more control.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Walpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed la ENOTECA also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing